We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of L'Unico

L'Unico
Ranked #11 of 694 Restaurants in Salerno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $70
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Il ristorante e'ubicato nel centro storico di salerno di fronte alla chiesa di S.Giorgio,a pochi passi dalla cattedrale(il duomo).Il nostro menu'e' esposto all'esterno con una vasta scelta del pescato del giorno,tutto rigorosamente proveniente dalle paranze(barche)salernitane.Il ristorante dispone di una piazzetta all'esterno e di due salette all'interno ideali per pranzi o cene d'affari, feste private e pranzi o cene in comitiva.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance. It was almost empty when we arrived but rapidly filled with locals, something we always rate highly. The food was excellent and the service (and other clientele) were very friendly. We visited at lunchtime and were entertained by a delightful two year old, definitely a family friendly place. We'll definitely return if we go back to Salerno.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    242
    64
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salerno's best”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You must eat at L'Unico! We found this restaurant by strolling thru old Salerno. As we stopped to read the menu board,Enrico introduced himself as the owner and explained the menu and how each item was prepared not only once but a couple times. We decided to give it a try and sat at a table outside. We couldn't decide what to order for our meal so we let Enrico take care of us. Wow what a meal! Enrico had us try a number of small plates of fresh local seafood prepared in the traditional Salerno cucina. Everything we had was fresh from the sea! We had a great meal, Enrico was such a great host !!! We had such a good time that we made a reservation for our last night meal in Salerno. We returned on a Sat night for dinner.The restaurant was very busy but we got the same attention from Enrico as we did our first visit, and the food was just as good.when you visit Salerno make sure to visit Enrico !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This quiet little corner turns into a lively little restaurant for lunch and dinner. The seafood is ultra fresh and everything is perfectly seasoned. We were talked into trying the sea urchin spaghetti which was delectable. Great wines were available and Enrico made us feel most welcome. Oh, and the prices were so reasonable. Don't miss seeing the Chiesa San Giorgio next door too; bellesima.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We found L'Unico by accident - the menu looked interesting and it was busy. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating - literally put a new table out for us. Our waiter (maybe also the owner?) Amedeo, translated the menu for us - there are no paper menus, just a huge board, and all the seafood is fresh, sourced by the owners themselves. The choice is excellent and the food was fantastic - highly recommend the Vermicello alla Nerano, especially if you're a zucchine fan. The food was also great value, but tasted a lot more expensive. We will certainly go back next time we're in Salerno.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateGrainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, the Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great staff!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owner of the Minihotel gave us this restaurant tip: make sure to make a reservation! Very friendly and attentive staff, great menu, great and fresh (sea-) food. Be sure to try the pasta with fresh Ricci di Mare ( sea urchins- delicious!) and Errico's home made Limoncello. Thanks for the free bottle Errico!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThieuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Unico also viewed

 

Been to L'Unico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing