We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A welcoming place away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A welcoming place away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at L Antico Convitto last February. It was a last minute booking from Florence and we did not expect much. But when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the owners (I think Gabriela was her name and her husband) and their children too. There was a very homely atmosphere. The rooms are simple but very very clean. The view from the window is beautiful, early in the morning we could see how the village slowly came to life. The street is not an ordinary street, it´s narrower than an alley and at the end of it there´s a supermarket, next to it is the entrance to a building, the hotel is on the 4th floor. There´s an old lift. Don´t feel discouraged by the outside!! The inside and the people who run it are worth a stay!!!

Room Tip: You can´t park your car at the entrance, it´s a one way street, ask the owners directions to the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaBsAs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    148
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
135
372
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

It is not easy to find - but it is worth the effort. Most of Amalfi is closed to traffic unless you are a guest of one of the hotels, and even then, it is open only few hours every day. I was lucky enough when I got there to be able to drive through. The narrow street has a traffic light to accommodate the 2-way traffic, and no real option to stop on the way. So you simply keep on driving till you get to the first parking building which happens to be the right one for this hotel (and probably serving few more; it is near a red building). Parking is quite expensive, but this is not different from other places in Amalfi.

Once you parked, just ask people in the street for directions, as otherwise it is hard to see the small sign leading to the building. The elevator in the building is one of the old ones - an experience that took me back in time :)

The room was spacious and luxurious (with a Jacuzzi), good WiFi, comfortable bed and a safe. This hotel is not on the beach front, so don't expect see view from your room, but there is a great place on the roof if you want to enjoy the view anytime of the day. The plus about the location is that is relatively quiet and very close to the main Amalfi square and the beach.

All of the people I met there were extremely nice, spoke English and made me feel at home. Breakfast is quite standard in Italian terms. One thing about Amalfi in general - it is practically impossible to sleep after 7 (unless you are in a distant hotel) - the church bells ring every 15 minutes starting from 7am till 10pm every day. Plan accordingly :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night in Amalfi and we wish we couldn't have stayed longer! Our room was gorgeous and spacious. We could see the shops below and the mountains out our windows. The staff was very friendly and made us reservations at a great seafood restaurant overlooking the sea. They even accommodated our request for a late checkout the following day. You would have a hard time finding a better room at such a great price anywhere in Italy. This was definitely our favorite. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank editonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very nice, wonderfully located, but no view. Ramona is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris_Eyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and decided "why not". We had a free night between a cruise and a timeshare and wanted to see the famous Amalfi coast. We arrived at Amalfi town square and walked into a charming, busy area filled with shops, cafes, gelateries...all surrounding a cathedral.
A short distance from the square, tucked into a little alleyway, was our hotel. At first we did the "ohhh, I don't know"...as only one of us with luggage could fit into the elevator. But as we arrived at the front desk and were greeted by the more than welcoming staff, worries disappeared. Our room was quite large with wooden shuttered windows that overlooked the cathedral. The bathroom was enormous by European standards and even had heated floors.
Breakfast and internet were included in the price. Breakfast had lots of variety and also included cooked to order eggs if you so desired.

I can't compliment the staff enough. Not only were they very welcoming and helpful but all spoke English without hesitation or without request. They even insisted that a porter drive our bags down to the square because it was raining. Much like you would do for a family member.....
We would go back in a heartbeat, since one night did not do the area justice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFR026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This place was a great value for our money. The room was large and adequately furnished, the bathroom was large too. Location is awesome - right next to the main shopping street. They served a typical European breakfast. Gabriella the receptionist was very helpful too. Only problem was we were supposed to join a hotel-arranged tour around the historical sites of Amalfi but when we got to the meeting place no one was there! The tour guide Michaelangelo was nowhere to be found. Amalfi is small though and you can easily walk around yourself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyKiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel and staff are really waiting for you. They make all efforts to help you in your stay and the location of the hotel is excellent. Good web connection.
Recommended for family trip or business trip also. The breakfast in the morning is very good at buffet.
Quiet and clean in general.
The place around is.... no words. Amalfi!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Property: Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Address: Via Dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing