We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ultimate Italian Dining Experience”
Review of Don Pedro

Don Pedro
Ranked #61 of 279 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Italian Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The entire dining experience we had at this family-run establishment was faultless. We had such a great time here, from the moment we were greeted to the moment we were farewelled from the restaurant's doors. There was such a genuine feel about this place. For those planning on heading here, this is not walking distance from the heart of Sorrento. You will need to drive here. But it is worth getting to, because the restaurant is perched up high on the ridge of the hill overlooking the bay of Sorrento and out to Mount Vesuvius. We had aperitives prior to our dinner, which was a nice way to get our night started. The wait staff were superb. They were witty, helpful and very hospitable. Our night began with a barrage of 10 or more dishes of antipasti. All of them excellent in taste and generous in portions. We barely made it through the dishes, despite there being 7 of us. But the dishes were just too good to let it all go to waste, so we all chowed down. I had ordered the squid ink lobster fettucine and have declared it as the best pasta I have ever had. I have had pasta from various regions of Italy, but this was the most memorable pasta and worthy of the food coma I suffered the next few days because of it. For serious lovers of food, drive out here or catch a cab. You won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    21
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr Rob and Miss Emma's Wedding - 1st September 2012”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Having just returned from our trip to Sorrento we are already wishing we were back! We got married on Saturday 1st September and our reception was held at Ristorante Don Pedro.

I can not recommend it highly enough. Myself and my husband along with our guests found the restaurant, the food, the staff and the view completely fantastic. Nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff and we were left assured that everything would be taken care of and we were certainly not disappointed. The attention to detail and complete care was second to none and we could not have imagined a better place to have our reception. We were made to feel welcome from the very moment we arrived in Sorrento and any doubts or worries we had about our upcoming reception were washed away once we met with Tony and Don who explained everything carefully and assured us that the reception would be perfect. They were right. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody who is looking for a romantic venue for a wedding reception or anybody who just loves great food and great people. Thanks again Don and Tony :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mimisnokz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr & Mrs Ahmed Wedding at Don Pedro Ristorante - 28th August 2012”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I had no doubts about booking Don Pedro Ristorante for our wedding reception after reading such positive reviews.
We booked it and from the start we realised how much the family would do for us, nothing seemed to much for them, no matter how small or large, they did whatever we wanted to make our special day possible.

On arrival to Sorrento, we met Don Pedro after being picked up at our hotel by his son Tony, we sat down to a meal with both of them while discussing what needed booking ahead of our day....plenty of their home grown food and home made wine was consumed over the 4 hours or so and all of which were beautiful!

Everything they said they would do was done and better than expected, they kept in touch with us over the fortnight to make sure we were happy with things.

Our guests loved the ristorante and the hospitality and the car, photographer, reception etc which was arranged by Pedro could not have been better.

If you are looking for a venue for your wedding reception in Sorrento then stop looking and book this place! Easily the best restaurant in Sorrento, not to mention the view from the garden! wow!

With one night left before we departed for home we returned to Don Pedro's for another meal, we were greeted as friends and given another lovely meal at decent prices.

overall a 10/10 experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Anniversary surprise!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A lovely restaurant for a special occasion - the food and service was excellent, and the chef baked us a delicious anniversary cake, complete with firework and music presentation! It's worth calling the restaurant for their advice on getting there - they're very helpful and will be pleased to see you. Magnificent view from the upper terrace of the bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background whilst sipping your Prosecco!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dangerouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good meal but no where near the second best in Sorrento”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ate in the restaurant and at first were not greeted well when asked for an additional place to be set. In fact staff were very uncooperative and surly. This seem to change when Toni arrived and recognised us. Not a good start!

Food was fairly good but expensive for what it was and much better value for money can be had elsewhere in Sorrento. Don was a pleasant enough guy but some of his staff attitude leave a lot to be desired. Would not go back for another meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HeadBrewerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pedro also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing