We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to city centre ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Salerno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Salerno
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and close to city centre ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last minute as we had planned to stay with family initially but that fell through until a later date. We booked online the day prior. The room was large and very clean, but it did have a 'hospital' feel to it. The breakfast was good. Although we didn't really know where to go for breakfast and when we asked reception they just said upstairs.... There is a lot of upstairs, a floor number would be more helpful. We even asked at reception for details of where we could go for dinner and how to get tickets for the ferry to the Amalfi Coast and she couldn't really help, she told us the wrong port so instead of a 5 minute walk like she said it turned out to be a 30 minute walk so we missed the first boat.

We got a room that overlooked the public car park, but that didn't phase us, as we just needed a place to stay. On check out the reception staff were pleasant

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RAC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    465
    455
    234
    172
See reviews for
214
408
51
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukie oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was our second stay at the GHS and it was as enjoyable as the first. The hotel is along the waterfront and, depending on your room, has excellent views of the water, the mountains, or both or a parking lot. We asked to be located on a specific side of the hotel with views of the ocean, the city and the mountains. The room was very large with a huge (for a hotel) deck. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. For rooms where the wi-fi signal wasn't strong, a cable is provided. The hotel has a pool and fitness center but we did not use either. The pool requires a bathing cap (I didn't know they were used any longer). There is also an ample buffet breakfast including bacon and eggs. All of the staff that we dealt with were courteous and helpful. The only issue that we had was a burned out bulb in the bathroom. We told the desk when we left in the morning about the bulb but it wasn't replaced by the time we returned that evening. Three phone calls and three hours later, we had light. We also did not eat at there restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

While the hotel has somewhat of a corporate feel, the location is superb as you can walk from train, or walk to historic Salerno, and catch the sea-views from the rooftop! The rooms are spacious and breakfast is good. It's not far to Vietri sul Mare: Ceramics City; Ravello, Archeological site of Paestum and ferries depart just a short walk away. I travelled there in 2010.

Room Tip: Request Seaview rooms and be careful about ordering beverages that are not included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a nice, friendly family run hotel, this is not where you want to be. But if you wish to be received in an international atmosphere, with European standards and great facilities, particularly the swimming pool or gym, this might be it. I knew in advance what I could expect (check the hotel's website for an impression), and was satisfied. Staff at the reception helped me to find a room near the train station, and I was given a better room than I had booked and paid for. The swimming pool is exceptional, according to Italian standards: 25 metres, and INDOOR, which is rare to find in Italian hotels which a normal human being can afford. I paid just 60 EUR for the whole stay (1 night) through booking.com, which I found a very fair price indeed. Location at 10m walk from the station and near the sea is perfect. This is a place where I will almost certainly return. Bad luck for me that my room was in a corridor where entire school classes stayed. So there was much noise during the entire night and early morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are more expensive, as usual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VincenzoH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were booked in to the Grand Hotel for 3 nights in mid February. Trip Advisor's comments led me to the decision. After checking in and finding the hotel to be fully booked with 3 conferences we were given a room on the 4th floor, as far from the foyer as possible and no wifi what so ever. We weren't happy with the whole place - it just felt wrong and we asked to be reduced to a 1 night booking. Before this however we had investigated another hotel (The Plaza, across the road from the station) and they were able to offer us 2 nights for 20 euros less per night. The Grand Hotel happily accommodated (I'm thinking they liked the idea as it gave them an additional room for a Fri/Sat nights booking). So, we paid 110 euros for a night there and to be honest the Breakfast was huge and quite nice but 5.50euros for a hot chocolate was a rip off, and I complained at the front desk and they waived the charge. The hot drinks were all part of breakfast - the menu you fill in is quite confusing, and there is no restaurant you can sit and have breakfast. It all sounds very 'grand' but the hotel has an older, tired feel about it. Obviously it is perfect for Conferences so enjoy it if you are partaking in one there! If you have the option, choose The Plaza, the service was impeccible, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Room Tip: Be careful, don't expect the world with this hotel, it isn't Grand, it's a bit old and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salerno hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Nelson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Okay room but air conditioning struggled to keep room cool and the weather was not hot. Watch reception as they tried to charge us for breakfast in our room. The room information that indicates a charge for this is only in italian. The english literature makes it look like it is free.

Its about a 10 minute walk to train station which was handy although Salerno itself is not pretty. People sleeping rough outside so a higher room would be best.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed tat the Grand Hotel Salerno for 5 nights in September, we based ourselves here and did day trips to Amalfi, Positano, Sorrento and Naples, the ferries are great and run all day, five minute walk to ferries and train station. Great Shopping and restaurants at night. We were upgraded to a Deluxe ocean front room was nice and big and had great view very comfortable.
Great Hotel to base yourself. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms are a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salerno
2.7 mi away
Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
3.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Polo Nautico
Hotel Polo Nautico
#4 of 13 in Salerno
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Poseidon - Maison De Charme
1.6 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#3 of 13 in Salerno
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montestella
Hotel Montestella
#6 of 13 in Salerno
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Salerno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Salerno

Property: Grand Hotel Salerno
Address: Lungomare Clemente Tafuri 1, 84127 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Salerno 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Salerno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing