We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed here for two nights after booking at the last minute, as a result we had to change rooms after one night which was made painless by the owner Gerrardo who was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is right in the centre of town and a two minute walk from the beach so the location could not have been better for abosrbing the towns atmosphere. All of the rooms are unique which was charming and some offer lovely views. All were clean and well maintained displaying the care taken by the owner to offer a great base for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was nice and lovely on the terrace first thing in the morning with church bells ringing in the background. We had a lovely stay and were very grateful for the kind and authentic experience offered here. You may spend a few extra euros here than comparable accomodation but as we found it was worth the extra pennies for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickster1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Residenza del Duca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 301 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

Amalfi is THE place to stay when you visit this part of beautiful Italy, and Residenza del Duca is THE place to stay in Amalfi.

Andrea and his family were the perfect hosts during our five night stay and made us feel so welcome.

Be advised, there are 72 stairs to get to your room, but there are great guys who will take your luggage up there for you - just call when you arrive in town and they'll come and meet you. The stairs were quite the novelty for us as we got a little fitter each day and worked off all that pasta and gelati, so it's a fair trade off!

Breakfast on the terrace was the perfect start to the day, and the team were always willing to help book a tour or recommend something to see or do. Even when we had an early start, they left some food for us to help ourselves so we wouldn't go without.

Located just off the main piazza, the hotel is in a perfect location with easy access to great restaurants, shops and of course the water's edge. You get a true taste of the wonderful Italian hospitality when you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hotel is up about 77 stairs, but they offer free luggage service from the port - call when you get in. The owner Gerardo was so nice and made delicious cappucino's in the morning along with the breakfast spread. The room was very nice and had a nice outdoor seating area, as well as a gerat shower. Gerardo even gave us a bottle of lemoncello that his wife made with their own lemons at checkout time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

This was a very well appointed hotel with excellent decoration and a balcony to enjoy breakfast on.Some of the fruit for the meal was from the owners own orchard! There was an excellent standard of cleanliness, clean towels every day! The breakfast was varied fruit, bread, meats, tomatoes and croissant and very good coffee. Our car was parked for us and returned to us as an when we needed it by Antonia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Admittedly, the bar is low around the Bay of Naples and Amalfi coast, but this was our best hotel on the trip.

The rooms were large and clean, the staff was very friendly, and, by Southern Italy standards, the breakfast was good. We had a superior room that looks out towards the sea, and was very pleasant. Overall, this hotel was a good place to wind down at the end of our holiday.

If there was anything disappointing about our stay, it would be Amalfi itself. We wouldn't recommend visiting Amalfi in season. Spring or fall would be the time to go, otherwise the place is overun by convoys of package tourists unloading from buses and buying cheap trinkets in the main square.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

An Absolute DELIGHT to stay in this hotel! Beautiful boutique hotel, Friendly and Wonderful Staff, VERY hearty and tasty breakfast buffet in a beautiful terrace. Wonderful Rooms with tasteful decor, and hi-fi bathrooms and shower amenities. Residenza Del Duca was an ABSOLUTE DELIGHT to stay in. GREAT location, right in the centre of Amalfi town, closeby to the beach, surrounded by restaurants, souvenir shops and other fabulousness !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaoItal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Residenza del Duca, from 8 to 12 June 2010. Came from Naples by rented car. Residenza del Duca will provide you a parking service (16€ per day). Great location. 2 minutes walking to the beach and ferries, 1 minute walk to the duomo square. We've got the tiny room nr 6. But knowing this in advanced, you can check the diferent rooms at the website and ask that specifc room, to make sure you'll get what you want. The staff is nice, the breakfast terrace charming and the over 70 steps you must climb to get there will help you to keep in shape after all those pastas, pizzas, gelattos, risottos, vinos... you'll have a wide choice of good restaurants. We went one day to Pompei and visit charming Ravello in our way back, next day went to Capri, by ferry, there rented a scooter and came back to Amalfi late in the afternoon, next day beach in the morning and visiting Positano in the afternoon, last day, walking around Amalfi, buying souvenirs and missing already those wonderful days. Be aware that Residenza del Duca is a very good choise if you're looking for a clean and confortable place to sleep, shower and breakfast. If you want to spend time in the hotel, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $97 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing