We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best accommodation during our month trip in Italy!”
Review of Residenza Luce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Luce
Ranked #1 of 42 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best accommodation during our month trip in Italy!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a doubt of staying at Residenza Luce because it's a B&B. I would say it's not. It's more the perfect boutique hotel. Rooms are perfect (and suites even more!), with all the modern comfort you can expect from a 4* hotel: flat screen TV with many international channels, excellent Wi-Fi (a router per room!), bath with rain shower and falls shower, .... and a balcony!. All that in an house right in the center of Amalfi (view on the Piazza del Duomo). You arrive and you leave your car at the parking on Piazza Flavio Gioia for your whole stay (Vicenzo will organize the parking and the suitcases transfer for you!). Restaurants are all around (the best being "l'abside" of Vicenzo's family!), and Vicenzo will help you for organizing any trip you would like to (Capri, Ravello, ...). And Lydia is helping for all your comfort: breakfast, laundry, ... She's adorable!
Breakfasts are excellent! And it should even be better now that it's on the rooftop terrace.
You arrive there because you're looking for accommodation, and you leave, heart broken like if you're leaving your family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSMMOAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
244
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
243 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location:
The B&B is right in the piazza (i.e. in the middle of the town). There are plenty of restaurants, shops and ice cream places next door. Only a short walk to the buses and boats if you plan some sightseeing trips.

Rooms/Bathrooms:
The room we stayed in was on two levels with the bedroom upstairs and a small living room and bathroom downstairs. Plenty of space, therefore even nice to sit in the room and have a cup of tea (free). The bathrooms were good sized and well equipped.

Breakfast:
Lydia, the owners mother in law, was a perfect host and served us with plenty of traditional Italian breakfast. There was a fresh cake daily, cold meat and cheese, freshly baked croissants from Vincenzo (the owner), bread rolls, cereal, boiled eggs, fruit and yoghurt.

General:
Vincenzo was a great help with planning our trips. He has not only had good recommendations but went out of his way to make our stay unforgettable.

Others:
Our room was facing the piazza, which was sometimes very loud (by the way the only reason why we don't give 5 stars in the rating). As such, you might want to ask for a room facing the other side.

Room Tip: see details in review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week, as a family of four. Vincenzo and Lydia treat you like family. Each morning Lydia prepares a coffee, a tea or a hot chocolate with a smile and a hug, as well as a bountiful breakfast. This place is so central, right in the heart of the action. Great place to explore The coast. You can visit Ravello (take the red bus) or Positano ( take the public Sita bus there and the ferry back) or Capri easily from here. Vincenzo will work out all the details for you. We loved being so central to walk to the sea, the restaurants and the piazza. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had a balcony which was fun to watch all the action in the piazza below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Whilst i am a regular user of Tripadvisor, I very rarely feel strongly enough about a place to write a review. My recent stay at Residenza Luce has to be one of those moments. From the original booking right through to our departure this morning the owner, Vincenzo, could not have been more helpful.

On arrival, he escorted us up to our room on the top floor of the property and we opened the door to find a large perfectly decorated room, bathed in sunlight from two large windows. The views onto the square and the cathedral from the balcony outside were stunning.

A fantastic room, whilst nice, does not make a perfect holiday....what makes a holiday special is the people you meet when you're there and this is where Residenza Luce comes into its own. Vincenzo, with the assistance of Lidia, made this holiday special for us by helping in whatever way he could, whether it be by arranging trips, dealing with our car hire, sorting out our parking, advising on things to see & places to go or simply chatting to us whilst we ate our hearty breakfast (much of which was homemade!!).

My partner & I absolutely loved our time in Amalfi - our only regret was that our stay at the Residenza Luce was too short. If you ever decide to go to Amalfi, stay with Vincenzo. He will make sure you have a fantastic time & you will feel like part of the family in no time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Helen_Crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were unsure whether we should stay at Amalfi or Positano, and are so glad we took the recommendation from our Roman friend to stay in Amalfi (much less touristy), and moreso to stay at Residenza Luce. Vincenzo is absolutely fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful; and Lidia took great care of us in the mornings. We couldn't fault the property, it was very clean and comfortable, and a great little balcony to listen to the church bells and watch the village's daily life go by. Exceptional value. Make sure you visit Vincenzo's family's restaurant a couple of doors down, L'abside!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsBrown B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked our stay based on reviews from TripAdvisor and Booking.com and were here 5 nights. The reviews don't lie! Vincenzo is a warm and hospitable host who helped us with amazing advice on the miles of treks in the area, timetables for buses and ferries, recommendations for restaurants on top of providing spotless rooms and lovely, complete breakfasts, with delicious Americano cofffee, cappucino or English breakfast tea, all aided by the lovely Lydia. You leave feeling like you've stayed with family---the branch of your family you like! Be forewarned that like most hotels in Amalfi (which is built on a hill), there are lots of stairs and no elevator, though Vincenzo will be quick to help you with your luggage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pirategirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Amazing value for money a wonderful experience...
Staying in Amalfi for six nights at Residenza Luce was the highlight of our recent trip - we were made feel so welcome by Vincenzo the owner who answered any questions we had, arranged airport transfers both ways at the last minute and among many other things arranged a reduced price for scooter hire for us.

Vincenzo had so much local knowledge which he freely provided and was the perfect host - the hotel rooms were spacious, wonderfully clean and fresh and overlooked the piazza below.
So beautiful, so clean, so welcoming a home away from home - we didn't want to leave and we will most certainly return.

This review would not be complete without mentioning the beautiful Lydia, Vincenzo's mother-in-law who is there every morning to greet you at breakfast and cook your eggs just to your liking or make you an espresso, cappuccino or latte...nothing is too much trouble for Lydia she insisted on doing our washing for us (at no charge) and the breakfast is a beautiful inclusion with a wide selection to choose from.

An added bonus is that in a quieter little plaza near the hotel is a restaurant owned by Vincenzo's family with delicious home made pastas and seafood dishes to die for :) we dined there 3 out of the 6 nights and we were given a discount on each occasion which was brilliant! The prices were already so reasonable and the food so fresh and great.

If you at egging to the Amalfi coast and you need accommodation i am sure you would not find a place as delightful as this wearily recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a piazza view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Luce

Property: Residenza Luce
Address: Via Fra' Gerardo Sasso 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Luce è un elegante Bed and Breakfast che si affaccia sull'affascinante centro storico di Amalfi, a pochi passi dal mare e dalle principali attrazioni della città. Per la cura degli arredi, per i servizi offerti e la spaziosità delle sue camere, Residenza Luce può tranquillamente essere considerato un piccolo Boutique Hotel proprio nel centro di Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Residenza Luce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing