We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the splurge”

La Caravella dal 1959
Ranked #56 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $56 - $134
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Caravella Restaurant is the history of the Amalfi Coast's Cuisine. Since 1959 is at the top of the local and Italian cuisine. First awarded Michelin star in Southern Italy and today one of the first three oldest star-awarded of Italy. It expresses a cuisine connected to the territory of the Amalfi Coast that discovers through old recipes, representing them in a more fantastic version, exalting the senses and the tastes of our Area. The elegant and well kept environment, houses a rich collection of ceramics of the most famous masters of since Amalfi Coast 1800 to nowadays.
Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent food. We did the tasting menu and would highly recommend it. Make sure you starve yourself all day though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    63
    21
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A sea food Italian food. One of the best in the whole Amalfi coast. The wine list is amazing. I recommend the stuffed Calamari. They have a shop for local ceramic products and for the wines. The adjusted shop is too expensive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“A nice and romantic 1 Michelin star restaurant in Amalfi”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a nice tasting menu dinner in La Caravella on the night that Italy played their semi final Euro championship match against Germany...needless to say all the dishes that night had a clear Italian-theme (see colour combinations in the photos).

The cooking is inspired and some of the best we had during our trip, with La Sponda in Positano and Il Flauto di Pan in Ravello. Clearly the view of scenery that those other two restaurants offer is much more impressive, but when it comes to taste and service La Caravella easily matches them.

The matching wines (all regional wines) were well chosen and I learned a few new wines that I didn't know off before visiting the restaurant. The restaurant specialises in fish dishes and some of the dishes are very well executed (e.g., langoustines with potato gniocci and tomatoes).

The tasting menu costs about 100 Euros and matching wines an additional 30 Euros and are both worth the price in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a surprisingly empty restaurant”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is expensive but good food. Majors on fish. Good service. We went at lunchtime and it wasnt at all busy, but it was early in the season.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank notretired01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gourmet-food in perfection”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This michelin-starred restaurant is locatd directly near the main bus-stop in Amalfi (40m by foot) and the entrance is not easy to find, but everyone can help to find it, because it is so well known.
We visited the restaurant already 4 times (every year) and every time it is a dream again! Just brilliant adapation of classical italian dishes with local indigrents. But the quality of preparation and of the products is just outstanding. The service very competent, fast and humouros. The price is reasonable and not much higher then most other restaurants n Amalfi. I will be back for sure!
(it is closed on tuesday at the time of writing - on all other days it is opened for lunch and dinner)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank swiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caravella dal 1959 also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Caravella dal 1959? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing