We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, helpful staff, and cozy surroundings.”
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Palme
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Beautiful, cozy, bed-and-breakfast atmosphere nestled high in the gorgeous Amalfi cliffs. Before I write anything further, I will preface this review by saying that my husband and I found the location of Le Palme to be exciting, adventurous, and not at all bothersome. For those looking for ease of entrance or who may be, in any way, limited in physical mobility, you may want to search elsewhere for accommodations.

First: Getting here isn't intuitive. After arriving at the bus depot in Amalfi, you'll need to purchase a ticket for a bus to Pogerola. The bus tickets can be purchased from the tourist traps in the area just near to the depot. Exit the bus at the Hotel Excelsior stop and Antonietta will meet you and guide you to the lift that will take you down to the hotel. If you leave the luggage on the lift and walk down, it's not so bad, however, going up is a different story! If you wish, there are stairs just outside the property that will take you all the way back down to the heart of Amalfi which is a very nice walk in the morning.

The scenery was gorgeous, we were generously welcomed, and arrangements were made for us to visit Gerry's Pub for dinner a bit higher up the hill where we had one of the best meals in all of Italy (we were actually picked up and dropped off by Gerry himself). The Cuomo family was very warm, served us a wonderful breakfast complete with warm, homemade pastries, wonderful coffee, and lots of fresh fruit. Antoinetta actually left breakfast for us in our room the night before we departed since we had to leave very early in the morning!

The rooms themselves, at least on the "main floor," were small and the bathrooms were VERY tiny. They were, however, tastefully decorated and very clean. The doors are French style and opened up onto a shared veranda overlooking gorgeous views. In retrospect, I might have asked for a larger room, however, we were only there for 2 nights so didn't feel it necessary. Besides, when you're in Amalfi, you should NOT be staying in the room! For extended stays, however, a larger space would be a MUST! My husband enjoyed a dip in the pool but I didn't partake because the water was a bit too chilly for my liking.

My only complaint with our stay was that on the morning of our departure, the lift (which we heard was functional in the early morning without the room key) did not work without the key and we had to haul all of our extremely heavy baggage up the 300+ stairs. I was not particularly happy about that and would recommend that the family make arrangements for guests to transport themselves and their luggage appropriately regardless of the time. Perhaps a locked room key dropbox at the top of the hill that could be accessed periodically so that the keys are kept safe?

All in all, highly recommended! Would definitely stay again if/when we return to the area! Grazie!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked 9 nights here for the end of our 1month tour of Italy. I read all these reviews and had high hopes of using this as a base to see the Amalfi Coast, Naples, Pompei, Capri etc. from the crazy drive around the coast, to the fact our sat nav could not find the address of the hotel, we started to question! When we parked the car in the car park of the 4star hotel next door and swathe le Palme sign on a tiny gate with no building near by we were very confused. Then Antoinetta arrived and ushered us in to the first of 3 disabled chair lifts down the side of a mountain. These lifts only cover half of the 300 + steep stone steps from the nearest road to the property so be prepared to drag your luggage up and down at least 100 steep steps. When we arrived at the place sweaty and dumbfounded were we so staggered by the journey in we could not even really appreciate the stunning view. When we saw the room things went from bad to worse! The room was tiny and the shower almost too small to function. The first night the air conditioning leaked all over the wardrobe and we realised that it had obviously leaking previously and the owners had simply put a bucket under it which then filled up and splashed all over our things. The area was full of Mosquitos, and had a chicken and birds on a tiny cage that absolutely stank! The pool was pretty, but on the 2nd day were noticed really strong chlorine hurt our eyes, the 3rd day as we were leaving for the daywear noticed an elderly gentleman (it's all family run) just pouring tonnes of chemicals into the pool. Later we realised that our swimwear was completely white -just imagine what that has done to our skin! We have our own pool at home and know how important it is to balance the PH and chemicals -this pool is very unsafe, late at night loads d dead insects were floating in it.

The breakfast was not even average, store bought pastries, cold toast and stale cornflakes. After a day we decided we would stay for the 4 nights we had paid for in the deposit and leave. The people were friendly, especially Salvatore, and the view is beautiful, but this was just too uncomfortable for us with the 600 steps down to town and 300+ up to the car. It's not even in Amalfi but about 15kms away up and almost vertical hill with perilous traffic. We were sooooooo relieved to get out of there. We would never ever stay there again, or even in Amalfi for that reason. Sorrento is a much more comfortable and accessible place. If you want to see beautiful Amalfi and Positano, stay in Sorrento and gets boat trip,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a one week's stay at this holiday house.
As other reviewers have said the view is spectacular but getting there is another matter. This holiday home is more suited for a mountain goat! There are 300 steps down to the hotel from the roadway where you leave your car in the car park of another hotel. Disabled type stair lift covers three sections down but there are also other stairs to negotiate. The stair lifts are temperamental and are not always available. You can walk down to the town but this is in excess of 300steps with no hand rails and no stair lift.
The hotel room shower was meant for small framed people. Breakfast was average. The pool area and service was good. If you have any mobility issues this holiday house is not for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

An amazing view that takes your breath away. The stairs are many but a lift has been installed for your luggage which is good. The rooms are excellent and the service is good. The pool is great as well.

A note though, do not go to the associated restreraunt it is far away and not worth it. We got ripped off as they gave us special customer drinks which was exciting except they added it to our bill.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you want to stay in a generic, chain, enorma-hotel, then don’t stay here. If, however, you want to stay in a small, boutique, friendly, family-run establishment with stunning views, this is for you. We stayed here several nights for our honeymoon.

Here are some more details for those who are interested.

Location:
The hotel is located in the hillside and only accessible on foot. The view is absolutely breath-taking! The path down takes you to Amalfi (20-minute walk) however the path is steep (and tiring) walking back. We didn’t find this a problem (in fact, it helped work off the pasta) but I would consider elsewhere if you don’t have a reasonable level of fitness or have mobility issues. An alternative would be to take the bus (from Pogerola up the hill), which takes longer, or get a taxi which is over-priced. Going further up the hill is the village of Pogerola, which I preferred to Amalfi due to the views and the better restaurants. There is a hillside lift from the hotel to Pogerola (it stops at the hotel, it doesn’t go as far as Amalfi). The lift is fantastic, especially when you have your bags. It also allows you to really take in the scenery as you are going up. Make sure you ask management to show you how to work it though and show you the way as it is confusing at first. Although the lift can be used if you are in a wheelchair, there are still steps within the hotel complex itself, so stay elsewhere if you are looking for somewhere completely step-free.

Food:
All meals in the hotel are served from a covered terrace with spectacular views. Breakfast is coffee, a glass of juice, a home-made croissant, bread, some biscotti, and jam. An extra coffee or fruit would have been nice, but the breakfast is filling and the service is good. We also had lunch twice in the hotel, which was absolutely delicious.

Room:
We had the Junior Suite. It was very large and comfortable and the air-con was good. The shower was warm and powerful. The only downsides were no bath and no views of the sea from your bed, just from the general room area. Also, be careful of the low ceiling! A few more coat hangers would have been nice. The mini bar was good, but not always re-stocked.

Pool:
The view from the pool area is fantastic. Plenty of sun loungers and places to relax. This is a very small hotel with only a few rooms so we often had this area to ourselves.

Misc. Points
The family who run the hotel do really try to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. For example, they offered to drive us to Pompeii and ended up throwing in a mini guided tour of the area!

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second. The rooms are very clean, breakfast really tasty and staff are eager to help. There are a lot of steps to and from the hotel, but you're in Amalfi - there are lots of steps everywhere!!

This was our first visit to Amalfi and when we return we'll definitely be staying at the Le Palme!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTourCVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Most romantic and klient friendly place in Amalfi:):):) Recomend recomend recomend. And the steps are so much fun, something interesting must be, when you have a vacation. Room service is great, rooms are clean and beautiful. And you can always ask for everything you need. The family who runs the place makes you feel, like you are old friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Address: Salita Dello Spinale 23, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $82 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing