We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view.. And thats all...”
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Ninfa
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The view.. And thats all...”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The hotel did not meet my expectations. When we arrived, the man in the reception did not explained nothing to us, and did not how to speak english to talk to us. Our room was not in the main building, so we did not have internet in the room - and I did not feel confortable in this room far from the building. The bed was horrible, and there were spiderwebs on the wall. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was very small. The breakfast was ok. I'd not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia_cammou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    153
    64
    33
    23
See reviews for
56
447
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here for a week while enjoying the Amalfi coast. The hotel is a bit of a walk into town. At least 10 to 15 minutes along the busy coastal road. (The sidewalk comes and goes along the road, so walkers - be warned!) A cab from Amalfi to the hotel costs about 15 euros. The SITA buses seemed to run often but the schedule also seemed a bit sporadic, so normally walked into town.

If you are looking for a place in the heart of an Italian city, you may want to stay closer to Amalfi.

The breakfast at La Ninfa is simple but enough for Italy! (Pastries, coffee, juice, fruit, yogurt.) There are plenty of wonderful restaurants to explore in Amalfi and nearby towns, so we didn't need much for breakfast! There is a small store a few steps from the hotel, and they do serve pizza, snacks, etc.

Our room (#4) had large sea views but was very small and near the lobby area. However, we did not experience much noise at night or in the morning. The bed was harder than we are used to, but it was about what we expected given the price. The room included a TV but almost all channels were in Italian (aside from MTV), as far as we could tell... (Not that one needs to watch TV when visiting the Amalfi Coast, but it would have been nice to have some options on the rainy evenings.) The hotel has free wi-fi.

The staff is pleasant and offered to give us a larger room later in the week. We were busy during the days, however, and we never ended up switching rooms.

Overall, this was a nice stay. An entire week at this hotel may be too long in the spring (given the chance of rain and the fact that you cannot really use the beach), but it would be a great place to stop along the way for a few nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view and away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I would recommend this place to any type of traveller - it's cosy and romantic, with an amazing view. The staff, especially Marco is very helpful, friendly and eager to tell you about the highlights of Amalfi :) Stay as long as you can, you won't regret a minute :)

Polcilabym ten hotel naprawde kazdemu - jest romantyczny in przytulny a widok zapiera dech w piersiach. Personel, zwlaszcza Marco jest bardzo pomocny, przyjacielski, chetnie opowie o miejscowych atrakcjach :) Polecam pobyt tak dlugi jak tylko sie da, nie bedziecie zalowac ani chwili :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iga_Pietrusinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I was not sure what to expect when I went for a weekend to Amalfi, and more precisely to Hotel La Ninfa. I just can say it was PERFECT! The service is excellent, the staff is amazing and the views are just like taken out of a movie.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and wish to go back soon!
Best hotel we stayed while visiting the south of Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DayaRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Everything they say about La Ninfa on their website is true. The views are spectacular; the people are so friendly and helpful.They all made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and tidy; the breakfasts, very good indeed.

We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are certainly worth trying for. Room 4 has amazing panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The view is gorgeous, to say nothing. Really matches the pictures published.

The hotel is absolutely not ready to host guests during winter. Most of the rooms are really cold. You feel tremor even with your coat on. When we came to the hotel we had to go through 6 rooms to find the one not so cold and with the hot water in the bathroom. Can you believe? We paid for the sea view room and received a room without a single window. We stayed there because the rooms with windows are so poorly isolated from the sea wind that during the winter you can not stay there. Too cold. And they don't have any heating facilities, just those old air conditioners which didn't work when we came. They told us we can switch to a sea view room because they've fixed the air con next day but we didn't want to sleep with the noisy machine working all night long and wind still coming from every gap in the windows. And I don't know if they had fixed the hot water in that room. To be fair, the staff was really helpful, trying to solve our problem (cold room, no hot water) when we came. It's the management that refused to compensate last two days of our fully prepaid stay or at least to compensate the difference between the sea view room and no-window room. Probably during summer this place is the one to stay at. Just be prepared to the scary road along Amalfi coast. You'd better stay in Salerno/Sorrento and visit Amalfi/Positano/Ravello/Praiano/Minori and other towns by bus.

Room Tip: never book a sea view room during cold seasong, you will end up sleeping in goose down sleeping bags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mintsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I selected La Ninfa because of its location and views (based on the reviews on Tripadvisor - so many thanks to all those who have contributed). The view from the room was really stunning. The Hotel is built in the rocks. The location is good - close to the center, the bus stop is just at the Hotel. The room was small, but comfy (and I did not spend much time there, as my objective was to see as many places as possible). The room was clean, and I liked the bathroom. Breakfast was quite modest, but I do not need much in the morning - just coffee and a piece of cake. Cakes were made right in the Hotel, every morning I woke up to the delicious aroma of fresh cakes and croissants. And the cappuccino made by Laura was something which still makes my mouth water! And Laura is really a pearl of the Hotel!

Room Tip: Take room with a window and, if possible, with a balcony to fully enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena-Gioia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Property: Hotel La Ninfa
Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing