We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, run by nice people, with a good breakfest and immaculate rooms. I stayed in a tiny single room with full bath and loved it. Great wi-fi connection (free) as well. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halitozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    78
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
177
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After travelling for 9 months it is great to find a hotel that has clean, spacious rooms, excellent breakfasts daily and best of all, amazing service! It felt as though we were staying with family, each of the service staff gave exceptional service, great advice about where to eat, what to see and how to get around the Amalfi coast.I have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel for its location and service. Its the best we have stayed in so far. Well done!

Room Tip: Only a few have a balcony-ask when you book rooms closest to the office will have WIFI, otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good value, elegant rooms in the centre of Amalfi. Great location within Amalfi - everything is an easy walk (once you've got down the stairs). Room had a view of the sea - just. Comfortable & quiet, considering you're pretty much in the centre of town. Pretty good breakfast. Very helpful staff. Steps are a way of life in Amalfi and you have to walk just about everywhere. Parking is available in a large underground car park on the edge of town. Hotel will help with moving your luggage to / from the car park (though not all the way - part of it is a pedestrian tunnel).

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view. One room has balcony where you can eat out or relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in L’appartamento del Duca for three nights. It was very comfortable, well equipped and quiet. The views from the windows and the roof terrace were outstanding and worth the cost on their own. We counted about 200 steps getting up to it but you can cheat and use the lift in the local Hotel Amalfi to save a lot but walking up the tumble of buildings which makes up Amalfi is worth the effort. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful, if you are going to stay in Amalfi then I highly recommend this apartment, having come home I want to back there straight away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davetip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May and found we had made a good choice. We found the owners to be very honest and straightforward with their guests. A room we had originally booked became unavailable due to repairs but we were informed of this even before we arrived and offered other choices. They also told us about the many steps up to the hotel before we booked so that we would not have any surprises. Luckily we had been very active on our 3 week holiday and so were well up to the challenge of the steps. We did appreciate the luggage service and were impressed by the ease with which the young men ran up the stairs with our bags!

Our room was quiet and comfortable and charmingly furnished. We had a view over the town. The sound of bells chiming every quarter throughout the day was lovely, a real step back into another world. It is easy to explore Amalfi from here and there are many good restaurants close by.

A Charming choice for those not wanting a pool and on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this charming family run hotel for 7 nights in May.Our young daughters recommened the hotel having stayed there the previous year. We couldn't have been happier and found Amalfi and Residenza del Duca a great location to explore from. We became very attached to this wonderful family.They were so helpful with great tips of what to do and where to eat avoiding the tourist traps. Our room was lovely with partial views of the ocean, bottle of wine on our arrival,nice daily breakfast served on a little terrace,overall very good value for money.We loved the Amalfi coast with Ravello and Residenza del Duca being highlights.

Room Tip: I would choose the room with its own terrace next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel's central location. Although our room didn't have a view of the sea the scene from our balcony was cute enough. Location and price meant that the lack of view was not an issue for us. Our room was lovely and clean. Service at the desk and during breakfast was excellent and friendly. Breakfast selection was fresh and varied. We really liked this hotel especially because of the friendly service and great location. The steps up the hotel were a bit tiring so wouldn't recommend to people who will struggle with several flights of stairs. There is a free luggage service though which helps with the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twochewpids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Property: Residenza del Duca Hotel
Address: Via Duca Mastalo II 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing