We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel outside Salerno city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK hotel outside Salerno city center”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We decided to stay at Salerno instead of Sorrento to visit the Amalfi coast. Picked Hotel Novotel mainly because it was covered with my credit card points. The hotel is very new and has a modern look. The staff who checked us in were very friendly. The rooms also have a modern feel to them as did the bathroom. Initially our room had some bugs on the ceiling (looked like silverfish) and the management immediately changed our room after assessing the situation.

The hotel is not within walking distance from Salerno city center and the train station, so you are looking at about a 15 Euro cab ride each way if you don’t have a car. Having walked around the city of Salerno, which was very lively with lots of places to eat and shop, we would pick a hotel that’s within walking distance if we ever visit Salerno again.

Breakfast was not included with our hotel rate but we decided not to eat at their restaurant based on other TripAdvisor reviews (expensive, disappointing) and instead had coffee once we got to the city. We also visited the pizzeria closeby (need to go left on the main road once you leave the hotel) and had the best pizza from our whole trip. We got the potatoe and mushroom pizza. That pizzaria must be seeing an increase in business after the hotel opened and also thanks to TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippinMani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELCOME2SA, Direttore generale at Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear TrippinMani family,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff.
We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we wish you a great day.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    656
    201
    51
    26
See reviews for
496
434
32
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly with excellent English (useful when your Italian isn't that hot).

The hotel is a little way out of Salerno, but that's to be expected when they say 'East' in the title of the hotel. It's very easy to get to - just drive down the seafront out of Salerno and you'll go past the front door. It has a lounge with a small bar, TV projector (If you like that), and a Xbox 360 for kids if you've brought them along too.

The room was big, modern, nicely designed but a little basic. My room had a decent view of Salerno in the distance, but the view of the sea is good.

There's an excellent free car park underneath the hotel and parking at the front too. I saw a swimming pool out at the back which looked OK but it was November so no chance of seeing me in it.

The only disappointments were:
- The fitness rooms is silly. One running machine and a few free weights, all hidden away in a cupboard in the basement. Grim.
- The duvet/blanket was as thick as a paper tissue. It had the same warm qualities too.

All in all, recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smifffy22b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff, clean, good food,comfortable bed, parking.Unfortunately dislocated, away from the town and beach, good for short stay.Password for the Internet is only a couple of hours, so we had to ask every day new password.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A horrendously over priced hotel in a very disappointing area. Got to Salerno expecting great things and found a really dirty, run down area. The hotel was close to a sixty minute walk away from the town centre itself. The bus service is irregular so don't rely on that and the taxis are €15 one way so not ideal for popping in and out to the town.

Room itself was below par - the sheets didn't appear to be changed for the six nights that we stayed; beds are two single beds pushed together so the split in the middle is uncomfortable; air conditioning had a mind of its own and didn't seem to work properly at all. Noise level coming from other rooms became so unbearable at one point during night three that we complained (or attempted to complain) to the reception desk over the phone. The receptionist hung up the phone on me four times before having someone who could speak English phone back. Explained the issue and he told us he would investigate, but there was no resolution. The next day i flagged it to the receptionists again and they suggested that we move to a lower floor - but as the noise was already coming from above us and we were on the third floor, it didn't seem like a viable option.

We made the mistake of using the 'laundry service' on one occasion. The hotel forgot to send our clothes off until the night before we were leaving (when we enquired as to when we could expect them to be returned to us). They explained that they would be returned first thing the next morning as we were leaving at 11am. Despite numerous phone calls that morning, our laundry was returned to us as we walked to check out of the hotel. Again, there's an extortionate charge for a below par service.

The hotel takes advantage of their far out location by having a restaurant that charges extortionate prices for the most basic menu. Caesar salad - actually just lettuce with some tomatoes, cheese and croutons (you might get some egg or bacon bits, but this seemed to vary depending on the night you ordered it). No dressing and no chicken. I did ask for chicken to be added one night and the waiter almost had heart failure telling me he would have to investiagte with the chef as to whether this would be possible. Carbonara - pasta with scrambled egg. Arrabiata - pasta with what seemed like a cold tin of chopped tomatoes. Dessert - charged almost ten euro for one single scoop of ice cream. That's not to mention the breakfast that is €14 per person. Prices are absolutely appalling for food that is extremely poor. Prices of drinks are also extremely high.

The beaches between the hotel and the town itself are some of the dirtiest I've ever seen - there is rubbish everywhere and the smell is horrendous. The closest beaches that the hotel recommend charge you for using the loungers and don't seem overly welcoming if you are not Italian. Also, it doesn't matter what time of day you arrive at - you'll still be charged full price for admission.

Can't recommend anything about the hotel and definitely wouldn't advise anybody to go there for any reason. Staff don't seem fussed about their (very few) customers and the level of service is nothing that you would expect from a four star hotel. As said, AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lesleykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELCOME2SA, Direttore generale at Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Ms. Lesleykd,
Thank for having chosen Novotel Salerno for your holidays and thank you for time dedicated and for your comments.
We would like to reply as, the area is new area under fast development where several buildings and a future shopping and residential area will be soon ready.
Indeed the buses do cross by each 20 to 25 min. Hoping frequency will be soon reached to a 10 / 15'.
Regarding the beaches, as you know in Italy all or most of them do charge entrance fee, not only the one close to hotel area.
Cabs to and from the hotel do charge between 10 to 15€.
Regarding your comments about the hotel and restaurant, my associates and myself are already envolved in applying our new restaurant card with very competitive prices.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, we wish you Ms. Lesleykd a great and sunny day in Dublin.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We found this gem of a hotel by accident last year after we had to move from another hotel in Naples and decided to return this year as we couldn't fault it at all. It is practically brand new and the rooms are fabulous and very clean. Big beds, fantastically comfy, nice sofa and desk, plenty of storage space and a luxurious bathroom with all the usual goodies. Downsides are that none of the rooms have balconies (not really a problem for us) but they do have big picture windows and both our rooms had views out to the sea. There were very few english channels on the tv but that is the norm in Italy. The wifi was free and we had a brilliant signal our entire stay (very helpful).
Last year the car parking was an extra cost if you couldn't get one of the free spaces outside reception. This year all parking was free which is definitely a move in the right direction and a massive plus point for us.
The gym and pool area are both modern and well equipped. You get free water and towels to use in the gym which saves you having to bring them from the room. It was also very quiet during our stay.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was good and the waiter attentive. Receptionists were always very friendly and helpful.
The location of the hotel is somewhat isolated at the far end of Salerno but if you are using it as a base to explore the Naples area then it is ideal. It is close to the main road to Naples and also conveniently placed for the Amalfi Coast. Salerno is a lovely town to wander around and not very touristy. It also felt relatively safe even at night. Two minutes drive from the hotel is a well stocked supermarket.
The only negative I could find with this hotel was the somewhat disorganised breakfast on a couple of the mornings - there was no one to greet us on arrival and we had to ask for tea/coffee a couple of times before we got any. Not really big issues, and the last two days there was a gentleman running breakfast instead of the girls and it was much, much better.
In conclusion, this is the best hotel in Salerno and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_animals66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent 4 nights here and first impressions are good - new hotel, good room with fridge, kettle & workspace with wifi, nice reception, reasonable restaurant & bar, great pool, free parking. The BIG negative is the air-conditioning, which even at its lowest setting and full fan, scarcely makes a difference to the (very warm) room. THEN - they switch it off completely from 10-11 a.m. AND from 1-7 a.m.! When I complained, I was told that the AC company specified this to 'rest' the system! BULL! This smacks of counter-productive cost-cutting and I felt sorry for the chambermaid, whose uniform was soaked at the back from working in such conditions. If you can sleep in a sweatbox, this is a good hotel. We can't and won't be back. Other points - you'll need a car as the hotel is well outside the town with minimal local facilities.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioning works effectively 24/7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELCOME2SA, Direttore generale at Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear David L
Thank you for having chosen Novotel Salerno during your trip on the Amalfitan Coast.
and thank you for your comments regarding the hotel.
We dropped below your expectations and would like to apologize.
The A/C is running 16/24, according to technical requests.
We already implemented new A/C engine in order to run 24/24.
City buses, do stop close to the hotel within a walking distance. (less than 300 meters) .
Our mission is to Exceed Your expectations and satisfaction.
We are awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salerno
4.1 mi away
Villa Poseidon - Boutique Hotel & Events
3.0 mi away
Plaza Hotel
Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Salerno
517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#8 of 13 in Salerno
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albergo Fiorenza
Albergo Fiorenza
#5 of 13 in Salerno
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Polo Nautico
Hotel Polo Nautico
#9 of 13 in Salerno
109 reviews
13.8 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi

Property: Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi
Address: Via Generale Clark 49, 84131 Salerno, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Salerno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Salerno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Salerno Est Arechi is a modern, 4-star hotel with 116 rooms. Ideally situated on the coast, 766 yds from the sea, the hotel is easily reachable via the Mariconda exit of the Salerno SS18 ring road, 4.3 miles from the Salerno Est Fratte junction. 3.7 miles from the city center. Perfect for business trips: five meeting rooms (200 seats), business area, web corner, Wi-Fi. Family rooms for two adults and two children. Novotelcafé, 24-hr catering. Bar, outdoor pool, garden, fitness area, sauna, parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Novotel Salerno Est Arechi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Salerno Est Arechi Hotel Salerno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing