We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of fine dining and Italian history”

Ristorante Museo Caruso
Ranked #12 of 280 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An experience of fine dining and Italian history”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We tried this restaurant because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and were really impressed. The surroundings are lovely, you feel as if you have been transported away from the ' seaside' and back in time. The service is outstanding. We both tried the taster menus, they offered one fish and one meat menu the night we were there at €60 and €50 respectively for 5 courses. A tip if you go for the taster menu - try to resist eating all the amazing bread they serve with each course although it is so good it is difficult! Very good food, don't miss this one either ... ( or Ghibli in the Marina)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    209
    54
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Amazing food, perfect service. Loved the little extras like the complimentary bread, sparking and tasting plate. Perfect date night :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lannycal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great food and nice ambiance”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our short trip to Sorrento and it wouldn't have been complete without good eats. This local restaurant serves up amazing food and a decent cost. The local italian beer is good as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyllshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric restaurant with amazing food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We read up about this restaurant in the blurb that came with our tickets and as our other favourite eating place is owned by the same people (La Basilica) we gave it a go, even got dressed up. Caruso is singing when you arrive and the walls are covered in his memorabilia. The menu was enormous but was mainly the history of the restaurant and the connection to Caruso. You are given a complimentary glass of prosecco while you peruse all the options each one tastier sounding than the first. The staff are very attentive and at first I thought stuffy until the guitarist appeared then the waiters joined in the singing, it was brilliant. The food was unusual but very fresh and truly Italian. The cost is fairly high but worth it, would recommend if you like your food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HamP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of Better Meals in Southern Italy, Would Go Back Anytime.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Absolutely no complaints. Food was well prepared with proper portion size. Wine choices were wide and varied. Prices were reasonable for value and service received. Nice decor and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Museo Caruso also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Museo Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing