We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salerno in Alto Mare B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salerno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salerno in Alto Mare B&B
Ranked #3 of 184 Salerno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I can only repeat what everyone else has said about this B&B. Our booking and communication prior to our arrival was good and Luca & Veronica came to meet us at the station. They are delightful hosts who speak good English, gave us all the advice we needed for our visit and made super breakfasts. Our (two) rooms were very clean and comfortable, we each had a little balcony with a view to the sea beyond. With the windows open it is quite noisy in the evening but fine if the windows are shut. The position of the B&B in Salerno is near the sea front, the old town, good restaurants and about 20 mins walk from the station and central bus stops.
I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for somewhere central to stay in Salerno.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
141
58
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

A perfect place to stay and most hospitable hosts! The room was lovely with a small terrace overlooking the city and the sea. It was quiet yet central and a good base for exploring the city of Salerno. Luca recommended an excellent fish restaurant in the harbour where we (who for some time now live in Italy, in Rome) had one of the best fish meals so far. Salerno is not really on the tourist track - most people use it as a base for seeing the Amalfi coast. But it merits a visit in its own right, so do go and do stay at Salerno Alto in Mare!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I can't really say anything new to what has come before, but I must at least add my endorsement about these very kind and helpful people, Luca and Veronika. Being right in the heart of the old town is a bonus. Had a great balcony view too.
Thanks too Luca for taking my 17 y/o son out for a wee tour one afternoon.
Wishing you both well.
Sorry for missing out on the photos (not got round to editing them yet), but trust me, you don't need it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medindexer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at Salernoinalto Mare from 5 till 12th October, 2013.- It was the perfect choice; great location at the heart of the "Barrio Storico"; the room was ample, nicely decorated, and with a balcony overlooking the port; air conditioned, and the bathroom and shower were also ample and working beatifully well.- Luca and Veronika are perfect hosts; always helpfull.- The breakfast offered was beyond my expectations; punctually ready at 0800.- I will definitely go back and recommend it to all my relations travelling to the Costiera Amalfitana.-

Room Tip: all rooms are well insulated and allow for a good rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sergio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Charming couple. Premises pristine. Hospitality excellent. Stumning view from balcony. Recommended places to visit could not be more helpful. Good breakfast. Luca will even pick you up at train station if you want. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I must agree with the other reviews - we found the location perfect. The value amazing.
The hosts Veronika and Luca are sweethearts who went out of their way for us.
They made our stay really pleasurable.
Salerno is a terrific city. And this is far and away the best value there.
Please stay at Salerno in Alto Mare.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travllindude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Salerno and stayed in Salerno in Alto Mare at the beginning of September. The apartment and the room were just perfect and the fact that this B&B has A/C is a huge bonus. the location of the B&B is amazing! You won't have to climb a crazy hill to get to your room every night. It is located in the heart of the historic centre and 1 minute from the water. Luca and Veronika were the most welcoming hosts, very friendly, kind and fun couple. They had great recommendations for us as to where to go in Salerno, Positano and Amalfi. They even made some calls and research for us to tell us where to go for a hike in Amalfi. They recommended a few restaurants and places to see in Salerno. The La botte pazza restaurant, which was the best restaurant we visited in Italy. The chef - Marko and the waiter were amazing! I am still craving their food! The restaurant offers free wine. The red wine is amazing given the fact that it is free!

Would recommend staying in Salerno in Alto Mare to everyone!!! Salerno is close to the entire Amalfi coast, and it is significantly cheaper, and offers a sense of how the locals live. Amalfi and Positano are great for day trips, but are too overcrowded with tourists even in September. Salerno in Alto Mare is the way to go!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salerno hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.6 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dimora Salernum
Dimora Salernum
#9 of 184 in Salerno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suite 39
Suite 39
#7 of 184 in Salerno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Piccolo Principe
Il Piccolo Principe
#4 of 184 in Salerno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Central
City Central
#5 of 184 in Salerno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno in Alto Mare B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno in Alto Mare B&B

Property: Salerno in Alto Mare B&B
Address: Piazza Sant'Agostino 16, 84121 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast Salerno In Alto Mare is located in Sant'Agostino Square, the heart of the historic center of the city; and is ideal for visiting the most beautiful places of Campania (Amalfitan coast, Pompei, Ischia, Capri . There are three bedrooms, all with private bath. One room has a large ensuite bathroom, the other two rooms have a comfortable private external bathroom. Each room includes their own personal balcony with panoramic views of the sea, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and a hairdryer. Public transportation can be provided, please speak with the manager for more details. (I.E.Public parking, shuttle service, boat rentals and bikes.) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing