We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Pesce D'Oro

Al Pesce D'Oro
Ranked #37 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: $22 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
cork
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you have not eaten in a decent italian trattoria before this, you might be impressed by the pasta/seafood etc. We, howeverhad spent 7 days travelling at this stage and found it average, underwhelming and overpriced. First place we were charged for sitting down and for bread!!!
Go find some other place among the many in Amalfi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mceCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    87
    52
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tell them what you like and enjoy what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Many places in Italy will have a limited menu, this is because, as I understand, you tell them what you like and they will bring you a selection of foods. E.g Parma ham, tomatoes, croquettes, mozzarella, ect and you will get these. The food we got this was was great, fresh and fine. We were only eating light so didnt eat much. We sat outside next to a dangerous pipe sticking out the wall which the waiter and 2 of our group tripped over! The view was great, parking fine, service ok and toilets decent. Would recommend giving it a go, but i don't think it was any where special. Not sure about value as family member paid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S-M4X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Twenty eight years later....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is simply not true that "you can never go back." On June 4th of this year we returned, after 28 years, to Al Pesce D'Oro and are so very glad we did. In 1985, armed with a copy of a GOURMET article printed in February 1972 titled "Gourmet Holidays: The Amalfi Drive," we enjoyed the most remarkable dinner prepared by the owner/chef. Having read about spaghetti en cartoccio (en papillote) in the article, we had to have it. We got more -- an opportunity to go into the kitchen and watch it being prepared. It was wonderful! Her husband had caught the clams, mussels, and octopus that morning. The article was proudly displayed on the wall back in 1985.

This year we arrived at Al Pesce D'Oro between lunch and dinner. On the patio perched on the hillside overlooking the sea was the lovely woman we had met all those years ago. We are all a bit older now :) Inside was a young man who invited us in. The dining room was ours. The cook was about to leave but they brought us an enormous dish of olives and then an antipasto of a small white fish seviche, smoked salmon, and delicious octopus.

The young man was her grandson-in-law, now one of the people managing the restaurant and bed and breakfast which they have added in the intervening years. We didn't see the GOURMET article on the wall this time, but I had brought it with me again, a little yellowed over the years. I proudly presented it to her grandson who had never seen it before! He read it with amazement and took it to his Grandmother to tell her that we had visited before. We told them how very much we had enjoyed the cartoccio and in fact had made it a few times ourselves and that we would love to have it again. Well... the cook had left, it was between lunch and dinner... but the wonderful Grandmother made her way to the kitchen and cooked it for us!!!! What a delicious treat and a lovely trip in to our past -- enjoying the beautiful Amalfi Coast and the very special Al Pesce D'Oro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amoore14850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good traditional food and value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

After several weeks nearby, Al Pesce d'Oro became our most frequented dining experience. Over time we sampled most of the menu items including the pizza. We found the portions large and nicely prepared. Favorites included spaghetti with clams, fettucelle with olives, capers and tomatoes, and the mussels (Zuppa di Cozzi). It was hard to avoid over eating as Pasquale, the owner, always served a few extra items throughout the meal-grilled bread, pizza marinara, fiore di campo, and an occasional dessert. There is a nice selection of moderately priced local wines. Everything is fresh and hand made except the fried calamari and shrimp. It's a warm, friendly, and entertaining atmosphere with both locals and tourists. It also has on-site parking. For a nice casual evening out, add this as a place to try. Enjou!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DallasSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OH EM GEE!!!! TO DIE FOR!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friend took us here while in Almafi and it was one of the best places I've ever eaten!!! A must when in Almafi!!! Pasta has not been the same since my visit here... How I wish I was closer... The best!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Pesce D'Oro also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Al Pesce D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing