We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip-off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Annalara
Ranked #17 of 38 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rip-off!”
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here two nights in June. It is a dreadful value, and the descriptions of the rooms are flat-out lies. Our room had a sloped attic-style ceiling, low enough to bang your head on en route to the bathroom, and I'm 5'4" tall. We were promised a sea view--there was a small porthole window at floor level and, if you lay flat on the floor, you could indeed glimpse the sea. The "private" terrace was shared by two other rooms, and the height of the terrace wall precluded any sea view at all. The room was painted a bizarre mint green. Our friends got a bubblegum pink room, allegedly a suite, with garden view. The "suite" consisted of a slightly bigger bedroom than ours and a small hall with 2 small chairs in it. Breakfast was presided over by a character straight out of Monty Python; he clearly disliked women but was excessively friendly with our male friend and made quiet breakfasts impossible. we were unable to leave early because the day concierge couldn't arrive before 9 a.m. The relais is located a short walk from town, which meant it was peaceful, but the walk, and the steep stairs, make it unsuitable for anyone with health issues. There are much better options available at that price!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malagamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    53
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
106
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

What a wonderful hotel and in the most perfect location! Staff were FANTASTIC - cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariatReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed a whole week here. The villa has a wonderful terrace which has beautiful views of the town and the sea. The rooms are clean, well decorated and include a TV and fridge. It has a great sense of individuality about it and the staff, Renato and Salvatore were so helpful with their local knowlege.

I would reccomend this place to anyone wanting to relax and enjoy the Amalfi coast.

Helen & Richard UK

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2008

This bed and breakfast was one of the best hotels we've stayed in. Perched high above the beautiful town of Amalfi, the room was modern and large. Beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed. Breakfast wasn't as good as we expected, but there was nice coffee and it was a pleasure to eat on the large terrace overlooking the city and out to the ocean.

  • Liked — The clean, modern rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester(UK)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Well where to start, Yes it was expensive , But what is`nt in this part of Europe ! , We were celebrating our Wedding and booked to stay for 6 nights , It was an excellent base to chill out , The Staff were very helpful with all our queries which were mainly based on "Where`s the best Restaurant / Bar et c... ", Thanks to Salvatore, Luca (Next Door) and the infamous Renato ,..... the maker of the best Cappucino on the Amalfi Coast., The Rooms were cleaned daily by the Maid to a VERY high standard.

Forget about the steps , Unless you want to fight of the LB`s/KG`s after eating all this lovely Italian food , use the Lift it`s much easier , when getting out there will still be some 12 steps to climb !

Much better that Reanto`s 180 steps to his House in Amalfi !!

All in all I`d recommend this place , The only thing I`d like to see would be a Pool , that would make this place perfect !!

Phil & Di Rogers.

  • Liked — Position etc
  • Disliked — Lack of Swimming Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luckyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2008

I'll keep it short and sweet: We stayed there for one night during our honeymoon - it was perfect! Great view, nice staff, clean rooms with AC and SAT-TV... and most of all: only a few minutes away from 'downtown' Amalfi... Definitely go there!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Connyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at the Villa Annalara for three nights in early June -- me, my husband and our toddler. The hotel was very nice; we definitely liked the location, just a bit up from town. My chief complaint is that our room, Edera, is advertised as a deluxe ocean view room. If you look at the pictures I've included, you'll see that the ocean view is only from the terrace outside the room. The room itself has sloped ceilings, with just a skylight and a small half-moon shaped window near the floor. The room was very clean and plenty spacious for 3. The mattress felt old and slightly uncomfortable. The room was very quiet, though, which was excellent. A/C worked well. Agree with the other review that the toilet took forever to fill.

Breakfast was similar to that served at the other 2 hotels we stayed at during this trip (Sorrento and Naples) -- cereal, yogurt, croissant, juice, sliced ham and cheese, good coffee. Nothing special, but enough to fill you up. Management was friendly enough. I'd stay there again, but wouldn't recommend spending extra for an ocean view room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Ocean view room didn't have a view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#19 of 29 in Amalfi
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Annalara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Annalara

Property: Hotel Villa Annalara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Annalara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Annalara is located on a steep rock, "la Villa", suspended between the mountains and the sea, in the historical center, in a particularly suggestive position. Ideal place where you can revitalize your body and soul, offers relax and strong emotions. The lift will lead our customers on a big terrace, nestled in the green landscape made of lemon trees and age-old plants, surrounded by bougainvilleas, rhododendrons and geraniums. It is like a window on the charming panorama of Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Annalara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Annalara
Relais Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing