We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Triple room, good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranea Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mediterranea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Triple room, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We we're in a triple room and it was spacious and the beds comfortable enough. The bathroom was clean and all the hotel had a great vibe. The only problem I had with this hotel was the breakfast, they had the bagged toasts, artificial juices that didn't taste that good, the bread was a little bit on the hard side to chew...But still they had a good variety, but for me those little details make the difference!
The hotel has a contemporary decoration and certainly is good value for what we paid. It's not right in the center, but close enough for you to take the bus, car or even walk!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariecheverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    103
    104
    58
    72
See reviews for
56
111
13
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is certainly good value for money!!! Great hotel in Salerno, with nice rooms, air/con, TV, balcony, spaced bathroom facility, and beautifull balcony for assorted buffet at breakfast (included).

If you plan to visit the Amalfi coast but don't want to pay super expensive hotels in the popular beaches, this is a great option close to all destinations around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaPerez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I read the previous comments regarding this hotel, I would say that it was not that bad at all.We stayed in this hotel for three days with my family and it was absolutely great. The reception staff were nice and the breakfast was good, the beach was just 300meters away with pools in it. My son enjoyed very much the beach resort. It was really a great place to relax, the room was comfortable. The only amiss they did was that I booked for a triple room, 1 master bed and a single bed for my son, but they prepared a three single beds. While still at the reception they apologized with us promising us to fix everything the next day, uniting the two single beds to make it one, for me and my husband. My husband for the meanwhile, just united the two single bed to make it one, but the next day we still found that the beds were not fixed, so we just joined the two beds. It was not a big deal for us because it was really a great day for me and my family. We just don't want to allow negative vibes to ruin a relaxing three days escapade!!! I highly recommend this hotel for those who want to have full relax with convenient price!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adeline7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were supposed to stay at this hotel for one night, but ended staying for three, because it was so nice. The hotel is a bit far from the centre of Salerno, but if you have a car, it's perfect. The view from the rooms is amazing - sea, mountains, sunset! The staff is super friendly and attentive, and the breakfast is really really good! There are beaches just opposite the hotel, they are super nice, but you have to pay to stay in them because they are beach clubs. The hotel is a great choice if you want to see the Amalfi coast without spending a fortune on accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very disappointing location in the midst of abandoned buildings. Our small view of the sea was overshadowed by the military prison with high barbed wire fences. Didn't stay long enough to try to find the beach but too long to avoid a breakfast of cold eggs and even colder coffee. Not at all the type of hotel you expect in this beautiful part of Italy. In fact I would recommend skipping Salerno all together and driving North where there are plenty of lovely hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salerno hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Collette Tours changed our Hotel at last moment promising a four star hotel. Place is rundown, next to deserted old military complex and terrible. Air conditioning not working, peeling paint, moldy shower curtains, views of washing lines and derelict buildings. Stay away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamborox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As you pull into this resort it looks like a good 4 star should, however, do not be fooled!

The pool is only open at certain times, the beach is not walkable and there is very little nearby.

The staff show potential to be helpful, but generally are more concerned about their appearance than providing a good service.

Our room was not cleaned properly, linin needed changing and the bathroom dirt was vile - this is not what should be expected from this calibre of hotel.

Please note - The wifi only works on the ground floor so trying to use this to book an alternative won't work

I do wonder how they conduct 'conferences and conventions' as the name would imply! You might also want to ask them where the rooms with a view were as there is nothing to see!

If you are here for a stop over (I.e one night)- then this place is tolarable.

I hate to be so nagative on a hotel, however, the free parking and king size bed were the only positives!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlewin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salerno
0.3 mi away
Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
1.1 mi away
Hotel Polo Nautico
Hotel Polo Nautico
#4 of 13 in Salerno
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#9 of 13 in Salerno
3.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#3 of 13 in Salerno
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Poseidon - Maison De Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranea Hotel

Property: Mediterranea Hotel
Address: Via Salvador Allende 8, 84131 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mediterranea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranea Hotel Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing