We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dream honeymoon”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What can I say about this hotel that hasn't been said already?
It didn't take long to understand why so many people have waxed lyrical about the staff and location.
Gabriella, Antonella and the rest of the staff are the most helpful my new wife and I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They even gave us a gift on the morning we left by way of a congratulations for our marriage, which was both unexpected and kind.
Throughout our stay they went above and beyond, making sure we had everything we needed and filling us in on local trips and hotspots.
The location is perfect, we were on the doorstep for the countless number of excellent bars and restaurants, and barely five minutes' stroll away from the water.
If you are planning to stay in Amalfi you MUST stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    159
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
154
424
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at L'Antico Convitto. Spotlessly clean, central location and we really enjoyed the view and ambience of our room facing the street. Amalfi goes to sleep early so noise was never a problem and we had a wonderful view of the street and the hilltops above the buildings. Breakfast had an excellent selection of meats,cheeses, fruits and breads and cappuccinos were always served with a smile! There were even warm soft boiled eggs! The hospitality and helpfulness of Antonella at the front desk, Gabriella the owner and the rest of the service staff was outstanding. We were only able to book 2 nights here and they even assisted in moving us to the next hotel which was housed within the same complex. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning a stay in Amalfi!
Tip: get lost wandering the street high above the town and you will see some amazing views!

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but the noise was never a hindrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roznov pod Radhostem, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and my mum have stayed in this hotel last week for two nights and were very satisfied! The room was very nice and clean, good choice for a breakferst which we could eat on the sunny terrace. Amazing was also receptionist Antonella which provided us many usefull informatinon about trips and even searched for us which of the two options would be better (We wanted to go from Capri to Ercolano and didn't know if it is better to go through Napoli or Salerno).
On the first day we arrived early around 9am but Antoanella made sure our room was ready in less than one hour and in the mean time we got a nice coffe and cake. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at l'Antico Convitto for 6 nights. I chose this hotel because of the reviews I read here, and I can only join in. The rooms are huge,.spacious and super clean, the location just in the middle of town. Parking was easy to find thanks to an email earlier from Antonella, who gave us valuable tips how to proceed and to find the hotel . All went easy and smooth. Greeting from Gabriella and Antonella was so warm and they made us feel so welcome at their place, it was just perfect. We got the biggest room with the longest bed as my husband is very tall. Beautiful tiles on the floor, huge bathroom with hydro shower, and lots of space for our clothes. The other rooms are very spacious as well. Breakfast was nice, good variety and freshly squeezed orange juice. Coffee freshly made to your liking. If you want you can take a tray, choose your food and go one floor up to the garden terrace and eat there. With a beautiful sea view. Gabriella provided a map of Amalfi with tips of good restaurants and they really were good. This place feels like home away from home and I can only recommend it. Thanks for all your wonderful hospitality, Gabriella, Antonella and all the other staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Amalfi. The location is perfect and the staff very friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean, quiet and a reasonable size. Breakfast is great and they have fresh squeezed juice, cappuccinos and lots of choice. The roof terrace is great and chilled. Only negative was that the beds on the roof needed cleaning really and there was not enough of them for the hotel guests.
Parking is a problem in Amalfi and so you need to park quite far from the hotel. A 10 minute walk. The hotel are very helpful with this though and can advise or even offer help with your luggage!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Rainsforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were very skeptical when we picked this hotel. We were not very sure until we were greeted at the reception. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. They had everything you could ask for. The location was perfect right in the middle of the main market. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed every bit of our stay at the hotel. The reception staff took their time to explain to us all the main attractions in the city and helped us with everything they could. This has to be on your list if you are visiting amalfi town. Perfect price & location. The rooms are luxurious. It’s just a very good deal.

Room Tip: as for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel L'Antico Convitto in Amalfi in the fall of 2012 and had a wonderful time there. We will definitely stay there again if we go back to Amalfi. All in all, it turned out to be as good (if not better) than we expected.

The city of Amalfi is a good location to explore the Amalfi coast from and Hotel L'Antico Convitto is located very close (5 minute walk) to the public bus stop that you use if you do not have a car. We also used the same bus stop area to board the private tour buses we booked for trips to Pompeii and Paestum.

While we have been to Italy several times, we've never been south of Rome before this trip. Hotel L'Antico Convitto had very good, consistent reviews on Trip advisor, so we decided to give it a try. Booking online presented no problems and the hotel staff were quickly answering questions by email. They also were able provide information about train and bus transportation from Rome-Termini to Amalfi - even sending us train, boat and bus schedules. The hotel staff (I think all of them are locals) were also very pleasant to deal with once we arrived.

The hotel staff had very good recommendations about where to eat in town. Yes, it is possible to find mediocre food in Italy - especially in a tourist filled place like Amalfi. The first restaurant we tried - not one recommended by the staff - turned out to be disappointing. After that, we went with the hotel staff recommendations and all of them were quite good & affordable.

The staff was extremely helpful in finding a credit card we accidentally left at the hotel - which we didn't realize until well after we'd left Amalfi and arrived in Rome! They were very, very helpful in resolving this issue. We contacted the L'Antico Convitto staff from Rome and they were kind enough to mail the missing credit card to our Rome hotel, resulting in a happy, hassle-free ending (The Adler hotel staff in Rome were very helpful too).

The hotel room itself was clean, well located in the heart of Amalfi, easy to find, with a grocery/food store in the same building. Often we would buy supplies to make a picnic on the rooftop terrace - which really does look like the pictures on the web site, with a very nice view of the Duomo and the Mediterranean. The hotel breakfast was perfectly suitable for us and made for a good start to the day. The bathroom was clean & usable. From our room we had a nice street view. Closing the window shutters at night really helped in cutting down on the street noise when we slept.

We cannot think of a single thing to complain about and can wholeheartedly recommend Hotel L'Antico Convitto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moemoemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Antico Convitto

Property: Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Address: Via Dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Albergo L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing