We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
100
55
18
13
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
55
18
13
25
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 211 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great stay there.
Positive comments: Great view of the coast, clean room, coffee and tea amenities, fridge, good powerful ac for the Italian heat, TV (who needs one), 3 min walk to the centre of town, new and strange location on top of the tunnel, gd wifi.
Negative comments: You unfortunately have to walk through that darkish tunnel to get to the door. I heard from other guests on lower floors that in the dead of the night they could hear cars zooming through the tunnel. Not every room has a balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal_lye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The room does have a spectacular view of the Amalfi coast, but that is the only good thing about the facility. It is not a hotel, just rooms in another building close to the center of town. The room itself was no frills with a small bathroom. The beds and linens were old and it is a no frills place. We could live with that until the air conditioning broke and it was in the 90's there. We had trouble with it the first night and James came and told us it was set wrong. It worked for another day and a half and than died. James told us he had to order a part and bottom line is we never got another room or AC. I asked for a fan and was told to use the fan on the portable unit...there are no windows, only the door that opens to the balcony (which you can't leave open over night) so it was extremely hot. I was disappointed no compensation made for the inconvenience. If you're looking for a great view, this is it, but for the price, you should be careful. I didn't feel as if the owners, Nino and James, were interested in pleasing their customers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived in Amalfi by ferry from Salerno, contacted Nino, and he came and met us.
Our accommodation was a spacious room in building next to the Cathedral in the main Piazza.We just opened our french windows to watch the world go by below.We loved it.Close to everything, the ferries, buses just across the road. Nino was most helpful and his assistant has worked in Australia.
We stayed a week, loved every minute of it and felt like one of the locals by the time we left. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has A/C before you book.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Worst experience in 2.5 months of traveling. Pictures are of other rooms. We were first given a place in town with a pull-out sofa bed. It had bed-bugs (sheets were marked by them in morning and just now was see their bites)! A/C didn't work. The room was nothing like the pictures on the website nor did it contain the promised amenities. We complained it wasn't the room we had resevered, they promised to move us the next day. The new room's A/C (a portable kind) dripped water all over the floor and required the door to the balcony be open to use it. The bathroom stunk like there was a sewer backup problem. Both bed's blankets were filthy and full of dust. Wifi only works on terrace - no shade so impossible to use during the day. The main building is above a motorcycle parking lot and alarms went off all night long. When we went to do checkout (just before 10am), the office was locked. Almost missed our 10:30 ferry. Owner was very unapologetic about not meeting us at the promised time and all other problems. He's not interested in providing service nor maintaining the facilities. We feel very cheated. I do not recomend staying here.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The only good thing about this place is the view from your room, which is stunning. This is not a real hotel; there is no reception nor staff on site except the cleaning lady. Rooms are very basic, we were in the family room with a kitchen. Bathroom is small and old, with old towels that smelled funny. You can not get into a shower unless you are really slim. We ended up standing in about 2 inches of water everytime we used the shower. There is no phone inside, and TV screen is only 14 inches big!! The other down side is that it is built above a tunnel, so the noise coming from the traffic ruins it all. You can't enjoy sitting on the balcony and I had to wear ear plugs at night to get some sleep. To get to the beach, or to breakfast in the morning, which is served 5-6min walking, you have to pass through the tunnel with all its fumes and traffic...not pleasant at all. Ther breakfast is at a local cafe and consisted of a croisant and coffee, that's it! We complained to the manager and he got us extra toast and jam, and a sandwich just for my husband.
The worst part was parking: James brought a guy with him who parked our rental car who knows where, when he returned it to us after 7 days, the car was dented and scratched in two places, and neither that guy nor James, the manager, wanted to take any responsibility so we had to pay the damage to the rental car agency ourselves.
I would never go to this place again. Instead, hotel called "Amalfi" is a much better option - it is central, so you don't have to walk through the smelly and busy tunnel anywhere you go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesnica011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews