We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience!”

Ristorante Museo Caruso
Ranked #11 of 286 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mannheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had lunch and tried menu degustazione with fish. It was fantastic! The service is also great! As it was a beautiful day, we wanted to sit outside, but the restaurant doesn't have tables outside. The waiter proposed we sit at the neighboring restaurant at a table outside. It worked out perfectly! The waiter also walked us through the museum- it is worth to have a look at the pics of Enrico Caruso....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krassimira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    209
    55
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a great meal here and the atmosphere was brilliant. We were even serenaded by a singer with traditional Neapolitan songs. All the pictures of Caruso around the restaurant were amazing. Take your time to have a look round. We went back on our last night as well. It was not cheap but not crazy prices and it is a lovely place to have dinner. If you want a bargain go to a pizzeria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Does not live up to its reputation”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The decor is charming and inviting. That is the end of my good comments. This was a dining choice on a tour so perhaps that influenced the service and food. It should not have. The food was mediocre at best--fancy presentation but not good quality. Staff could not seem to move us out fast enough. And they seemed to be measuring out the one glass of wine so that not one more drop than required was served. I was willing to pay for another but even that was a chore. The meal was paid for with a 'dine around' coupon on a tour that I did pay for. But if I had paid out real euros for this, the rating would have been worse. It was by far, the worst meal anywhere on this tour of Italy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DayliliesForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great service but pricey”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

On our tour we were given 30 Euro each towards a restaurant, we chose Caruso's for it's history and atmosphere. It was a nice antiquey sort of restaurant, many pictures on the wall showing Caruso. Lots of waiters ready to refill your glass or help serve. The wine glasses were huge, and as I am not a drinker, I would empty mine into my husbands. Then mine would be re-topped and so on - my poor husband ended up with a full glass that was almost as big as a fruit bowl.
The meals were very good but wow 30 Euro for a main was a lot. Maybe I just don't get out enough!! It was a good evening, with a singer (who was also selling his CD's), taking requests and entertaining us. We enjoyed it overall, the food was well above average. I had no idea it was Michelin rated, I am impressed. Cannot really fault it here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top restaurant, excellent for a birthday celebration”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a most professional and impressive restaurant, even although it is hidden down a side street from the main square. The rooms are a museum with all the photos on the walls. We all chose different meals but the fish baked in salt was by far the best. if you want a top dinner or an evening out to celebrate a birthday, then this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wasp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Museo Caruso also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Museo Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing