We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little family owned and operated hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pergola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Pergola Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little family owned and operated hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a small hotel which is spotlessly clean, with very good front desk people, Sara and Mario, who both speak English and who are very helpful. On the main road with a bus stop at the door, and regular buses passing in either direction to Amalfi or Positano and Sorrento in the other direction.The hotel is quite new, and all rooms are at the front with a sea view, as it is built into the cliff face. There is a lemon grove at the top of the hotel where the owners live.Breakfast was good, although no hot food. The restaurant will serve you a choice of two dinner menus if you book and choose in the morning. The owner's wife is the cook. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. There is an elevator, which is a bonus, so you won't have to drag the suitcases up endless stairs. Parking is available onsite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeetGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    115
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
168
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel La Pergola is a superb place to position yourself for exploring Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii and other destinations. It is a 20 minute walk into Amalfi or alternatively the bus stops outside the hotel. Fantastic views- ask for top floor with sea views and you will not be disappointed. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and kept that way each day with clean towels daily. It is worth booking an evening meal here as it is home cooked by family members and very nice. Prices for coffees, wine etc are all lower than nearby bar. Book the combined Pompeii, Volcano trip from reception for best deal on seeing those sights. The terrace is lovely for relaxing and watching the hectic hairpin bend roads of the Amalfi coastline and people weaving their way through the coastline.
Book up and enjoy if you want to explore Almalfi for reasonable price and high level welcome.

Room Tip: Top floor, sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor, we set out for this hotel full of hope. If you don't want to read any more, then here's a potted version: you'll love this hotel if you're hard of hearing, you enjoy walking up and down hills and you're rich.

We are a couple in our 40s, and we wanted to go to the Italian Riviera for just a few nights for a break once the kids had gone back to school. We got an early morning flight to Naples on a Sunday in September. To get to the hotel we had to take a bus, a train, a two-and-a-half hour coach ride on bendy, narrow mountain roads and a taxi. I still don't know if this was the most direct route; I had emailed the hotel twice to ask in advance and didn't receive a reply. (And there's very little timetable information available on the internet.)

Our room was nice, but despite paying for a deluxe one, I suspect it wasn't. I think those are on the first and second floors. Ours was on the third floor and very clean but a bit dingy. The verandah area on the roof was a bit unkempt but pleasant enough, and we enjoyed climbing up to the top of the lemon terraces.

The first night was very hot, and air conditioning seems to affect my throat badly, so we slept with the windows open and the louvred shutters closed. Mistake! The hotel is on a busy mountain road, and every time a bus goes round a corner it sounds its klaxon to warn other drivers coming the other way. And the scooters buzz all through the night, stepping up in the morning. And there was a dog howling all night, which set off the other dogs on the hillside. And a cockerel. And - the last straw - a car with a megaphone driving to and fro, advertising something in excitable Italian. Closing the windows helped diminish the noise so we slept with the aircon on from then on; a sore throat is better than no sleep. But it was impossible to get the temperature just right...

The staff seemed very nice. It's a family-run hotel; the mama cooks the supper, but you have to let them know first thing in the morning if you want dinner that night, which involves making a decision you might later want to change but can't. The breakfast was the same boring thing again and again and again, nothing was cooked, no eggs or anything.

We didn't hire a car as we weren't there long enough (4 nights) to justify the expense, so we were dependent on public transport. What a mistake. They reckoned the tourist season was over (it most definitely wasn't) and so there were only a few buses, which used to sail past as they were full. The last bus from Amalfi up to the hotel was at 9pm, far too early, so we had to walk the 2 miles or so in pitch black with no pavements for protection from the oncoming traffic most of the time. And the buses going down the hill earlier in the evening were extremely unreliable, didn't run to the timetable, and we were in a permanent state of not knowing whether we'd just missed one or were going to have to wait an hour for one to turn up.

One thing I can recommend: one day we decided to go to the beach. After much questioning of the staff, and several false starts in the opposite direction, we discovered that if you went to the nearest beach - which involved going down about 400 very VERY steep steps, my legs were shaking by the end and my boyfriend couldn't hardly walk the next day - then a chap called Antonio would come in his boat to pick you up and take you to a smaller beach round the corner. If the hotel asked him, that is, and this service was free. Apparently the smaller beach is nicer and cheaper, we didn't find this to be the case as the sun loungers were the same price (E15) on both. And the bigger one looked better for swimming. There's no sand, just rocks and stones. It was a nice day, however. We couldn't face climbing back up those steps though, and so Antonio took us to Amalfi and we got the bus back.

If I were forced to stay here again (!), I would definitely hire a car and go exploring. Amalfi itself is very touristy and very expensive - dinner for two (starters, meat main and pasta main, half carafe of wine and no dessert or coffee) came to E70, which we thought was very pricey for average food. We were going to visit Capri but the ferry was too expensive, and we couldn't face the bus difficulties of trying to go anywhere else. We did do the open top bus to Maiori and Minori, which was nice. (Next time we'd stay somewhere in Maiori, which was much closer to our idea of the Italian Riviera.)

But I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. We found it expensive for what it was, noisier than the reviews on here had given us to believe, and very difficult to get to and from. Dinner was good, and it was clean, and the staff were OK, but I wouldn't go back.

PS There is no wi-fi in the bedrooms, just a very ancient laptop (which you couldn't sell on eBay) for guest use of 15 mins per day only. One day we came down to notice that they were handing out the wi-fi password, inexplicably. Not good for those who like/have to stay in touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked a trip to the Amalfi Coast very last minute and checked into the La Pergola Hotel close to Amalfi. We were very well looked after and the evening meals were very good cooked. We were able to park our hire car at the hotel and we had a nice room overlooking the sea.

A nice place to stay without breaking the budget and would certainly go back if my wife and I were in the area.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned back to UK and had to write this as a way of thankyou for the fantastic service offered by this great little hotel,ALL staff very very friendly and so helpful with a great sense of humour.Very clean and comfortable,will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A little ways outside of the town of Amalfi is La Pergola Hotel. It was nice to get out of the town after a day of exploring. The first nice thing was that the hotel has a small parking garage available to guests for a small fee...do not underestimate the importance of this! The service was friendly and helpful. Our room was charming and had a balcony with a gorgeous view. There is also the Lemon Terrace up on the roof that is large and relaxing and surrounded by the terraced gardens typical to the Amalfi area. When we wanted to go to dinner, the hotel called one of the nearby restaurants to have them send a car to get us. This was fantastic, since you do not want to access your car until you are ready to go somewhere else. The restaurant we visited was a little pricey, but totally worth it for the quality of the food and the service...and the view! I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelia199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with very customer friendly staff. Our experience from the moment we arrived was great. It's a scary drive along the amalfi coast so we parked the car for the few days and used the buses as recommended by the staff - very helpful with best value tickets and ideas as to where we must see. Very good value for money and evening dinner was traditional Italian home cooked. Would be happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishfoodieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
1.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#19 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola Hotel

Property: La Pergola Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 10, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pergola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Pergola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pergola
La Pergola Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing