We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Incredible views; friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Ninfa
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredible views; friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Perched on a clifftop, about 3 km from the centre of town, this place is fabulous. We arrived late morning, long before the official 2 o'clock check-in. Our room had already been vacated, but not cleaned. The cleaner set to work right away and had our room for us in about 30 min., during which we sat in the long, narrow breakfast room and drank in the sea views through the floor-to-ceiling windows. Other staff were equally helpful & friendly. Our room was more like a ship's cabin, with a very cosy bathroom. The size is understandable given that this place is pasted onto the side of a cliff - so the building is quite narrow. We had a corner room with views both over the sea and along the coast. The bed (a double), which took up most of the room, was comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet of fresh pastries, bread, yogurt, juice and as many espressos/cappuccinos as you want. Free internet is available 24 hr. Buses run regularly from the centre of town (anything going west will get you there); get off at "LONE". Buses going into town don't always stop at LONE, but there is a stop just up the street at the Tabacconist/Pizzeria. There is a beach at the base of the cliff - you can either walk a long way down or, for 15 Euros round trip, take the elevator in a nearby hotel - you need a ticket for this, available from the staff, who will also provide beach towels. If I recall correctly the price of the elevator also includes a beach chair.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eardstapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    149
    61
    31
    18
See reviews for
53
425
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Hidden gem in this fantastic area. The hotel is not flashy, no over the top sign, simple receptipn area but the service is great. Maurizio and other staff are great hosts. And they are really generous. I booked for standard room with no ocean view which is still great room but on the second night, he gave me the room with view without additional cost. The room with the view is amazing. I slept with open window so I could listen to the sound of the wave and the moonlight in the room. And in the morning, the sunshine wake me up. You have to stay there to really appreciate it.

So what else? The hotel has shared private beach with the other hotel. We can pay 15 Euros for elevator and umbrella. But there is stairs to go down to the beach. It's quiet steep but the view is fantastic. The beach itself? amazing. The breakfast was also great. The warm croissant and home made juice were perfect to start the day.

Overall, it was a great experience staying there. I would stay there again if I have a chance to come back to Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel is absolutely spectacular. We knew that the Amalfi coast would be stunning for views but this hotel emphasised just how beautiful it actually is.

For a little bit extra we upgraded to the Junior Suite with a unique italian interior, balcony with unbeatable views and a jacuzzi all with the beautiful backdrop - I would definitely reccommend this room. The only negative was there were a few ants around the sink.

Breakfast was brilliant too - fresh croissants and pastries and, yet again, with the breathtaking backdrop. All the staff were so friendly, well spoken and helpful. They also cater for evening meals too thanks to Maurizio who provided us with the best pizzas we'd had all holiday!

There is a private beach right below the hotel which is accessible via lift or £465 steps!

The hotel is very easy to get to from Sorrento - The sita bus stop drops you right outside the hotel. You can also get this bus to neighbouring towns such as Ravello and Positano which are equally as beautiful. The town of Amalfi is around a 15 minute walk which is worth doing for all the views!

We would love to return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochelle030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Everything was perfect; we actually arrived late and had not set up reservations. Maurizio gave us a great deal on the one available room they had left. We actually wanted to stay 3 nights, but the hotel was booked for the next 2 days. Maurizio was very nice and helped set us up with another hotel in the area with a similar cost.
The rooms were clean and had a 180° view of the coast. The bathroom was bigger and much nicer than most we had seen all over Italy. A very nice continental breakfast was included with cappuccino of course! The internet was free, which was a great bonus. We had our own rental car and found street parking very close to the hotel.
The walk down the hill to Amalfi was about 15-20 mins. Not bad and very pretty.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a great stay in Amalfi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Hidden gem of a hotel...don't miss this one. Great staff, cozy rooms and the views are spectacular! Highly recommend staying at Hotel La Ninfa while in Amalfi!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel is beautiful - in an amazing location right on the cliff. This means the views are spectacular with an uninterrupted view of the water. We stayed in a superior sea view room which was small but perfect.

Part of what makes this hotel so lovely is its size, there are only 8 rooms so there is a nice personal feel to it. There were only a few staff members around, but always somebody there when we needed anything.

We really enjoyed breakfasts and evening drinks in the main hall/dining room.

Maurizio made our stay at Hotel La Ninfa even more memorable with all his help and friendliness - even going out of his way to get us some pizza for dinner on our first night when thunderstorms kept us from going into Amalfi town to get our own dinner!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

After having found the hotel there was only wonder and surprise. Due to the impressive position above the sea and due to the friendliness of the owner and his staff we had unforgettable moments. We will come again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Nido
Hotel Il Nido
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Property: Hotel La Ninfa
Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing