We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel for a stay in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a stay in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while travelling in southern Italy. The hotel is at a walking distance from the city center and it has a free parking lot. The rooms are very clean and they all overlook the ocean. The view is spectacular and there are no words to describe what you see when you open the door to the terrace in the morning. While there's not much to see in the city of Amalfi, it is still well located in the center of the Amalfi coast and you can travel easily to the other towns along the coast. I remember finding this hotel by chance as we did not book ahead of time, and it was just across the street from an expensive 4* hotel located on the cliff. This hotel gives you the same amazing view for a much cheaper price and you have everything you need there. Great place.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view and there are only 15 rooms so it is small and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlomit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    105
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
172
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel ll Nido in October 2011. The hotel is very well situated ; on the coast with spectacular views, and closer to the main town. We particularly enjoyed the location of the hotel since it was right in front of the Adriatic and we can get an amazing view of the town. Of all the towns in Italy, we enjoyed Amalfi very much. It's very quaint and yet very lively and right on the ocean. The hotel itself is good. Have a great lobby which also serves as a breakfast room, hosting a breathtaking view and a lot of sunlight. The rooms themselves were okay, we found them good enough for our needs ; however, the location of the balcony was fabulous.

The town center is not too far , if you decide to take a taxi , make sure not to give more 10 euros. Breakfast is great!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uasindhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Hard to knock this place as we paid £60 a night. Small, quiet decent location to town and view to die for. Got the train from naples to salerno (get regional for £4 each - takes an hour) hoped to get a boat from Amalfi but they stop in from November - got the bus again £4 each - takes 75 mins. Be aware that the trip is hair raisng on the windy roads. Got to Amalfi and was immediately ripped of by a taxi driver who charged us 10 euro for a 5 min trip. Room was clean, dated shower though but other than that all ok. Breakfast was basic continental. Only moan was the pillows were solid which is often the case. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk up the hill which can we testing for the dodgy hipped or unfit. Amalfi is stunning - not a great deal to do other than eat and drink but hey. Went to Minori and Miaori - waste of time. Would highly recommend Ravello which was stunning and especially the Villa Cimbrone absolutely stunning - amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v1ctim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed there with my wife and we had an excellent time there. The view is marvelous, romantic, great breakfast. The rooms are not too big, but the beds are large and comfortable, I believe all rooms have a large balcony where you can enjoy a great sunset, a nice view to Amalfi while having a glass of wine.
The staff is friendly and helped us to book dinner in restaurants, recommended places to eat and things to do. Francesca at the front desk spent 20 minutes giving us ideas and telling us about Amalfi, while most people just hand you a map and say "we are here the bus stop is here".
The hotel is 1 kilometer from the city and that is an inconvenient if you don't like to walk, but it is a easy walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel was the best hotel we stayed in in Italy. We had a superior room with a large balcony looking out over the water. The room was well appointed and the family running he hotel were very obliging and helpful. Although the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Amalfi it was worth it. There are a number of ways to get to and from town, but try not to use the taxis, we were charged 15 Euro for the 500 metre drive when we arrived in Amalfi.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed throughout. The breakfast was exceptional.

Would most definitely stay there again.


If you want a spectacular drive take the SITA bus to Salerno, it takes about 1.25 hours but the views are amazing and the skills of the drivers impressive.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and stay in the superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Firstly, to put some other reviews right, there is a hotel near Sorrento called Il Nido and this isn't it. It doesn't have a shuttle bus and it isn't in Positano (although how you could think it was is beyond me). It doesn't have a pool. You can't walk to it from the town with suitcases and, although the roads are narrow, it is perfectly safe to walk on them as the locals do - the cars avoid you and the big vehicles stop for you. There are several restaurants nearby although the Santa Caterina is quite expensive.

Il Nido has a bus stop right outside (in both directions) and taxis, although not cheap (15 Euro for 4 people and 4 suitcases from Amalfi) are sometimes the most convenient way. The ferry from Salerno is the best way to get there, the bus from Sorrento can take yp to 2 hours depending on the traffic.

Amalfi itself is quite beautiful especially in the evening when the day trippers have departed. The restaurant and beach that is below the Stella Maris is great - it's to the left of the wharf area - for 10 Euro you can hire a towel and beach lie-low, changeroom and cold shower (or hot for 1 Euro) and the restaurant is cheap and the friendly owner Antonio is a gem.

From Amalfi ferries run to Sorrento and Capri (the Grotto is closed on windy days, we went to Faro on the far side of the island for a very pleasant day) and busses to the hilltop town Ravello and to the smaller beachside towns of Maiori and Cetara and to Sorrento. Busses are cheap and run regularly from the Amalfi town Centre.

The hotel is accessible by lift at the front (left side entrance), it is clean and the rooms are big by European standards. There is a bath and shower, small refrigerator and air conditioning. Free WiFi is available for your device and a jug and iron (but no board) available on request. There is free parking.

The staff are friendly, especially the beautiful Francesca and owner (family dog walker) very helpful.

Room Tip: The only way to conveniently get to Amalfi is by train from Salerno. The fast train arrives in Saler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paross2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Family run hotel. Spacious and clean rooms. Free parking. Very nice views from the rooms. The hotel stand in a higher point compared to the city center and take a 15 minutes (steep) walk to reach the hotel. Good rates, considering that the Amalfi Coast is an expensive destination. Amalfi itself does not have many attractions, but works fine as a basis to visit the Amalfi Coast and Capri. A final tip: it is better to get around by boat rather than by car or bus, since the traffic conditions on the road that cross the Amalfi Coast tend to be quite heavy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trista-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing