We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Floridiana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floridiana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great central location, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Floridiana for 5 nights while we took in the sights of the Amalfi coast. For us, the location was perfect. We were right in the central square, two minutes walk to the beach, the ferries, taxis and buses. And, we were steps away from wonderful restaurants, gelaterias, pasticherias and shops. Agnese and her staff could not have been more welcoming or more helpful to us. They made reservations for our travel back to Rome, helped us reserve a boat trip to Capri, guided us to several great restaurants, instructed us on the buses and ferries we should take for our planned activities, and more. The breakfasts were wonderful, featuring everything from the freshest pastries, to yogurts, cereal, eggs and, of course, coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameson477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    62
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
328
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for the first four nights of our two week holiday in Italy in May. Although Hotel Floridiana is 3 star and our other hotels were 4 star, this hotel definately outshone the others.

The good (and bad) points:
1. The room: the room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a great bathroom and shower. Initially we were disappointed as it was right beside reception. This turned out not to be an issue as the hotel was very quiet. However our room overlooked a lane leading to a mini-market, and this could be noisy early in the morning. The room also had a mini-bar and a safe, both of which were very useful. Slippers too! There was also good WI-FI coverage (possibly due to the proximity of reception).
2. Location: Right in the centre of Amalfi, perfect location (hence no view). Amalfi is small, you could easily get a hotel with a sea view that was a very short walk away. However you will pay a significantly higher price for these (we checked).
3. Service: Excellent. We arrived after a twelve hour trip from Dublin and received a warm and friendly greeting - and also a glass of wine - from Agnes. She was very helpful with any query we had. Every morning at breakfast she checked in with each table. If you didn't want to talk (like us), she would move on. If you wanted to chat, she would stay. On our first night we brought a bottle of wine back to the room, and drank the wine out of the plastic glasses provided. The next day we found wine glasses in the room after it was serviced. This was a really nice touch, which we greatly appreciated. We also got an iron & ironing board for use in the room when we requested it - none of our 4 star hotels did as much (one had an ironing room, another offered to iron for us and the third said we'd have to send out - what is it with Italian hotels and irons??)
4. Facilities: Breakfast looked fine but not to our taste. The hotel has a roof terrace - this is a big plus, which we didn't fully appreciate until we stayed in all the hotels that didn't have one. If you can't afford a room with a good balcony, this is a great alternative.


Before we arrived in Amalfi, we wondered if four days was too much. As it turned out, we wanted to stay longer, depite the fact that it rained for half of it. Don't miss Ravello. We took the bus up to Ravello and walked down to Amalfi - would recommend this. Also don't count on the boats running if the sea is the slightest bit rough.

Room Tip: We flew into Naples. It's not easy to get to Amalfi, but we took the bus from right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marshalls25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Upon immediate arrival at Hotel Floridiana in Amalfi, we knew we chose well. Agnese, our innkeeper could not have been more welcoming if she were a long-lost relative. The hotel is just what you need to escape the tourist chaos of the Amalfi Coast. Once inside, the hotel is peaceful, calm, and squeaky clean. The rooms are well-appointed with gorgeous ceramics made for the hotel by a local artist and the bathrooms are far larger than typical Italian baths.

The staff at the hotel are lovely people, prepared to accommodate your every need. Thank you, Agnese, Marina, Eva, and the evening gentlemen for caring for us during our short vacation. Ci vediamo ancora!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortigia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

It's nice and cosy but I wasn't that impressed, I guess because I had really high expectations for it after such brilliant reviews on tripadvisor. Central location with free parking which was fabulous. Breakfast - simple italian and really nice. Church bells rather loud but didn't disturb me too much. I guess the dinner recommendations were a bit of a mess, one day their recommended a restaurant which was closed and the next day the place with fabulous pizzas actually had only house wine (and a pretty horrible, the worst italian wine I ever tried). This hotel has a really nice terrace with fabulous views and jacuzzi - but you are not allowed to up the temperature of the water in jacuzzi and water was pretty cold so we didn't even try to use it. Otherwise, my boyfriend loved this hotel more than me and it seems people like it a lot. So, try it, you might love it too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eglutik35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Floridiana Hotel In May 2012. We spent one night here. We were greated by Eva, who is absolutely lovely, friendly and helpful. We had a deluxe room. The room was clean and had a lovely tall window. The bathroom was recently renovated and very modern. The upstairs area had a jacuzzi and a nice breakfast table. Overall we were very happy with our room. The dining room is really lovely with a painted ceiling and a nice spread of food. One of the greatest things: This hotel has a daily "free" tour/excursion available for guests. We happened to be there on a Friday, where the excursion was a free walking tour of Ravello. The tour took us through churches, parks, and scenic overlooks. It also gave us the history of the town as well as Amalfi. This was a wonderful perk for guests of the hotel and I strongly encourage you to consider taking advantage of it! Overall our stay was lovely and we were very happy!

Room Tip: Try a room on the 1st floor (which is the top floor of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The friendliest staff with Agnese being the most delightful host.Breakfast was beautiful with the wonderful chef standing waiting for orders help-also discreet and lovely cleaning staff. This was our first stop in Italy and it was worth every minute of travel from K.L. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff even the extremely strong men who carried our heavy suitcases on their shoulders through tunnels and up stairs...Thankyou Agnese for an unforgettable beginning to our holiday.

Room Tip: Junior suite with spa helpful if you have travelled a fair distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The title says it all.
We had a junior suite, in a very friendly hotel, with lovelystaff in a perfect location.
Car parking service is excellent, and room facilities great.
After the stress of driving there; the coast road is not easy, we where treated to a welcome drink.
What I don't get is why they charge 50 cents for a tea bag in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Property: Floridiana Hotel
Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing