We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bed & breakfast in a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 236 Salerno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bed & Breakfast Salerno Centro for two weeks in September. Like almost everyone who has had the pleasure of visiting here, I have nothing but praise for the warmth and hospitality shown to us by the Manzo family, Lina, Pasquale, and Francesco, and by their devoted and very helpful assistant Kaoru.

I want to say a few things about Salerno Centro and the city of Salerno itself that seem to have been mentioned very infrequently if at all in TripAdvisor. When you step outside the medieval building (palazzo) where the B&B is located, you enter Piazza Portanova. This wonderful wide pedestrian plaza, only a couple of blocks long, is a microcosm of the entire city. Here you will find inexpensive yet excellent restaurants; takeout delis and groceries (salumerias) with a rich offering of local foods; caffe and wine bars; gelaterias (which seem to appear everywhere in the city every few yards you walk), and stores selling everything from souvenirs to handmade leather goods. All this on the very street where Salerno Centro is situated.

Walking at the western end of Piazza Portanova, if you make a right turn you are on Corso Vittorio Emanuele. This enormous pedestrian-only boulevard must be one of the largest shopping districts in all of Campania and perhaps all of Italy. Its multitude of department stores, shops and places to eat and drink, interspersed with street vendors and, late at night, singers and musicians of all kinds, seems to stretch on forever. And if this weren't enough, if you had made a left turn rather than a right off of Piazza Portanova, you would have entered Via dei Mercanti, a street much narrower than Corso Vittorio Emanuele but almost as long with a continuous stream of smaller shops, restaurants and street vendors both on the main thoroughfare and on the many side streets.

Salerno Centro's website notes that the bus and train station providing transport to many of the main Amalfi Coast towns and attractions is a 15 minute walk from the B&B. But at the eastern end of Piazza Portanova, only a couple of short blocks from the B&B just before you run into the breathtaking, tree-lined Lungomare Trieste stretching for several miles along the sea with people, dogs and bicycles flowing in both directions, there is a bus stop that will take you to Pompeii or to the small, lovely commune of Vietri sul Mare, much less touristy than the better known coastal cities to its north.

Like Vietri, the city of Salerno itself, the southernmost point along the Amalfi Coast, is very often unjustly bypassed in favor of the more popular northern destinations such as Positano, Sorrento and Capri. But besides being a much less expensive place to stay, eat and shop, I found Salerno, for some of the reasons already mentioned, to be no less beautiful than these tourist-oriented cities and in some ways even more enticing. Perhaps most prominently, precisely because it attracts far fewer tourists Salerno offers visitors an excellent opportunity to get to know some of the warm, friendly residents of this midsize Campania city--including of course the Manzo family and Kaoru at Salerno Centro--and how they go about their daily lives.

All in all, then, a memorable two weeks with Lina, Pasquale, Francesco, Kaoru and the wonderful people and places of the city of Salerno.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Salerno Centro, located in the center of delightful Salerno is where you will be treated as family. Francesco, his parents Lina and Pasquale, and their staff Kaoru will attend to your every need, even those you never dreamed of! The most charming and absolutely perfect visit in every way...If you book, be sure to request a cooking lesson with Lina, for an evening you will not forget! Grazie mille tutti!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0704Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Salerno Centro welcomed us with very clean and neatly furnished rooms and smiling staff. the rooms are neatly reconstructed and in an old building which only underlined the romantic feature of our stay. Francesco and the receptionist Kaori took fantastic care of us and helped us organize trips to Amalfi, Capri, Positano and Pompei, and gave us detailed information on how to get to those places and what not to forget to visit :-) Francesco recommended us his favourite restaurants and we talked a lot about local specialties and wines. Overall a great experience.

I can´t wait to visit Salerno and its surroundings again, and we definitely will be staying in salerno centro b&b.

Room Tip: Room named Positano has a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Salerno Centro is in an excellent location, right in the centre of town within walking distance to nearly everything. It is run by Francesco and his parents who provide attentive and gracious service to guests. We felt very cared for but also independent so came and went as we pleased. The building is 16th century so very old with interesting historical features. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. We had a private bathroom just across the hall. We were provided with a traditional Italian breakfast each morning and ate locally at nearby restaurants. From the B&B it was easy to walk to the ferry to visit the Amalfi Coast. Lovely alleyways to walk around during the day. Tip: all shops generally close between 1.30 and 5.30

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AABO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stay here for 1 night in July before catching a train to Naples. It very well priced and in a good central location. This B&B is by far the most hospitable, the host offered to pick us from the ferry port in Salerno and also offered to drop us off at the train station the next morning. All this for free!! The B&B has loads of information and are very professional and organised to other B&B we've stayed in. They gave us good local restaurants recommendations, we went to the pizzeria they recommended around the corner. It was all locals there and fantastic quality/value. We will be staying here again next time we're in Salerno.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sookiee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although we did not stay at Salerno Centro B&B (no rooms available), Francesco was extremely helpful in the solution to my request for a driver for a tour of the Amalfi Coast. Thanks to Francesco and his family, we enjoyed every minute of our 6 hour tour. The driver was his charming father, Pasquale, and his assistant who spoke fluent English was the lovely Kaoru. We made stops along the way and took many pictures and learned about the area. Our special highlights were a stop to taste lemon cake and a visit to Ravello. If you do not have a car, this is
the ONLY way to enjoy the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose Salerno because it meant we didn't need to rent a car and could just take public transportation wherever we wanted to go. We chose Salerno Centro because of the reviews and we were not disappointed in either. Salerno was great, we easily travelled to Rome, Naples, Positano and Pompeii. Salerno Centro was fabulous. It is family run with love. Francesco even arranged a day of touring for my Mom and drive her back and forth himself. They do whatever it takes to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank civppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salerno hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
2.4 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#7 of 13 in Salerno
205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Piccolo Principe
Il Piccolo Principe
#4 of 236 in Salerno
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Central
City Central
#5 of 236 in Salerno
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast San Francesco
0.4 mi away
B&B Il Fuso
B&B Il Fuso
#10 of 236 in Salerno
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast

Address: Piazza Sedile di Portanova 10, 84121 Salerno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Salerno
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salerno Centro" Bed and Breakfast is housed in a former convent of 15th century. We are located in the main square of salerno, about 800 meters from Salerno train station: a simple and pleasant 10-minute walk along the pedestrianized Corso vittorio emanuele, the most important shopping area of Salerno. You can choose between three very comfortable rooms with private or en-suite bathroom with free wi-fi connection and air conditioning. The free wi-fi connection is also provided in the wide common spaces. A limited made-to-order breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace which you relax yourself after the trips around Salerno. The intercity buses and the ferries to Amalfi, Positano and Capri are all 10 minutes away. There are many cafes, bars, restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity, and the local bus lines are just a few steps away. Salerno deserves a full day or more just by itself, and can be used as a citybase for daytrips to the Amalfi coast, Cilento coast, Capri, Paestum, the Royal Palace of Caserta, Pompei, Ercolanum and Naples itself."Salerno centro" will be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing