We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband I and stayed here for a week in May 2012. The hotel is nice, clean, and very centrally located - literally a two minute walk from the Amalfi Cathederal and several restaurants. Our room was clean, we could hear the church bells, and comfortable. All the hotel staff are very firendly and go out of their way to be helpful. They provide you a nice complimentary breakfast in the morning and also have complimentary tours that you can sign up for. In addition, they have a small roof deck where you can sit and soak up some sun. We recommend this hotel if you are in Amalfi and want to be centrally located.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 780 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We will never forget the 2 nights we recently spent at this extraordinary hotel. Don't let the alley that leads to the hotel elevator scare you. What you will find on the 3rd floor is worth it. After the white knuckle experience of driving the coastal road with a "sort of repaired" flat tire on our rental we were so warmly greeted by Ferdinando who assisted us to our room and suggested a restaurant for our very late dinner needs. Our many thanks to Antonella and Graziella in the morning for helping us with the error from Venere who booked us in 2 rooms the first night and the many phone calls we had to make to Hertz to resolve the car issue, which, by the way, was not resolved and prevented us from continuing the rest of our journey. The up side was that we got to spend an extra night at this lovely hotel. The rooftop terrace was great, overlooking the sea and the duomo in one direction and the incredible mountain in the other. I would highly recommend this hotel and this area(the drive not for the feint of heart).

Room Tip: not sure if there is a bad room. The 2 we had were both great. Lovely tile work and lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week in May for our honeymoon and on our arrival there was a bottle of champagne , chocolates and fresh fruit in our room which was a lovely thought. The room was very clean and overlooked the Duomo and we could see the sea. The staff were very welcoming and extremely nice and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this hotel, it is good value,perfectly located,and we hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this hotel in April 2012 and would gladly come back for a week! Amalfi is a gorgeous place and central to all the areas of interest on the coast. The room was spacious with a great outlook over the duomo and the rooftops beyond. The staff during the day and at night were welcoming and always ready with help and advice. The rooftop terrace for happy hour on a Friday evening was a great way to meet other guests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We enjoyed our time in this hotel as the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice. The rooftop terrace was also a nice addition.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitriona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at L'Antico as a base from which to visit the rest of the coast for my mum's 70th birthday. The hotel was very easy to find, including the access to the lift and was just a 5 minute walk to the Duomo, bus station and ferry port. Being on the entire 3rd floor, the noise was minimum and besides you quickly get used to the church bells which areall part of the Amalfi coastal charm. We could not of made a better choice. The staff went out of their way to ensure you had all you needed and were accommodating & friendly at every turn. The room was lovely and clean with a great window which opened out onto the mountainside with a jacuzzi, table & chairs to relax.

The roof terrace had a great view of the sea and Duomo and you can have your breakfast there if you choose.

Would definately recommend and even stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: room 11 had the jacuzzi and great view of the mountain, the opposite side to the Duomo..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRuocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Other hotels could learn from the service offered by the staff at Hotel L'Antico Convitto. For starters, my husband is 2m tall and the staff equipped our room with a special extra-long mattress so his feet didn't hang over the end. Prior to arriving, Antonella provided useful information about travelling to Amalfi from Rome by train, and then transferring to a bus or ferry in Salerno for the last leg of our trip. Excellent recommendations were made for good restaurants in the Amalfi. The young man working in the dining room willingly accommodated our request to eat breakfast on the rooftop terrace from where we could watch Amalfi waking up. All of the staff were courteous and anxious to make our stay in Amalfi most enjoyable, which it was for all four nights of our stay!

Room Tip: It is difficult to escape the clang of the cathedral bells in Amalfi, which rang at 7am and periodic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $129 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Albergo L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing