We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, and ripped off with the room rate - awful experience!”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Extremely noisy hotel where it was hard to get to sleep and then you are woken by the cathedral bells early in the morning. Room was clean, but the balcony was a little grungy looking out toward rather scruffy roof tops. Plus, I was quoted one price and then when I checked out they charged me a higher rate. Highly suspicious there was a little scam going on, as I noticed they hadn't logged me in on the hotel entry sheet and showed the room as vacant. Planned to stay for longer, but one night was more than we could handle. Headed on to Positano where we had a totally different experience in a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

I requested a room with a view of the Duomo; however, the bells ring from 7am to 9 or 10pm and are loud enough to wake me up if I don't wear ear plugs. Also, the people congregating below in the plaza could be too loud. If you want more quiet, ask for a room away from the plaza and on a different floor than the lobby! The lobby can get loud if the TV is on, and with guests checking in.

The front desk gentleman (owner?) is very nice, friendly, and helpful. Maybe a bit too casual for some - he was sleeping on the couch in the lobby when we were leaving at 7am and we had to wake him up. But he will look anything up for you on his computer. You can tell he takes pride in making your stay as wonderful as possible. Breakfast is excellent, with pastries, cereal, juice, yogurt, milk, coffee, etc.

Amalfi is a great place to stay to explore the Amalfi coast, especially if you don't have a car, because it's the start/end of the line for the SITA buses, which are a couple of minutes away from the hotel. The Hotel Centrale, along with the friendly locals, make you feel very welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We were offered a choice between two rooms, both of them very good. We stayed in one with a view over the piazza and the cathedral. Very helpful owner (?) Giancarlo carried our heavy luggage up the stairs, gave us good advice and saw to it that our car was put safely in a garage (at 15 euro/night). Breakfast on the sunny terrace was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2swedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Amalfi Coast is absolutely beautiful and our wonderful visit was complemented with our stay at the Hotel Centrale in Amalfi. Great location - just across the beautiful St. Andrea cathedral. The rooms were comfortable and clean and a perfect place if you are traveling with a young child. Our son (2 years) loved the hotel. The morning breakfasts were delicious and a great view from the breakfast room. What truly made our visit perfect was the helpfulness of Giovanni. He was always warm, friendly and willing to help us whenever needed! We hope to be back one day and we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvr2010-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This hotel is very conveniently located right in the centre of Amalfi, five minutes stroll from the bus station. Our room was fairly small but very clean and comfortable and had a stunning view of the Duomo just opposite. There's a bit of noise at night as with any popular piazza, but it is worth it. The breakfast was very nice with fresh rolls and croissants, cakes, yoghurt, cereal. Giancarlo was extremely helpful, especially with our luggage on the steps. Even with hardly any English he was able to effectively communicate with great care and attention to our needs and a great sense of humour. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abir13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We had perfect weather in October. Our room was at the front looking out on the Duomo and the square where everything happened. Staff were very welcoming and efficient and the breakfast dining area is excellent. Amalfi is lovely for a short visit - a week maximum. Eating out is expensive and becomes tedious. Rome restaurants are much better and more competitive. Amalfi is a tourist trap.
Overall we enjoyed the visit, the good weather, the magnificent scenery, the lovely people and the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Corkypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed just one night but found the hotel to be a great location ( opposite the duomo) and although there is no ocean view our balcony looked straight onto the duomo. It is a few minutes easy walk from the bus terminal. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and offers a good european breakfast. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
252 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
556 reviews
0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
162 reviews
0 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: $73 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing