We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic staff & Spectacular view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic staff & Spectacular view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's almost year since I was there, but fond memories of wonderful service provided by extremely caring manager and owners daughter was reason we spent 2 extra nights in the hotel. Since hotel is 10 minutes walk away from city centre and we were traveling with our 4 year old daughter, hotel manager went out of his way to pick up and drop us in his personal car. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which has a amazing sea view and a huge cup of best Cappuccino in amalfi. Since Internet was free of charge, it was great to chat with family back home after the day trips. Rooms were always neat and tidy, no issues in the bathroom too.
If you can walk for 10 minutes to reach city centre, this hotel is heaven in amalfi. (No pain no gain:). If you have a rental car, you cant go wrong. I had an option to go to different hotel on my first night but once you feel the comfort and cordial attention given by the manager, you will definitely come back to the hotel.
On the whole 100% satisfied, provided us with a transfer to Salerno to catch train to Venice. Excellent hotel*****service! If I ever come back to amalfi, I know my place to stay:)

Room Tip: Room with the terrace has the best view, spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    107
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
173
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here during low season. Most of the hotels in the area were closed, and there were very few guests at this hotel. So thankful to the owners for keeping this lovely hotel open during the low season! The staff was helpful and friendly. The tasteful decor is characteristic of this area. The town of Amalfi is nearby and you do not need to walk along the road for most of it, there is a nice walking path down some steps. The hotel's solarium roof deck has chairs and an amazing view of Amalfi. Breakfast is standard and cappuccino is delicious. The breakfast room has that beautiful view again! Wifi, parking, all included. The room had a lovely balcony too, and good choice of TV stations!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view. There is an elevator so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for five night, all very good, excellent staff, very nice and helpful in giving directions and advice, and the pathway to downtown (around 400m) is pleasant with a very beatiful view of the Amalfi coast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a comfy hotel with modest price. We tried two rooms during our five day stay at the hotel. First, we booked a basic room with balcony and free wi-fi. Everything was ok, except that the water heating broke down in the bathroom. But staff were really understandig and we get a much bigger and nicer room, and what's more, price reduction!
Breakfast is excellent, they serve not only Italian sweets, but cereals, hams, cheese, yoghurt and fresh fruit, as well!
Thanks and reccommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamari75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

employees are friendly and were happy to have known in English. the hotel room is clean and nice designed. view is the balcony of the room was so nice. bed was very comfortable, breakfast poor. a little bit away from the city center, walking the roads are dangerous, should get a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefretediyorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms (1 standard/1 superior) in May for a late Sep 2012 four night stay. One would expect with the advance reservation and length of stay we would receive their best rooms. We received rooms 5 (sub-standard) and 12 (super unclean and dated).

The "balcony" off room 5 is so small you can hardly turn around on. You are actually UNABLE to see the balcony or its window from the room because it is behind the closet.

Room 12 had a lovely balcony but the tub/shower was moldy and disgusting. There was a refrigerator but when you leave the room (with your room key) the electrical power is cut off so nothing will stay cold unless you stay in your room the entire time. The door to our refrigerator was hanging off one hinge. The tub and shower in the bathroom of room 12 are absolutely disgusting. Light bulbs above our bathroom mirror were missing or nonfunctioning. The floor was filthy - I wore socks always on the tile floors because of the dirt and had to change my socks continually.

We read they had an in-room safe (apparently so safe we couldn't locate it) and non-smoking which we did not observe either. Smoke poured into our rooms from the neighbors. The breakfast was boring and the same day after day. THERE IS NO ONSIGHT RESTAURANT - only a continental breakfast. The parking garage was a great convenience - but having our car repeatedly moved no matter where it was left in the garage or outside (you must leave your car keys with the manager) and its radio station, volume, seat placement & air-conditioning changed for no apparent reason was concerning!

When I tried to discuss our concerns with Michael he suddenly was unable to understand my English and made no attempt to compensate us. One last note - the night we checked in one of our room keys did not work. When we reported it to the front desk - he gave us the MASTER key --- so we could have entered any room we wanted at any time. NICE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjjohnson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Good value and great views. The walk back from Amalfi town isn't so bad, and late in the evening 10 euros gets you a 2 minute cab ride home. No real bar or pool but clean comfy rooms are a bonus in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing