We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salerno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 203 Salerno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived in Salerno unprepared and without any reservations or even ideas where to stay. Thankfully we found Salerno Centro on internet and started looking for the house. It was a bit hard to notice the sign, I think we passed the right spot about three times before we discovered it. Since no one was there we called the owner who came in 5 minutes. Fransesco was very helpful and kind to help us with the parking in their family garage. His mother was preparing breakfast. Talk about personal touch! Anyway, we loved the place so much, we decided to stay longer than planned. Salerno seemed good for shopping, the restaurants suggested by the owner of B&B were great and Amalfi coast was spectacular. I would advise to visit Salerno Centro to anyone travelling in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in both Amalfi and Ravello rooms. Amalfi was bigger with a bathroom inside the room, Ravel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    38
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
194
323
121
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a great stay at Salerno Centro, I travelled there with my children and all our needs and concerns were supported all the time by this fantastic family. They arranged for us private transport, airport pick up from Rome and private transfer to the sites. Breakfast is wonderful, it is very convinent for families with little children. We definetly will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast is a great choice for anyone traveling to Salerno or the Amalfi Coast. We chose to stay in Salerno because of the proximity to family that we were visiting. We were welcomed by Francesco, who showed us our rooms, which were very nice. He gave us information for day trips to Pompei, Amalfi, and Capri. Salerno Centro was wonderfully located in the heart of the walking city, close to fine restaurants, shopping, and the Lungomare. The buses and train station were within walking distance. The morning breakfast was prepared by Lena, and was wonderful. Everyday she made a wonderful cake, and for us, scrambled eggs.
Upon departure at 7am, Francesco and his father made 2 trips to take my family and bags to the train station. The service was excellent. We are looking forward to our next trip to Salerno Centro!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaFo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is right in the centre of Salerno and very easy to access both ports and the station. We stayed here in other to visit Paestum on the way to Ravello. The room was beautiful and the family were especially helpful with emails before we arrived and on arrival. Advising about boat and train time to plan our onward trip. Breakfast was in the kitchen and really lovely and homely.
I would highly recommend staying here if you are planning to stay in Salerno on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the Positano room because it has a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's impossible for ordinary tourists to say "this is the best" about a hotel or restaurant. We usually aren't able to sample enough places. But if Salerno Centro isn't the best place to stay in Salerno, I would be very surprised. The rave reviews are no fluke. Francesco and his Mom really and truly do a fantastic job making your visit to Salerno a pleasant one.

A huge selection of bars, shops, restaurants, and other attractions are within walking distance. There's not much more to say except that the positive reviews are entirely justified.

And, as others have pointed out, Salerno is the perfect home base for exploring the area. Unlike Amalfi, for example, where as a tourist you really feel like you're in a purely tourist setting, in Salerno you feel like you're simply getting in touch with your Italian side. Of course, you aren't likely to be confused with a local resident, but you at least don't feel like just another sheep in the herd. I highly recommend staying in Salerno and if you do, make sure not miss staying at Salerno Centro.

Room Tip: Try to book the "Amalfi" room. It has a terrace with umbrella, chairs and tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A wonderful experience for our family. Francesco and his mama were fantastic and the hospitality they showed was wonderful - so welcoming. Salerno is a city for Italians so you aren't surrounded by tourists - very refreshing after trips to Pompei or Amalfi! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmershamFamily_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Salerno Centro is a wonderful spot to spend some time while visiting the Amalfi Coast area of Italy. Francesco and his mother go out of their way to make sure you are happy and enjoying yourself. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast provided is delicious and very filling. This B & B is a short walk from the train station, bus station and ports for catching a ferry up the coast. The building is so quaint and unique. It was wonderful to have Francesco to ask questions to and he provided so much useful information to my wife and I on our arrival. I would absolutely recommend Salerno Centro for your Italy vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salerno hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#9 of 13 in Salerno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo del Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Il Piccolo Principe
Il Piccolo Principe
#4 of 203 in Salerno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Il Fuso
B&B Il Fuso
#8 of 203 in Salerno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Sul Corso
B&B Sul Corso
#30 of 203 in Salerno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast

Property: Salerno Centro Bed and Breakfast
Address: Piazza Sedile di Portanova 10, 84121 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 203 B&Bs / Inns in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salerno Centro" Bed and Breakfast is housed in a former convent of 15th century. We are located in the main square of salerno, about 800 meters from Salerno train station: a simple and pleasant 10-minute walk along the pedestrianized Corso vittorio emanuele, the most important shopping area of Salerno. You can choose between three very comfortable rooms with private or en-suite bathroom with free wi-fi connection and air conditioning. The free wi-fi connection is also provided in the wide common spaces. A limited made-to-order breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace which you relax yourself after the trips around Salerno. The intercity buses and the ferries to Amalfi, Positano and Capri are all 10 minutes away. There are many cafes, bars, restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity, and the local bus lines are just a few steps away. Salerno deserves a full day or more just by itself, and can be used as a citybase for daytrips to the Amalfi coast, Cilento coast, Capri, Paestum, the Royal Palace of Caserta, Pompei, Ercolanum and Naples itself."Salerno centro" will be your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing