We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
ST CATHARINES
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We wanted easy access to town and ferry docks and this hotel gave us both besides having a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. Once you got to reception there was an elevator to all floors. Our room was very nice, clean and had a extra small room before entering our bedroom that was very handy. The staff was very friendly and helpful and there was a small but varied buffet breakfast provided.

Room Tip: We loved to watch activity from our Seaview balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    117
    57
    34
    27
See reviews for
58
140
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel stay was excellent, you could not ask for a better location, right in the centre of everything. The room overlooked the main square and at night it can get a bit noisy but you have to expect this right in the heart of the town. We slept very well and the rooms were very clean and comfy.

The staff are very helpful and polite. Breakfast was continental and it was good, a real treat if you like cake! But there was a good selection of yoghurts fresh baked pastries, cheese, ham etc..

I would stay here agin a gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Sea will be quieter. We loved the room overlooking the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 128Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a gem. This was such a gorgeous surprise. The rooms need a little updating but as you only sleep in them, they are clean and comfy and more than adequate. When you open your curtains and step on to your "little" balcony, you would think your in heaven. The rooms at the back of the hotel directly overlook the main square. Side rooms have a bit of both, the square and the port, the front rooms overlook the port. You couldnt get a better placed hotel. There is a breakfast area at reception level which is basic but nice. They do make you lovely machine coffee which is a bonus. Included in our rooms were free dinner (food only). The hotel has a restaurant directly underneath them which is very nice and you can sit in the square, have your meal and watch the buzz around you. It is as pretty at night as it is during the day. Beautiful. Bus termini at the port right out the front to take you sightseeing. Lovely trip to Ravello (gorgeous place) on the open top buses and worth the ride. Everywhere you look is another OMG moment. From the port, catch a ferry to Positano. OMG, another beautiful place worth visiting. After our time in Amalfi, we moved to Isle of Capri, Anacapris. We didn't think anything could be lovlier than Amalfi. Boy were we wrong.
L & S, Perth WA

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbalooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Fontana for 3 nights in June 2014. It was a little hard to find the entrance to the hotel. It's on the side of the building, through the arch from the main road, then up a steep staircase to the lobby. It was a little difficult carrying our luggage up that staircase! There was an elevator from the lobby up to the rooms. We had requested sea-side rooms after reading reviews that the piazza side of the hotel was very noisy. Our seaside rooms were great - basic, but very large, with a nice little balcony, overlooking the sea. We had no noise problems at all! The staff at the hotel was great, very nice and helpful. Breakfast was included, and was a typical European breakfast. The fresh, homemade croissants were huge and delicious!! The hotel was right on the main piazza in Amalfi, what a great location! We just walked out the door and were in the middle of everything, and just across the street from the beach! This hotel was very reasonably priced for Amalfi. We paid 110 Euros per night. The only negative, was that they charged a fee for Wi-Fi, and it was only available in the lobby. Parking was available in the new underground parking garage just outside of town, which we paid for, but it was a good option for parking in Amalfi. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room on the sea side of the hotel, it's much quieter on that side than on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italy_Lover_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hôtel was fantastic and the room lovely and spacious. The room was nice to rest in after being out exploring this beautiful area of Italy. The noise is a small price to pay for the central location and being part of the busyness of the square below. Breakfast was included and was good. Helpful staff and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie66nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Fontana for a week. The hotel is centrally placed and our room has furnished very nicely. It has very high ceilings and a small lounge area and two balconies. I enjoyed my drink at the balcony after our LONG walks when we get back to hotel.
The receptionist Luana spoke excellent English and was very informative - buses, trains, directions etc. She should be working at the tourist office they were useless! I liked Amalfi and our walks around the area I would stay again at the Hotel Fontana maybe not for a week!

The hotel is centrally placed but the view of the sea does not compensate for the traffic.It was noisy early in morning untill late in the evening. We got used to it after couple of days or we were very tired because of our long walks just went to sleep and we did not hear the noise. But I still think it is a great hotel but they need to brighten up their breakfast room and far too much cakes!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GezginMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've just spent 5 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We are already planning our next trip to Amalfi and would hope to stay at the Hotel Fontana again.

The room was clean and spacious with two balconies - one looking over the Cathedral steps and the other over a side street. The breakfast was delicious each morning and all the staff were very friendly.

This hotel is right in the main square of Amalfi. This makes it a perfect location for exploring, everything is literally on the doorstep. The only downside of this that it can be quite noisy until late in the evening. The Cathedral bells ring every morning from 7am. For the first morning this was quite annoying but by the second day I'd learnt to sleep through.

The bells are the only reason I've given this a 4, instead of 5 star review. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, easily disturbed by noise, I'd suggest asking for a sea view and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#25 of 29 in Amalfi
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing