We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great special occasion place”
Review of il buco Sorrento

il buco Sorrento
Ranked #18 of 285 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great special occasion place”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place was fancy and delicious! Great ambiance down a small road, great service and delicious food. Chef will make whatever you want, which is perfect for my picky husband. Food was delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmsgnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    293
    123
    67
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Totally amazing”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went there for my 40th as part of our trip to Sorrento. Amazing service and out of this world food. We went for the set 'traditional taste bud' menu, ended up with ten courses if you count the little appetisers and chef treats. Recommend to anyone. Not the cheapest by far, we paid 190 euros and only had a glass of wine each but worth every penny. Book now!

Helpful?
Thank mattt782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow - best restaurant we ate at in Italy”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Easily the best restaurant we ate at in Italy. Exceptional food, great service, great wine list. While the restaurant is a little more expensive than normal, it is not exceptionally so (we ended up spending about 20% more than average restaurants).

Service was quick and impeccable. The staff had very good wine recommendations and picked the good value wines, not the ones at the top of the price range. The chef's menu is recommended. A blend of unique and traditional italian dishes.

I visited this restaurant with a party of 4 and our experience was universally the best restaurant we had eaten at in Italy. Highly recommended - don't leave Sorrento without visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Good, Pricey”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

In a nice location, a converted cellar that is well lit, and attractive.
Service friendly and efficient, Chef comes out several times and makes himself known.
Food was very good, I had a starter and a steak, €112 for 2 (no wine) Cover charge of €3 per person.
Overall, very good, if a bit pricey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Dining Experience in Italy!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We made reservations at Il Buco based on Rick Steves's advice. I was surprised to be able to make a reservation only a day in advance, given the fact that it was a Michelin starred restaurant. The night was off to a weird start, as we had a lot of trouble finding the place, since it's in sort of a hard to find alley in Sorrento. After having visited other Michelin restaurants, elsewhere in the world, we were pleasantly surprised that there was no push-back upon our late arrival. In fact, they were incredibly gracious and accommodating and sat us at an incredible, outdoor table. Our server, Michele, was possibly the best waiter we have encountered in our entire lives. He was funny, friendly, gallant, personable and reserved, as needed. He seemed to know exactly what we wanted, or needed at any given point. Michele was the consummate professional. He was truly charming. Of course, the food and wine were ridiculously amazing as well. The reason why I laud Michele so highly, is that we have attended several Michelin starred places in other cities. However, I have never experienced such a fantastic combination of amazing food and wine with truly professional YET personable service. Our night at Il Buco was the perfect combination of amazing food, wine and ambience, provided by, what it felt like, a good friend. I should also note, that the final bill felt worth it, as opposed to some considerably fancy meals we've had in California (San Francisco, Napa, and Sonoma).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il buco Sorrento also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to il buco Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing