We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved Hotel Floridiana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Floridiana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Loved Hotel Floridiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

This was a great find. The hotel deserved the award they won from Tripadvisor for being one of the best-valued hotels in the world. The rooms, with lots of silk, look like they were recently redecorated. Two of us had a “superior” room, and the other two ladies stayed in a suite. The suite is a duplex with a private whirlpool tub on the upper level; the suite is an incredible value. The bathrooms in both rooms were modern and dramatic with blue tinted light. They provide tissues in the bathrooms -- something I rarely see in Europe outside an American style hotel. Agnese and Eva were both wonderful hosts. Breakfast was good and is served in a beautiful room. A computer is located in the breakfast room where you may access the internet at no charge. I was expecting to be woken up each morning by the church bells, but the windows are soundproofed well enough that I didn't hear them. Note that there are some steep steps leading to the hotel, but if you're on the Amalfi Coast, you should be prepared for steps regardless. Our favorite restaurant in Amalfi was Il Teatro...worth the effort to find it up an alley, but not far from the hotel. The food was quite good (especially the pizza) and was reasonably priced. If you are there on Sunday, I suggest you take the tour of Amalfi that was recommended by Agnese...I found it worthwhile. If you don't take the tour, be sure to stop into the cathedral and go down to the museum and crypt.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    57
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
314
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

There is a reason that Hotel Floridiana is TripAdvisor's #1 rated hotel in Amalfi. It is wonderful in every way, and a true bargain. It is perfectly located, only steps (quite literally -- it is two short flights of stone stairs up) from the Piazza Duomo, the medieval town square. The hotel is lovely, with an ornate breakfast room, comfortable front lobby, and charming, well-appointed rooms. My husband and I stayed for three nights the week after Easter, and fell in love with Amalfi and with Hotel Floridiana.

Our room was on two levels, with a comfortable queen-size bed, shower-only bathroom (but with bidet, of course), a writing desk, TV and refrigerator/mini-bar downstairs, and a loft sitting area (with fold-out bed) that led out to our private balcony. The front desk staff are amazingly friendly, knowledgeable, and are fluent in English. Both Agnese and Eva are terrific -- I truly can't say enough nice things about them both. Don't hesitate to ask for daytrip advice, dining recommendations, or just to chat with them.

While we were in Amalfi, we visited the towns of Ravello, Positano, and Atrani. We did not have a car, and I would strongly recommend not doing your own driving -- the Amalfi Drive is only for drivers with nerves of steel! But both the bus system (SITA) and the ferries are convenient and run frequently, and Amalfi is a major transportation hub.

We feel that Amalfi was the perfect home base to explore the Amalfi Coast. (We started our vacation with two nights in Naples and ended with two nights in Capri.) Amalfi is compact and not hilly like picturesque Positano. And if you do decide to stay in Amalfi, definitely reserve a room at Hotel Floridiana!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kochel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

My husband and I are lucky enough live in Italy and we stayed in this hotel for a quick weekend trip to Amalfi. This is by far the best hotel we've stayed at in Italy! We had a junior suite (with jacuzzi) and thought the extra 20 euro a night was well worth it. The room had a second floor with a sitting area, the jacuzzi, and half bathroom. The second floor gave the room that extra something to open it up more and make it really special. The floors were tiled, and the room was directed in a beautiful blue and orange/gold theme.
The bathroom was simply wonderful! It was huge by any standard, and made even more so with what we are used to getting by with in Italian/European hotels. The shower had a sliding door, stone floor and tiled walls and had great water pressure.
Just so your expectations aren't TOO high- the bed is very hard but this is true of every single hotel we have stayed at in Europe, including some high end ones. The headboard also looked a bit incongruous in the room and the comforter appeared a bit shabby, but everything else was spotless.
Hotel also just started a free English tour of the town (possibly just once a week on Sunday though I can't be sure since we were only there a couple days; also cannot say how long this will last). Guide was very good, spoke English very well... I believe I heard him say he was part of the historical society. Everyone tipped him generously at the end, but it was still the cheapest tour I've ever taken and worth every penny. Increased my enjoyment of Amalfi much more than if I had just read the same old facts written in the tour books.
The directions provided in the confirmation email were right on- we had no troubles at all finding the garage and hotel. It is just off the main street and piazza, but far enough in that you don't get any of the noise. I think I counted 28 steps from the main street to the hotel door. About half of these stairs are pretty hefty- about a foot and a half tall- but you have to climb stairs in Amalfi!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GatorGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Just wanted to say thanks to TripAdvisor for this one. What a great place and all the positive reviews here are true. Can't say enough about it. I'd like to go back and stay longer. My only tip, you must go to Ravello for a day, it too is a don't miss. I don't normally post reviews about things but the service and hospitality of the staff at the Floridiana was so excellent that it spurred me on. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ds_saskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Charmign little hotel in Amalfi. The location is superb. Just 2 mintue walk from the main square. Very nice staff. Consulted with them on many things, and they gladly helped. Price was very reasonable - payed ~80Euro per night.
Bed was very comfortable, room very bright and full of sunshine. Ask the reception for advice and recommended restaurants - they have some very good tips for off the beaten tourist track places.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Don_beneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Floridiana in October this year and had a fantastic time. We stayed for 3 nights in the Junior suite and would recommend it to anyone staying in or around Amalfi. The directions were great and the drive from Naples was beautiful, we arrived mid afternoon on a Friday and the traffic was fine.

Upon arrival we were greated by name, with Prossecco in our room and lovely lotions next to the jacuzzi. At all times we were treated like family and we loved every second of it. I could get very used to a jacuzzi with a glass of prossecco of an evening! The bathroom was awsome, I am thinking of putting some blue nights in mine as i loved the look so much. The minibar was great, very reasonable, prossecco for 2euro a mini bottle.

The only thing I would say is that the buffet was not brilliant, but the coffee was lovely. To be honest though the food is so good in the region that you dont want to be full for lunch!

If anyone has any questions please feel free to get in touch!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

The roads getting into town were a little nerve racking, however the drive was beautiful and worth it.
The hotel parking (was free) but again the roads are narrow. The hotel gives excellent directions.
The hotel is located in the town square next to the cathedral, many restaurants and shops. It is also just a one minute walk to the sea where there are beautiful beaches and views. All the public transportation (buses and ferries) are also close and convenient.
The staff was warm friendly and extremely helpful.
The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable, I couldn't have asked for more.
This hotel was definitely worth the price, and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Amalfi.

  • Liked — The location was perfect and the staff was excellant
  • Disliked — There were no views from the room as the hotel is in town.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Property: Floridiana Hotel
Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing