We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, suited us fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Salerno
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Melbourne Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, suited us fine.”
Reviewed December 4, 2009

My brother and l stayed here in September 2009, we found the staff courteous and polite, room was spotless, had a great ocean view room with a balcony, room was quiet, we had no complaints, would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    558
    592
    292
    210
See reviews for
290
521
66
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2009

My recent stay at the Grand Hotel Salerno left much to be desired. Although the hotel was well situated and clean, the hotel staff did little to make our group feel welcome. There were 32 of us on a tour booked by our travel club. The hotel is more suited to business travellers; in fact, there was an international convention going on at the same time we were there. Our group felt like second class citizens

The breakfast room was quite understaffed and the servers were more interested in catering to the conference attendees. When certain food items ran out, they were only occasionally replaced. The food choices never varied and after 7 days it was a less than inspiring breakfast

The hotel's desk staff was not very helpful and often told conflicting information to members of our party . When requesting two room keys, I was told that it was not possible, yet others in my group had no trouble obtaining them. There is no concierge available to consult with regarding tourist excursions. I contacted the hotel 4 weeks prior to arrival to do such, and received very spotty information about arranging for a private car/driver. In general the hotel staff's knowledge of English was marginal.

My standard room was very spacious and clean, yet there was no counter in the bathroom to store toiletries. Since I was staying there for 7 nights, I would have appreciated drawers in the bedroom for clothing storage rather than having to live out of a suitcase. Under notcircumstances should you settle for a room that faces the back parking lot. At 5:00 AM every morning, trash trucks arrived to empty the dumpsters. Loud and noisy to say the least.

The restaurant menu had few choices, and the food was just average. You would be better off finding local restaurants for dining.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The hotel was clean and the rooms are large. That's the positive part.
The people at the desk were just short of rude, certainly not helpful.
Don't count on the internet in your room. You can use Wifi in the lobby, if it is working (about 50% of the time) and there is only one computer for general use. All computer use is charged at the rate of 5 euros an hour.
Do not eat dinner at this hotel. The food is just above poisonous.
The electrical system is bizarre. One puts the room key card in a slot to turn on the electricity. Taking the card when leaving saves energy-great, but...The bathroom lights go on automatically with a motion sensor. If you are in the shower, next to the mirror or on the toilet and not detected, the lights go off. There is no way to shut off the lights manually. If one goes to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the lights switch on waking everyone, especially if you have a room in which the bathroom walls are made of glass bricks (not really appropriate for a modest family). One could remove the card at night, turning off the electricity, but that also turns off the airconditioning.
If you have a choice --- stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregoryisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salerno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for one night as a stop gap between Amalfi and Naples and felt a little out of place - the hotel is clearly used to catering for business trips and conferences. We had a large balcony that overlooked the road and our room was very spacious with a large TV and comfortable bed. The beach nearby was uninspiring to say the least, but there is a good outdoor swimming pool on the beach front which is well catered for families and couples. The pool at the hotel is indoors. The breakfast was fantastic and it was a 5 minute walk to the bus stop / train station.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Most of the reviews provided are pretty accurate, but I'll try to tell you some more details. If you don't have an ocean facing room, which we didn't, you're going to hear the dumpster noises at 5am. We had a 7th floor room which didn't seem to be as fully occupied as the lower level floors, so we didn't hear the noise too much. We did hear several of our friends complain about the noise on the lower floors. Regardless of what room you have, the entire hotel has tile floors, so every noise echoes thru the corridors. The bathrooms have a hairdryer and a 110V converter in case you forget your electrical adaptor. An alarm clock is not included, and the only english TV station you'll get is CNN. The staff was never rude, however, they didn't offer more information than you would ask for, I believe, because they probably did not feel comfortable speaking english. Breakfast and dinner were both pretty good. There is beach access, but you have to pay 6-10 euros. The beach is across the street and I wouldn't say it's anything to write home about. Take the bus to Minori or to another nicer beach. We took guided tours everywhere we went which I would recommend for Pompei, however, I think you could easily take the ferries to Capr/Ana Capri, Amalfi, or Positano on your own. The train station is close to the hotel, so this might be a good option for going into Naples. btw, it was not a direct ride from salerno to Pompei, so again, a guided tour to Pompei is recommended. There is penty of walking tour information online, so you don't need a guide to point out a beautiful view or a restaurant. The food was always great wherever we went, however, there is a sense that they sometimes take advantage (overcharge) tourists, so be clear on what you are ordering/paying for. Bathrooms were always clean everywhere we went.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridatraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOANNINA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I was in Grand Hotel Salerno for vacations from 10th until 15th August 2009.
The rooms r enough big (we were two persons and we had a room for 4)and we had choose the basic room not sea view or deluxe.Bathroom r also big but the place for taking a bath is for half not for 1 person.Clean and not noisy(cause we slept from the left side of hotel).Opposite of our window was a kind of public park-waterfall.
Maybe rooms with sea view r more noisy cause the road is in front of them.Breakfast was average as quantity but the quality was better.
Dinner was more better and everyday they served pasta for first plate and meat or fish for second ,and something sweet for the end.The staff was good and polite but they have to teach them to speak english.Cause many people from other countries stay at this hotel and the staff dont speak english.So take a small dictionary for the everyday words.
The biggest problem was how somebody could find the way for the room.Specially if you choose room wilth number from 701-810.Cause u had to take 2 different lifts in case to reach the sala of breakfast/dinner or the reception and of course to walk 150-200metres
tthe corridors to find the lift.
Next time i will be in SORRENTO SO U DO!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZUZUNITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I've stayed in many hotels from the 4 seasons to the courtyard by Marriot. This is neither.
Let me start by saying I stayed in a standard room, so my review is subject to the criticism accordingly. All I wanted was a clean, quiet room. What I got was a fairly clean room, but it was so noisy from the pipes banging, the train accross the street and the dumpster being emptied at 5 am each morning. The doors and walls seem to amplify the noise and one can hear every person walking in the hallway with flip flops hourly since there is no carpeting in this place. I did try to switch rooms and the staff was a bit terse as some reviewers say, but honestly, what can they do? The hotel design is flawed. I imagine the deluxe rooms with the ocean view were much better so my recommendation is, if you want to stay here, get a deluxe room. Otherwise, head to Sorrento or Amalfi and stay in a smaller, more quait place.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salerno hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
1.5 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
0.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#6 of 13 in Salerno
200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mediterranea Hotel
Mediterranea Hotel
#10 of 13 in Salerno
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montestella
Hotel Montestella
#4 of 13 in Salerno
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Salerno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Salerno

Property: Grand Hotel Salerno
Address: Lungomare Clemente Tafuri 1, 84127 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Salerno 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Salerno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing