We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A dirty bed and breakfast with a view” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Ninfa
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A dirty bed and breakfast with a view”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place is not a hotel. It hardly meets the requirements for a bed and breakfast. The only good thing it has to offer is its view, but please don't fall for that.

Couple of facts about me before you read on:
-I've lived in Italy and have been to the amalfi coast three times and have also traveled all over the country at numerous other hotels and locations.
-In general, I am an avid traveler, particularly in Europe and have had the taste of everything from 2 star hotels to top-notch 5 star ones. Based on my experience, this is absolutely not a 3 star hotel.

I won't waste your time with a story, but here are the facts:

The purpose of the visit:
- a romantic getaway
- exploring the amalfi coast

Room type:
-Junior Suite: This was meant to be their best room and the only room with a balcony, which in fact, turned out to be simply a small hallway "converted" into a room. There is no bed, there is only a mattress on top of mosaics, so if you move, guess what, your entire "bed" moves. Also, it's the size of a "full bed", meaning even my bed at the age of 16 was larger than this. We were two fairly fit people, and we love cuddling, but this was simply uncomfortable. The bathroom was the nicest feature of this room. Actually the bathroom was the nicest room of this entire "hotel".

General facts:

- dirty, dirty, dirty beyond belief. There were finger nails next to my pillow. There were spots of blood all over the walls (probably from killing insects). They had two plastic chairs and a little table in the middle of the room that had food and stain underneath its glass. After asking the staff to clean it, they cleaned the top of the glass again instead of clearly noticing where the problem was. The dark blue bed cover you see in the nice "hotel" pictures had white spots on it (it wasn't by design)...The "balcony" wasn't much better either. It was completely invaded by ants, so if you decide to sit there on a nice afternoon and sip a glass of wine, you may make some new friends ...of a different specie...also, as a result, having any kind of food in the room is "forbidden" by the management.

Location:

- you HAVE to take the bus to town otherwise plan on walking for a good 30 minutes uphill.
- The views are nice

Breakfast:
-non-existent. They served cake and stale croissants (the ones you get in plastic bags from the supermarket). The cappuccino was good.

The other rooms:
We were terribly unhappy with the Junior suite, but at the sight of seeing the other rooms, we felt "lucky"! The other rooms are even smaller, they don't have balconies and most don't have any views. Also, you have absolutely no privacy here, everyone sees you come and go, everyone hears the fly next door because honestly, they don't have real doors, they have these sliding "doors" that have a little "hook" to close them.

Hotel staff:
Unfriendly and had an attitude. I am not sure if we were the guests or if they were doing us a favor by letting us pay them for this hardly tolerable place.

Overall:

-If you have any sense of minimum standards that you expect from a hotel, avoid this place by all means. This place ruined our holiday, and made everything much more stressful, as we had to wake up with back pain and worrying about what we touch and where we step the whole time.

- if you are used to bed and breakfasts and you are a budget traveler, this place is OK and has nice views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kimia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    152
    62
    31
    21
See reviews for
53
431
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel La Ninfa. The first time was in Easter 2011. We rented again the Junior Suite with small balcony. The room from this room is just breathtaking. My wife is in love with this view, and consider this hotel a special place. We always had our breakfast on the balcony to enjoy the view. In my opinion, this hotel has the right feeling for a romantic gateway with your loved one. The hotel is also at walking distance from town, so you can have a nice walk to reach one of the good restaurants in town. I suggest you visit Amalfi in low season. There were very few turist around in November, the weather was a bit rainy but who cared, and costs are very reasonable.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryant3606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I must begin discussing the setting of this hotel. The hotel itself is nestled at the top of a cliff above a beautiful public beach (about 500 steps down if I remember correctly). From the seaview rooms you have an amazing view of the Sea and into town. Absolutely stunning. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are alright, somewhat outdated but certainly liveable. If you do decide to stay at this hotel make sure that you pay the extra for the seaview room. There is a nice common area on the main floor where breakfast is served in the open sea air, something we took advantage of each of the four mornings that we were in Amalfi. While it is true that the town is about 1 km from the hotel it really only matters when you are arriving/leaving with luggage; otherwise the walk is about 10 minutes into town and filled with stunning views. The bus will drop you off and pick you up right in front of the hotel as well if you do have luggage (tickets can be purchased in town). The beach below the hotel is beautiful (and free), it is a bit of a hike up the stairs but not too bad. Overall, my fiancee and I had a great experience here; it is a reasonably priced alternative in a fairly expensive part of Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Il mio ragazzo ed io ci abbiamo dormito solo una notte di dicembre ma ci siamo trovati veramente benissimo! Ci siamo svegliati con il dolce rumore del mare ed un sole stupendo. Lo consiglio vivamente :)

My boyfriend and I stayed here only one night in December and It was very beautiful! We woke up in the morning with the sweet noise of the sea and a very shining sun. I recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonellaMa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for a day, Amalfi is a beautiful place w.r.t. the hotel
THe Hotel was approx 800m-1km from the main center, but it is over the hill so getting there walking along with strolleys, seemed like 4km. You can take the bus which we were not aware of before we reached the hotel.
Staf was ok, approach of the room was through a small spiral staircase, mind u I mean really small, we had 2 bags not that big and it was difficult to get the bags to the rooms. So if its a bigger bag u'l have a real tough time.
Room was clean n tidy with a fridge, also complimentary wi-fi which was somewhat weak. View from the window of the room was breathtaking over-looking the sea.Bed was ok
The bathroom was outside the room, which was a put off although it was a private one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhaveshdevgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Italy and a stay at La Ninfa. First the good. The room was a bargain for the view you get. We stayed in the balcony room and the view was exceptionally beautiful. Maria and her staff were incredibly gracious and the bathroom in the suite was the best we had during our stay in Italy (It was large with a deep jetted tub and rainfall shower) . Now for the bad. When we entered the room I immediately got the feeling it wasn't propertly cleaned. The bedding, more specifically the throw pillows, were disgusting. They were old, ripped and had what looked like spots of food stuck on them. The walls (and I know white walls are hard to keep clean) were dirty, and the floor had spots (maybe coffee?) on it. I also wonder if La Ninfa may have a bed bug problem. On our last day my husband woke up with a track of welts on his side that after 3 weeks have still not completely healed.

Overall I think La Ninfa is a good value if you proceed with caution and give your room a thorough inspection.

Room Tip: Not a good choice for the elderly or those needing extra help on stairs. Also two of the rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msoar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel la Ninfa. Maria takes great care of her guests and let us stay in the apartment attached to La Ninfa. We loved it! It is very spacious and private. We loved having breakfast in the hotel every morning. What a breathtaking view! Maria also helped us rent a scooter to get around. We highly recommend it for adventure seekers because the roads are narrow and windy but it's an amazing feeling to live like the locals.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Property: Hotel La Ninfa
Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing