We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband was worried when he heard the word hostel, but he was pleasantly surprised when we got to the hotel. Staff absolutely fabulous, friendly and helpful! Room was extremely large and roomy, bathroom also roomy and clean! Breakfast staff also extremely nice and very nice selection of items included for breakfast-fruit, yogurt, cakes, eggs, ham, rolls and pastries. Would definitely stay here again (would love to be able to do Sorrento again!) Hotel is about 15/20 minute walk from train station- but with our luggage and young son we opted for taxi. Took tours to Capri and toured Pompeii. Hotel has spa attached which one may access at additional fee- wish I had tried the spa, but pool was nice. Wonderful Experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpalSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    444
    98
    24
    10
See reviews for
204
717
80
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Ulisse for 8 days while visiting Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. This is not a hostel - don't let the name fool you. Large rooms by European standards, large bathroom. Excellent breakfast available daily. Chiara is a standout - she always made sure we had the best information to make our decisions on what to do each day. The location is great - easy walk to anywhere. The old town is full of restaurants and shopping and the marinas are both an easy walk. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone (and will!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Good location if using the Sorrento train station from Circumvesuviana. Rooms were lovely, good ac. The cutest breakfast area I've ever seen, a large part of why I booked the place when I saw the photos. Decent breakfast. Very helpful staff. So that you don't have trouble finding the place: It's easier to find if taking Via Fuoro instead of Corso Italia. If you see the big parking lot, it's actually underneath, so after taking that right on Via del Mare keep going down a bit.

Only drawback: Internet connectivity. Our devices were always connected, but the internet service was just bad, either extremely slow or just plain stagnant. A lot of the restaurants around the area also have wifi so consider doing your wifi related needs elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ulisse was a great experience on our Italian adventure. Three of us were use to each having a twin bed in one room. We were plesantly surprised to have two adjoining rooms with two bathrooms. Large bathrooms with large tub/shower. Front desk was cheerful and very helpful. When I told Chiara we were going to the marina to find a boat to Capri, she helped us set up with a tour that would pick us up at the hotel, tour the island, drop us off for 5 hours and bring us back at the end of the day. Excellent idea. The location couldn't be better. Had lunch at the fishermens marina. The shopping area and old town was right around the corner. Great restaurants. Ristorante Fuoro was one of our favorites. The risotto with scampi, olive oil and rosemary was fantastic. We were also impressed with the breakfast. Eggs, toast, pastries, cereal, fruit and much more. The best breakfast set up we had during our trip. All this and at a reasonable price. We were very happy with our stay at Ulisse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a great stay, even though we only stayed for 1 night. The staff were all so friendly, and genuine, they were consistently all so helpful and friendly all the time! Rooms were very reasonably priced, and were clean and spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. Quiet during the night, no noise issues. Wifi is iffy, and at times did not even work at all. Breakfast was fantastic: such a large, large variety of everything to choose from and some amazing cakes, it was our best breakfast of the trip, we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Great value deluxe hostel. Room on the 2nd floor was spacious and comfortable, well equipped, with a safe and a small window. The only bug was a constant louder than normal hum coming from some generator.

The front desk staff was faultless. A special thanks to Chiara who is ever so cheerful and helpful. I was very grateful for the morning breakfast that they set up specially for me at 5.15 am to make sure I had something to eat before leaving for my 6 am bus to Rome. Loved also that they sent a useful link to a resource page of staff recommendations for eateries, tours a couple of days before check-in. Enjoyed both the Capri boat and Amalfi bus tours that the hotel recommended.

Ulisse is well located, a pleasant 10 mins walk to the Marina Grande and 3 mins to the Main Street. If you are pulling a large or heavy luggage from the train station, it is not a difficult walk. Just 15 mins but you will work up quite a sweat as I did.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 135Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely, spacious hotel in downtown Sorrento. We had a quiet room with a wardrobe to unpack our clothes into and a large, well-equipped bathroom with full-size tub. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. They provide a delicious breakfast, including eggs, cold cuts and cheeses, breakfast pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. Located under an above-ground parking lot, the hotel is in a unique location and the views from the windows are sunny but not scenic. The hotel has a pool and a workout facility. The name "hostel" is almost misleading...it felt more like a nice hotel to us. The price was very reasonable and I would definitely stay here again, either as a couple or with my whole family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaGal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
1,738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Property: Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing