We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel with beautiful views very sucluded and private.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Palme
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with beautiful views very sucluded and private.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

An amazing view that takes your breath away. The stairs are many but a lift has been installed for your luggage which is good. The rooms are excellent and the service is good. The pool is great as well.

A note though, do not go to the associated restreraunt it is far away and not worth it. We got ripped off as they gave us special customer drinks which was exciting except they added it to our bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    96
    16
    8
    11
See reviews for
43
181
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I agree with all the other positive comments about Le Palme. So as not to repeat them, i thought i'd give a slightly different angle ... which is that as a non-sun worshipper, i was extremely pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to find a nice shady spot to sit, or lounge, read a book or wahtever. There are a couple of shaded terraces and lots of umbrellas and awnings on the sun deck. Becuase it's such a small hotel, quite ofte the other guests were out which meant we had the sun deck completely to ourselves. Of course, if you want full on sun, there are lots of opportunities for that too. For me this was the best thing about Le Palme.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a superior room .. recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you want to stay in a generic, chain, enorma-hotel, then don’t stay here. If, however, you want to stay in a small, boutique, friendly, family-run establishment with stunning views, this is for you. We stayed here several nights for our honeymoon.

Here are some more details for those who are interested.

Location:
The hotel is located in the hillside and only accessible on foot. The view is absolutely breath-taking! The path down takes you to Amalfi (20-minute walk) however the path is steep (and tiring) walking back. We didn’t find this a problem (in fact, it helped work off the pasta) but I would consider elsewhere if you don’t have a reasonable level of fitness or have mobility issues. An alternative would be to take the bus (from Pogerola up the hill), which takes longer, or get a taxi which is over-priced. Going further up the hill is the village of Pogerola, which I preferred to Amalfi due to the views and the better restaurants. There is a hillside lift from the hotel to Pogerola (it stops at the hotel, it doesn’t go as far as Amalfi). The lift is fantastic, especially when you have your bags. It also allows you to really take in the scenery as you are going up. Make sure you ask management to show you how to work it though and show you the way as it is confusing at first. Although the lift can be used if you are in a wheelchair, there are still steps within the hotel complex itself, so stay elsewhere if you are looking for somewhere completely step-free.

Food:
All meals in the hotel are served from a covered terrace with spectacular views. Breakfast is coffee, a glass of juice, a home-made croissant, bread, some biscotti, and jam. An extra coffee or fruit would have been nice, but the breakfast is filling and the service is good. We also had lunch twice in the hotel, which was absolutely delicious.

Room:
We had the Junior Suite. It was very large and comfortable and the air-con was good. The shower was warm and powerful. The only downsides were no bath and no views of the sea from your bed, just from the general room area. Also, be careful of the low ceiling! A few more coat hangers would have been nice. The mini bar was good, but not always re-stocked.

Pool:
The view from the pool area is fantastic. Plenty of sun loungers and places to relax. This is a very small hotel with only a few rooms so we often had this area to ourselves.

Misc. Points
The family who run the hotel do really try to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. For example, they offered to drive us to Pompeii and ended up throwing in a mini guided tour of the area!

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second. The rooms are very clean, breakfast really tasty and staff are eager to help. There are a lot of steps to and from the hotel, but you're in Amalfi - there are lots of steps everywhere!!

This was our first visit to Amalfi and when we return we'll definitely be staying at the Le Palme!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTourCVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Most romantic and klient friendly place in Amalfi:):):) Recomend recomend recomend. And the steps are so much fun, something interesting must be, when you have a vacation. Room service is great, rooms are clean and beautiful. And you can always ask for everything you need. The family who runs the place makes you feel, like you are old friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the first time both my husband and I visited Amalfi Coast. We arrived at "Le Palme" around midnight, much later than our initial reservations. However, we were greeted as if it was noon! After a long day of running around, we were completely exhausted. Antonietta was such an amazing hostess, she made us feel at home and immediately offered us home made limoncello, which was just perfect!!! She asked if we wanted to eat something, but we just wanted to settle in this paradise, relax and sleep our tiredness off. The following morning we opened the windows and the views from this "Superior Suite" was heavenly amazing. No exaggeration, the views were breathtaking!! We went to have breakfast, and again we felt like home. The daily breakfast constitutes of delicious home made danishes, latte, Orange juice, toast, and croissants. Le Palme is about 15 minutes away from Amalfi center, but it was just perfect. Normally we walked the long pathway of stairs, which helped us stay in shape from all the fantastic food we at Le Palme Ristorante which is also owned by Salvatore and family. Salvatore, thank you, your wife, Antonietta and the entire family for making us feel as part of your family. We will see you again very soon:) ...Vivi & Alex.

Room Tip: Any ocean view room
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My friend and I have had the most incredible two day stay at Le Palme. Salvatore and his delightful family have treated us like friends and have made us feel so welcome at their idyllic escape in the village of Pogerola perfectly situated high above Amalfi complete with stunning views. We couldn't have wished for a more authentic and relaxed place to escape the throngs of tourists.They also have an exceptional restaurant by the same name in Atrani which is only a short drive away - we were served by Salvatore himself (and driven there by him!) and enjoyed one of the most special (five course!) meals of our lives - go for any of the fish dishes, they are unbelievably fresh and flavourful. Exceptional place - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharon House
Sharon House
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Nido
Hotel Il Nido
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Property: Le Palme
Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing