We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pergola Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Suisse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good but not good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel was good, room ok for what we paid, clean. Breakfast was good, yet more variety would have been better. Location however wasn't so good, especially when you don't have a car, you need to take the bus. The last bus from Amalfi is 21h00, so very unpractical. Walking there from Amalfi was not recommended by hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    103
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
149
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I ran a school trip this April and we were based in this hotel. From start to finish the owner and his staff were simply wonderful - they could not do more to help us throughout our stay. All of the rooms were clean and with balconies. There is a small pool but it was not open during April. The hotel is a clear 3 star hotel and it is a good 20 minute walk from Sorrento. The meals that we were served as a school were basic but I imagine the quality of the food is different for individual guests. For anyone running a school trip here - an excellent choice and for other guests - a reasonable, reliable option just outside of Sorrento with simply wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is high and positioned to the right of the hotel as you look at it for a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citybreak17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights in september. Excellent hotel and very charming hosts, helpfull with all guests. The parking is situated nearby, and the hotel stuff managed to park as much cars/sqm as i never saw before. The bus station is right in the front of the hotel which is a major +. Excellent huge terasse overlooking the cliffs and sea. No easy beach access but perfect for exploring the coast. Would highly recommend and deffintively come back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank burdy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here and really liked this little hotel. It was a bagain after staying in Rome. The room I had was clean, large and had a great view with it's shared balconey. The staff were helpful and friendly. I believe it is a family run operation, with one of the staff mentioning that his Mother made the dinner meal. The meal itself was a little on the expensive side, but it was one of the best meals I had on my trip, with everything being made by a little Itallian Mother. I loved my stay here, but would only go back if I had my own transportation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were travelling by train so were reliant on local buses and our feet to get us around. Initially we thought we'd made a huge mistake booking this hotel, especially when we glimpsed it when we past it on the bus to Amalfi. Our mistake turned into a huge bonus. The bus service was frequent, if crowded, especially on the afternoon buses when students are going home from school, and serves all the villages. We enjoyed our trip up to the hill town of Pogerola. The walking trail into Amalfi was very steep at the start, but very interesting to glimpse gardens and share greetings with locals. We walked quite fast, but it took us more like 45 minutes rather than the 20 someone else quoted. The hotel had a country feel about it, with the sounds of the occasional rooster in the mornings. We extended our stay to 6 nights. Others have mentioned the friendly staff, which is a stand out feature of this hotel. We got the impression that they actually cared about their guests' comfort and well being.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is extremely picturesque and all the rooms face out onto the road which offers you stunning views of the Amalfi coast as the pictures attached show. The rooms are well appointed in a traditional chic Italian style that doesn’t feel like mass produced hotel furniture and the rooms stay cool and quiet thanks to thick walls and shutters. This is a family run hotel and the owners or staff, Sara and Daniel were extremely helpful in every way.
Upon arrival we asked Sara what she would recommend, within 5 minutes we had a 3 day packed itinerary and it was one we were not disappointed with, we were offered the best places to Visit in the area, view the sunset and eat/drink, park and drive, we had a car and as such the chance to drive everywhere, which I would recommend, but it is not for the faint hearted, you will find if driving your heart in your mouth quite often. One of Sara’s recommendations, Ravello, was one of the highlights of our visit, such a stunning town, nestled in the mountains and offering stunning views of the coast, but it is quite high up so lots of hills etc, but so is the whole coast. Also if you want to dry a different drink, ask Daniel for a “Daneil Spritz” much better than the local spritz, and Daniel is a lot of fun too.
After reading some of the reviews about Noise etc we were a little worried it would be too noisy, but to be honest we noticed very little. The hotel is located on a picturesque bridge and Italians will sometimes honk their horn when crossing, although there are signs saying please don’t, but this is not a problem.
Overall the décor, staff , location, views and food in the hotel were great, breakfast is included and is of course traditional cold Italian/continental European food, there is an amazing Pizza place within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and the price is also great, we loved it so much we are seriously thinking about revisiting it someday.

Room Tip: If you are driving, pay for their car-park, its private and underground, do not try park on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Welcoming, helpful staff. Large, well-appointed rooms. Easy bus connections to Amalfi and other towns, and to walking paths - several of which can be reached on foot from the hotel, as can Amalfi town itself quite easily. Away from the crowds and touristic atmosphere of the towns, thus quiet with good sea vistas from the terraces. Especially good buffet breakfast. All this at an excellent price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomwayfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola Hotel

Property: La Pergola Hotel
Address: via Giovanni Augustariccio 10, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pergola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Pergola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pergola
La Pergola Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing