We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

A nice hotel just off the main street running through Amalfi, within steps of the centre of town. Included breakfast was good (by European standards). Hotel has elevator and a great terrace on the roof. Staff friendly and speak Engish well. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    154
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
142
388
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oro valley, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of Amalfi on the 4th floor next to the Duomo. The street is very busy and noisy but the room is quiet with the balcony door closed and the air on. Amalfi impressed me as an overpriced shoppers paradise. We visited the paper museum and that was interesting. We took a bus trip to Ravello and visited some beautiful gardens. The hotel has a very good breakfast with great expresso. The staff was friendly and fun to practice Italian with. There is a good fish take-out on a side street near the Nederlands Bank. We had fish at a restaurant on the main street and they wanted 18 euros for two small pieces. They price by the gram so make sure of the price before you order. This was not the price on the menu. I had a big argument and they reduced the price to the menu. There is a nice store at the entrance to the hotel. Many of the stores will make up a nice sandwich for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonk1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

When I booked a room at L'Antico Convitto, I knew it was rated highly, though not as highly as some other. I find it hard to believe, though, that there is actually a better hotel in Amalfi.

I basically rate a hotel on quietness, comfort, and service. Aside from the ringing of the bell in the duomo (which would have happened anywhere in town), my room was quiet. The room was also comfortable enough to allow us to take a nap in the middle of the day and sleep through the night. And when I asked the person at the desk (very often the owner) for a restaurant recommendation, she recommended one of the best restaurants I ate it during my stay in Italy.

Also, the staff put up with my bad Italian, which I really appreciate. The next time I am able to visit Amalfi, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leganes
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed three nights last christmas here and we enjoyed very much Amalfi and surroundings.L`antico convitto was ideal for us,in the middle of the action,but quiet,just steps from stores,restaurants and the bus stop.Access is easy,it`s a fourth floor with lift.Our room,one of the cheapiest,was very good,with a large and modern bathroom,very comfy and warm,with a large window.Very clean also.
Staff is very friendly and accomodating.Internet available in a terminal off the little reception area.Correct breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

I spent a couple of relaxing nights here the week after Easter. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive and you could see that most guests were enjoying their stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and included a jet shower. The hotel arranged a transfer to Naples airport - the driver was excellent and very friendly.

The location is about as convenient as you can get - just a couple of minutes up from the port/bus stop and off a main road with many restaurants, tourist shops etc. Being on the 4th floor (with a lift) means that it's also nice and quiet - church bells aside!. While Italian hotels are not known for their breakfasts, this was probably the nicest we found - mostly because it actually included savoury options and eggs!

Room Tip: Free internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowfinch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our 2 week stay in Italy. We loved this hotel. It was a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Rome. Our room was super clean and had a wonderful bathroom. We had a great view of the Duomo and bell tower right out our window and the sea in the background. Breakfast was basic but still good and the cappuccino was excellent.

Since it was low season the town was a little quiet but we found things to do. We did a great hike on the papermill trail. I would highly recommend this if you have the time. This was a highlight of our stay in Amalfi.

We also took the super early (6:15am) bus to Pompeii. It's the only bus that goes directly to Pompeii instead of taking a bus to Sorrento and then the Circumvesuviana train to Pompeii. The bus was fairly empty and comfortable. We got into Pompeii a little before it opened so we just walked around. FYI, don't be afraid of the stray dogs. They're actually really friendly, it's just a little weird when they follow you around everywhere. We were some of the first people in Pompeii which made it super nice to explore without hoards of people, which start arriving a little later in the morning. Needless to say we were very glad we took the early bus and got there when we did. On the way back we took the Circumvesuviana train to Sorrento and then the bus to Amalfi.

Amalfi was a great base for us and I would recommend it. Just make sure you have plenty to do. Also, plan your nap or something to do for early to mid afternoon. Everything shuts down and the town seems dead. But everyone opens back up in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyV919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Island, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at L'Antico Convitto for three nights the end of March and 1st of April. This is a great hotel with very comfortable, clean rooms, a wonderful shower, and great service. Nice views from the rooms and we woke every morning to church bells. Gabriella helped us with maps, restaurants and tourist sites. The breakfast was simple but good and the capuccino delicious. They also have a computer available for use by the guests. Amalfi is a wonderful location to explore the Costiera Amalfitana. We loved Ravello and took the bus there and walked down to Amalfi. This is a beautiful ancient path with wonderful views. We also visited Positano and Furore. We only wished that we had more time to walk more of the trails and explore the towns. This hotel was a terrific bargain and we definitelty hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patlin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Property: Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing