We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salerno
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel is a serviceable business hotel with a great location across from the train station/TI for day trips. It is also convenient to restaurants and shopping but far enough away from the center of nightlife to be quiet -- the triple windows also help. Our room was clean and comfortable; breakfast was basic, but adequate - yogurt, breads, cereal. My only real beef is that the free internet was not available in the room, but only in the public area and the signal was weak.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank mosays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 583 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

We chose this hotel for its convenient location across from the train/bus station. We found the staff helpful, even lending us an umbrella when we had unexpected rain. The internet was available and free. Breakfast was fairly simple but more than adequate-a great cappuccino!
We used both the train and bus to visit the Amalfi Coast, Naples, Pompeii and Paestum. Wish we had more time to explore Salerno. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the Piazza; the inside rooms do not have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marinagina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is actually a fine, classy hotel at a budget price. Wonderful lobby, professional and full service front desk, beautifully appointed rooms (custom, built-in wooden desk and cabinets), spotlessly clean. Excellent bathroom, light and ventilation. It is conveniently located on a plaza opposite the train station. While in a nice area, the main drag of restaurants is a pleasant 10 minute walk. Salerno is an excellent non-touristy jumping off point for the adjacent Amalfi Coast. Glad we stayed there. Rooms facing the inner courtyard were quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Inner rooms facing the courtyard were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelculture123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Plaza Hotel is a good 3 star located in the plaza immediately in front of the train station/bus terminal and 2 blocks from the ferry terminal with connections to the Amalfi Coast.

The room we had was quiet and good quality and the staff were very helpful with ferry schedules etc. The breakfast is only OK and didn't rank with other 3 star hotels we stayed in on our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Plaza for a couple of nights with a friend....great location if you want to see the Amalfi Coast but do not want to pay for expensive accomodation on the coast. Its just opposite the train station at Salerno, and close to shops and local beach. Catching the ferry to Positano and the other coastal villages is only a short distance on foot. Breakfast was included and plenty of choice, rooms were clean and comfortable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bblackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel is directly across the street from the bus/train station and a ten minute walk to the ferry to the Amalfi coast. It is on the end of a pedestrian only street which is a great place to walk, browse and find all types of places to dine.

The hotel is clean and utilitarian. Our first room was in the corner directly across from the bus station. I'm a light sleeper so I asked if another was available. We were given a room in the back of the building which overlooked the parking lot. That was fine with me but unfortunately I think the first room was renovated and ours was not. The shower was tiny, the air conditioner didn't work and the bed was the hardest I have ever slept in! The rooms facing the street all seemed to have updated bathrooms with much larger showers. Of course I didn't get to try their air conditioning or beds :)

The room however was spotless and the location perfect. There is a small fridge in every room. The staff were efficient and pleasant enough but not overly helpful. Unfortunately our jet lag resulted in us sleeping past the breakfast time so no comments there.

Salerno turned out to be nicer than I imagined. The duomo was beautiful, the walkway along the sea delightful and the pedestrian only street offered plenty to entertain. I only thought of Salerno as an overnight stay en route to Amalfi but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dccnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A very nice, clean hotel. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable about the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with nice fresh towels and good showers. The location is brilliant as it is just across from the train station but far enough away not to hear the trains. It is right on the corner of the main shopping street but at the end of it so is quiet. It is a short walk (2minutes) down to the water front and the ferrys that leave for the Amalfi coast are about an 8 minute walk. The breakfast which is included in the room rate is wonderful! A great variety of lovely fresh rolls and croissants and fruit juices. Also cereal and other breakfast foods. I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and was very happy with everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEGAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salerno hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montestella
Hotel Montestella
#3 of 14 in Salerno
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#9 of 14 in Salerno
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
0.8 mi away
Albergo del Centro Storico
1.9 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#7 of 14 in Salerno
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 42 | (piazza Ferrovia), 84123 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range: $113 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing