We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely, friendly, well located hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pergola Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly, well located hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our stay at La Pergola began with a lovely suprise of an upgrade to a room with a private terrace complete with sunbeds. On arrival in Amalfi we were awestruck by its beauty. The only downside being the amount of steps needed to take down to secluded beaches. The transport facilities to travel around the coast were amazing. Regular bus service which was easy to negotiate. Boats from the beach were regular and complimentary.

The hotel itself is a couple of kilometres outside Amalfi town but buses stop directly outside and will have you in the centre within 5 minutes. While we have stayed in more luxurious hotels this is more than made up for by the friendliness of the hotel staff, Sara & Danni in particular could not do enough to ensure our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. The rooms are clean and functional, no complaints there, and the breakfasts were continental style with a few added extras and were lovely. The owners too were always on hand to ensure the smooth running of the hotel and even gave us a small present on departure.

The hotel has parking facilities (at a cost of 10 Euros per day) but this is worth the investment. It is on a main road so there is some noise but it really isn't too intrusive, we can't imagine the noise levels of some of the hotels in Amalfi town! Opposite the hotel on what they call the "crossroads" is a small shop/bar with a pizzeria above. The views from the terrace are simply wondrful, the food is lovely and the portions are enormous and the prices are 50% cheaper than we found anywhere else. It doesn't look much from the outside but don't be put off or miss out.

All in all a great week at a great hotel in a great place. If you enjoy your week half as much as we did you will have a great time.

Mike & Lou

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    108
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
57
159
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Stayed here for 10 days and it was lovely. From our balcony we had a view of the sea and where we would swim. To access the beach (no pool) we walked 50m up the road and then down 300 steps to a pebbled beach. Where you pay 5 eruo for a banana lounge. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. There is no restaurant but a set breakfast is included, perhaps this could be changed every few days. The bus is outside the door and although it's supposed to be regular, it often went straight by. Its only a 30 min walk into Amalfi. The rooms are clean and roomy with a lovely area on the roof and you are surrounded by lemon trees - they produce their own lemoncello.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsesaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

La Pergola is a 5 to 10 min bus or taxi drive from Amalfi proper. After a day of hustle and bustle of Amalfi, La Pergola is an oasis of quiet. The food is very good and fresh, the rooms clean and the bar on the roof is an absolute delight, as it is situated under the lemon groves of the family farm. There are two exceptional rooms with large sunning areas. Daniele is an absolutely fantastic host. We stumbled across this hotel while on our honeymoon and was able to partake of a tour and home cooked meal. We will be certain to take a few days to stay at this hotel the next visit to the coast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kashmirohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

A great little family run hotel that is clean and has great home cooked food.

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at La Pergola for the second leg of our Anniversary holiday in September 2008. It was a pleasant, clean and friendly little hotel which I would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for somewhere right on the Amalfi Coast which is relatively inexpensive ( bearing in mind that many Amalfi hotels are very dear)
We arrived at La Pergola following 4 nights in a really posh hotel, which possibly made it seem a little more ordinary by comparison.
The room was a classed as " superior" , but I considered it to be very basic, with a bit of a wonky shower that kept falling off, and the room was rather dark. It was however clean and the bed was comfortable.
We could not have the terrace door/ windows open at night due to road noise ( the hotel is literally right on the coastal road, and as it's on a bend, most buses sound their horns as they approach)
Parking is available for about 10 Euros per day-essential as theres nowhere else to park there!
There is a small,beach across the road- be prepared for the long walk down- I think I lost count at about 300 steps!
The home made limoncello is not to be missed.

  • Liked — the staff were very pleasant and helpful
  • Disliked — the room was a bit gloomy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaNorthSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This hotel is wonderful. The service you receive from the owners, workers, etc is second to none. I have never been treated so well at a hotel in my life. I can't say enough about these people. I also will tell you that there is no reason to go anywhere else to eat as the food here is wonderful. The fish and tomato salad I had were excellent. The chocolate lava cake was the best I have probably had. I had walked up the road to eat at the pizza ristorante and the pizza was just ok. But, others told me that their pasta was very good. But why leave this hotel! I also ate at the Il Hotel Sareceno up the road with friends staying there and the food there was wonderful as well. But, not sure if they accomodate people from outside the hotel as I could not get a bill separate from my friends. My room was spacious and very clean. The only nitpick I have is that the road noice is intrusive. You can not sleep with the window open and I had diffculty with the AC getting the room cool enough. So staying here in the summer may be difficult, but dont let that deter you. Also, the hotel is in an inlet. You can see the sea from the hotel, but you are not right on the sea front. But, for the money, you can not beat this place. The hotel helped me get in a Pompeii tour at the last minute, get around on the bus, etc. No request was too small. Stay here, you won't be disappointed. I met a couple there and this was their second stay. They have many different types of rooms and they had a balcony with cover. So, just advise what type of room you need. If you need to get to this hotel, I do recommend taking a bus from the Naples airport to Sorrento and then the Sita bus right to the door of this hotel. Total cost 16Euros. You can also take a ferry from Naples to Amalfi and then a Sita bus to the hotel for about the same money. Maybe 18Euros. The ferries are more limited in their schedule, but are a bit faster. However, the ride from Naples to the hotel is a beautiful one. Took me about 3 hrs and 15 minutes from Naples via buses.

  • Liked — The staff! Also, easy to get to via bus.
  • Disliked — That it did not front the sea and the road noise.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYTraveler1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Great location just a mile from the main town. Regular buses outside every half hour or so make journey in quite easy.
A beach is also just outside although its a trying trip down stairs to get to it.
The hotel room itself (Superior) was clean as you'd want it with a great room. Only disappointment was that the balcony we had (room 15) did not have room for table and chairs as we thought and that the road outside was noisy. Traffic outside dies down at nightfall however and the buses don't beep their hooters when dark!
The breakfast was great, we always would fill ourselves up before heading out for the day and the staff were always available to help us with our annoying questions!
Great lemon sorbet too!

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Road outside.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marcymarc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#15 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola Hotel

Property: La Pergola Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 10, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pergola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Pergola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pergola
La Pergola Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing