We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“a very comfortable "boutique hotel" with the best view over Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Annalara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Annalara
Ranked #19 of 36 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Bocholt, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a very comfortable "boutique hotel" with the best view over Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we slept in the room " glycinne" - with sea view and a spa- bathtub in our bathroom. The room was very tastefully furbished and spacious enough.
Christiano at the reception took care of everything: bus departures, boat departures, walks,... he advised us a very, very good restaurant in Atrani: Le Palme which is very good in
price/quality, he knew a very good pasticceria " De rise" in Minori, just fantastic.
He made us the drinks at breakfast, was always kind and friendly.
For us Annalara has the best view over Amalfi and it is easy to find: you walk up the main road direction of the paper museum, a lift tkes you to the hotel, of course you have to do a few steps, which could be difficult with a heavy luggage, but in this area- on the coast, there are steps all over. We can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: Glicinne has sea-view and a spa-bathtub, Wonderful. The standard rooms have also spa, but shower ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaG352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    44
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We phoned the hotel the day before to find out whether it'd be better to take the bus or ferry from Salerno, and said we would arrive at approximately 1.30 pm. We were advised to take the bus.( TAKE THE FERRY)After a train from Rome, a hellish bus ride and shlepping our bags up 800mt of crowded cobblestone street, we were hot, hungry and tired. And, there was no answer on the intercom at the gate! So, we pushed more buttons, and another hotel let us in. Not good enough! One staff member was lovely and helpful, the other couldn't tear himself away from the movie he was watching on his lap top to do more than nod or grunt. Day after day. Rude. We were booked and stayed for 4 nights-the rooms are spacious and clean, and the location is good.Lovely terrace, decent breakfast. Just disappointed at how a poor reception(NONE) and a rude and lazy host(not the breakfast guy) can tarnish our experience of a decent hotel .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On our arrival we were told that our room was actually in another building ( i had heard such stories earlier about other hotels but only when it happened to us i realized how frustrating it is). Anyway post a short discussion we were offered a room in the same building (big relief but not the start you'd hope for). The room itself was quite nice with a clean bathroom, a TV and a mini bar. The breakfast was good too.

The hotel is about 800m uphill from the historic center which is not a huge problem unless you are manually carrying a huge amount of luggage or if there is an aged person in your group. After the 800m walk there is a lift at the end of a private tunnel that takes you to the hotel (slightly cumbersome approach if you are carrying a huge amount of luggage). The hotel boasts of wifi but the connectivity is limited to the reception area.

The terrace has a sea view!

Room Tip: There is aroom with a Jacuzzi if you fancy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days whilst in Amalfi. The location is excellent - a short stroll down the main street to the cathedral and the seafront, and with stunning views from the very pretty terrace. Our room was lovely, spacious with a generous-sized bed and very clean bathroom. Breakfast is simple but enjoyable, and can be eaten on the pretty terrace overlooking Amalfi. The friendly owners were helpful and knowledgeable, and gave us a warm welcome. I would suggest asking for their help if parking a car, and bear in mind it's quite a walk so leave suitcases at the villa first!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was told 2 weeks before we were to stay there I had to have surgery for cancer. We contacted them right away, but we were still charged one night's stay plus 20% of a weeks stay. I understand that is their policy, but show some compassion. We would have loved to go, but could not. We booked this B&B thru Italia Booking and they took a percentage of the cancellation fee immediately after we notified them. Each one blamed the other for the charge. We were able to get all our money back from everywhere we were to stay including the airlines. They were the only ones who really could not care less. We were very much looking forward to this trip and would have been satisfied with a credit for a future trip, but that was never offered.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank themarshall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Prior to this, we had a couple of sleepless nights in Sorrento, so the tranquility here was a blessing. Just a short walk up the main street, we were close enough to the main part of town, yet far enough back to enjoy the solitude. The villa had an amazing view of both the town and of the mountains behind it. There is an elevator that goes from street level to the villa, which was truly a blessing!

When we arrived, we were treated to a complimentary cappuccino, and they stored our luggage until the official check-in time. When we did return from our day trip, our luggage was already in our room waiting. We were given bus and ferry times and possible sight seeing itineraries were suggested.

Friendly staff, excellent service, and a decent breakfast. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon and loved it! Its conveniently located less than 10 mins walk from the main square, but is far enough away to be quiet, The walk is very safe, and not at all 'shady' as in a previous review. The Annalara is situated part way up the valley side, so a convenient lift is located to take you from road level through a short tunnel. The tunnel is not accessible to the public.

We stayed in the Ciclamino room on the upper level with a small terrace. The room was nice, and the bed large. The views were fantastic down across Amalfi from the room terrace and also the breakfast terrace.

Breakfast was a simple self service continental style with cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, cereal etc, and delicious coffee made to order. The staff were very helpful, and we were given a bottle of wine on departure which was a nice touch. Payment by card is accepted, and receipts provided.

We would definitely stay here again!

we would no recommend taking a car to Amalfi. There's no need as the public transport is so good, and parking in the town is 20Euro/day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopergreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Annalara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Annalara

Property: Hotel Villa Annalara
Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Annalara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Annalara is located on a steep rock, "la Villa", suspended between the mountains and the sea, in the historical center, in a particularly suggestive position. Ideal place where you can revitalize your body and soul, offers relax and strong emotions. The lift will lead our customers on a big terrace, nestled in the green landscape made of lemon trees and age-old plants, surrounded by bougainvilleas, rhododendrons and geraniums. It is like a window on the charming panorama of Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Annalara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Annalara
Relais Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing