We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I dint know how this hotel could be categorised as a hostel. We had a big comfortable room with daily cleaning and several changes of bed linen during our ten day stay. Would definitely return to this hotel if returning to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriam J J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ulisse does what it says, a deluxe hostel, right next to the old town part of
Sorrento. A tadge challenging to find, look for Ulysse car park, spelt differently, but same place.
We had a family room, which was in fact a family suite, two rooms, two bathrooms, tonnes of space.
The staff could not have been more helpful, so polite and helpful, finding us more towels, directions and quickly resolving a minor shower leakage problem.

Spotlessly clean, huge public areas to hang out with friends, and fair choice for breakfast although suggest checking fruit is ripe on breakfast buffet, my daughter tried a pear that was like a bullet, so it did get wasted. There was a very realistic looking bowl of plastic fruit as decor next to it and more than one person tried to pluck a grape or pick up a banana !
Recommend to any family on a budget, and even those not.

Room Tip: Family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LottiePebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I agree with almost everything that others posters have said about this hotel (it isn't really a hostel) - you get a big bedroom and bathroom; staff are very friendly; the breakfast is OK; it is fantastically positioned within Sorrento; it's cheap; but it is frustratingly noisy at times. We had the "furniture across the floor" scraping nearly every night to varying degrees, and heard the loony who screamed at the top of his voice ("No, no, no..." several times early every morning, and counting "Uno, duo, tre, quatro," etc every evening) which bothered me but not my wife. The occasional vrooming motorbike going up the hill and garbage truck doing the rounds in the middle of the night did little to help me as a light sleeper! However, I did like the place, and if you can sleep soundly in fresh beds, this is a great place to stay. It's a quick and easy 15 minutes walk to the station (for buses along the Amalfi coast and trains to Pompei, Herculaneum, and Naples). There are many restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk of the front door, and lots of cats to admire along the way!

Room Tip: Those I saw into were all big, but maybe if there are available rooms upstairs (we were on the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were immediately pleased with the hotel when we arrived. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and made a point of telling us how to get about the town and places nearby. They assured us that they'd given us the best room they had but that they would move us to another if we wished. They didn't need to though, the room was amazingly spacious and clean and had a lovely view of the cliffs and waterfall behind the hotel. It was much nicer than we'd expected! And much to our surprise and delight, having told the staff that we were away for our anniversary celebration we entered the room to find a chilled bottle of sparlking wine and biscotti waiting for us with a note of congratulations. This made our day, it was a lovely touch!

The hotel was in a great location. It's between the two marinas, slightly out the way of the main streets but this was nice as it was only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and shops, 10 minutes to the main square and main marina and 15 minutes to the train and buses. Breakfast was quite standard but it was plentiful and there was a big variety of cold food as well as scrambled eggs so we were more than happy. There also didn't seem to be a rush to get people out of the breakfast room after breakfast hours as well which I appreciated.

The only slight drawbacks however were sleeping. At times there would be mopeds wizzing past our windows which would wake us up but we learned to keep the windows shut and turn the aircon up. The bed was also two singles pushed together so I kept falling in the gap in the middle! I happily overlooked this though as the quality of everything else was so good.

Overall this hotel is fantastic value for money and I was really glad we chose it. The staff and the service were great, always helpful and professional and the high quality of the hotel and rooms were a lovely surprise. I'd defintely stay here again when in Sorrento or recommend it to anyone else. We had an amazing stay, thanks very much to everyone at Ulisse! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 and were assured it was the nicest which I imagine it is. It's huge and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location close to restaurants,shops,train,bus station , clean spacious room and large bathroom. Fantastic staff - very friendly and helpful. We had an early checkout and thought we would miss out on breakfast, but a staff member set up breakfast for us, we enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the bright and cheerful breakfast room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our friends booked this hostel on the off chance, and it exceeded all expectations. Spacious accomodation, central to the old town and the Marina Grande and 15mins to the bus and train station. We didn't use the swimming pool or spa, but we checked it out, and it was excellent.
The staff were all professional and informative, and totally delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and we tested them with a few problems that we had !
It was always clean and quiet, and very well appointed. Excellent showers etc.
We shalll be happy toreturn there, and will encourage our friends to go and enjoy it all too.

Room Tip: The view from the old town side are possibly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was more of a hotel than a hostel, the staff were really professional and informative, the lobby was clean as were the rooms. The value for the price is amazing, I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back when I'm in the Sorrento area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalitta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulisse Deluxe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulisse Deluxe Hostel

Address: Via del Mare 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $69 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ulisse Deluxe Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set In The Heart Of Sorrento, The Hostel Boasts A Convenient Location Within Very Easy Reach Of Sorrento’s Premier Sights And Attractions. Elegantly Styled, Beautifully Furnished And Equipped With All The Service Of A 3 Star Hotel: 50 Rooms All Air-conditioned, Minibar, Personalised Safe, Wi-fi , Underground Garage, Wellness Centre And Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ulisse Deluxe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Deluxe Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing