We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peace & Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiostro del Paradiso

Chiostro del Paradiso
Ranked #5 of 40 things to do in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Peace & Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Walking into the cloisters with it's Mediterranean garden at it's centre, exuded a peace and tranquillity rarely found in an area of such activity as Amalfi. the frescoes from the middle ages and the early Roman & Greek remains told the story of the history of Amalfi. I would recommend that everyone should have 5 minutes of the peace of this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    80
    19
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“too small and nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I felt the fee to enter is donation to the Duomo. Unless you are interested in the historical architect or something, it may be worth, but otherwise, I could not find any special here for pay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hananeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had no idea that this wonderful place existed in Amalfi's cathedral. We walked down the marble steps and into a beautiful sanctuary. I sat quietly for several minutes and just took in the elegance and glory of this amazing place. In all of Italy, it was one of my favorite spots. The artwork is amazing and the statues are superbe. There were very few people, which made the visit even more pleasant. The history of this place is rich with intrigue and mystery. We are going back to Amalfi next year and I will be visiting this magical place again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jaelhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

A lot of reviewers highly recommend this. The cloister is lovely, calm and peaceful. Interesting place to see.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marshalls25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ancient, peaceful, beautiful, fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Next to Amalfi's cathedral is il Chiostro del Paradiso (the cloister of paradise), built in 1266 as the cemetery for Amalfi’s nobility, its white columns and pointed arches reflect the Arabic influence often seen along this coastline. It’s now an open-air museum, with ancient pillars, sarcophagi and mosaics on display and a beautiful central garden.
Adjoining the cloister is the Basilica of the Crucifix, built in 596AD it was the original cathedral and is now a museum containing some beautiful frescoes. We spend an hour or so of our last rainy morning in Amalfi wandering through the almost deserted cloister, basilica and crypt ... raindrops plunking into the fountain in the cloister’s courtyard creating a perfect soundtrack. Despite visiting Amalfi twice before I had no idea these beautiful ancient sites were here - no wonder it’s a UNESCO site.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiostro del Paradiso also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Chiostro del Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing