We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Handy to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #29 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Handy to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Little hard to find after an exciting bus trip from Salerno but really happy with our choice. The rooms were quite large, very comfortable bed and good air-conditioning. Ensuite was very small and had to walk in sideways for the toilet but all round a great hotel. The double glazing stopped most of the noise from the main square and black out curtains where great! Staff very friendly and helpful. Cathedral Bells 1st thing in the morning were challenging but you do get used to them.

Room Tip: Try for water view as guests said it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobby12GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    107
    50
    32
    23
See reviews for
51
125
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is right in the main action, actually a handy location. We had a couple of rooms, all clean and tidy buta bit dated.
The staff that speak English are great and very helpfu. Beware the standard advice. Where is such and such restaraunt? it's up the road 200 meters on the right. Where is the laundry? it's up the road 200 meters on the left. Where isthe information centre? It's up the road 200 meters on the left. Notsure if the answer were the result of limited English or head no idea of distances.

Anyway great place to stay, but beware the bells on Sunday morning they start very early on just dont stop.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a water view, away from the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 496MikeH496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were driving and this Hotel is hard to find but once you do it is very central, across the road from the beach and you are in the main Square. Our room was nice, just standard but it was clean, large and with a balcony we also faced the sea, bed was hard and the pillows flat. I did peek into some of the other rooms and they were not nearly as nice as ours. Because of where our room was positioned we did not have a problem with noise but if you overlooked the square you might have a big problem.
Breakfast was very basic and I got the impression that the cakes they put out, which is the main breakfast, get put out each morning till they get eaten!
You have to pay for WIFI 3 euro an hour and only in the lounge room and only when the staff have the time to connect you. This was frustrating because unlike all the other towns on the coast Amalfi didn't have free WIFI in the restaurants and bars.
Car parking is 18 Euro a day. I found some of the reception staff a bit abrupt.
I would not actually stay at Amalfi, Positana, Sorrento and the Isle of Capri and much less expensive

Room Tip: if you can book a room which faces the sea or take ear plugs Stay in one of the other towns which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Fontana has two great assets.
First, a perfect location facing the sea on one side and the Cathedral Square on the other. Both sides can be a bit noisy in the evening, but the balcony windows are well soundproofed, and the air conditioning is very effective.
Secondly, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Thank you Taddeo and Luana for making our stay so enjoyable!
The room was simple but clean, with a balcony, good-sized tiled bathroom and a nice high ceiling. The decor is a bit dated but interesting in a funky sort of way. Our only reservation is the lackluster breakfast – mostly cakes and pies and pastries. Not much really nourishing.
But we liked the Fontana and recommend it to others who prefer personal charm over impersonal luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seaside are less noisy in the late evenings but more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Amalfi is a lovely little town and having looked at the rest of the coast and the prices, this is the best location. We had a seaview room which looks down on the busy carpark and out to sea. The hotel was clean and I would recommend this hotel for its location and price. We hired a car for the week and drove from Naples airport to Amalfi (not for the faint hearted!). We arranged parking with the hotel when we got there, which was very reasonable and Andrea picked up our car in the morning and collected it at night - a great service. We took a boat a Positano for the day to take a rest from driving.
We travelled the first week of May . The weather was surprisingly beautiful and warm!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room facing the sea was large with a confortable bed. The view is outstanding. The room was very clean, the breakfast was excellent and overall service well intended. The location is right downtown Amalfi with quick access to buses for your adventures on the coast. Visit and ride to Ravello is worth it (tip: walk back down to Amalfi (1.5 hours) for out of the world views. Restaurants are nextdoor. The Cathedral and St-Andrea cript is a must. For the price, a great deal.

Room Tip: Visit and ride to Ravello is worth it (tip: walk back down to Amalfi (1.5 hours) for out of the worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice hotel with loads of history dating back centuries; centrally located looking over the Piazzo and with rooms looking out over the sea. Suitable for families as well with a child friendly staff. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harwoods8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#16 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#25 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antica Repubblica
Hotel Antica Repubblica
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing