We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Mueseum of the Republic of Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico)

Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico)
Piazza Municipio | entrance off Corso Roma, Amalfi, Italy
089/871066
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 31 things to do in Amalfi
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting Mueseum of the Republic of Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great historical insights into the reasons for the rise of the maritime republic of Amalfi. Very recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pcorsano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great experience this was a lovely museum and a nice place to while away a few hours great location and stunning views all around. Museum is not too expensive as far as I can remember I certainly did enjoy it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to the Tourist Info office to find its location. Was told that it is now closed and its contents have been transferred to the Arsenale della Republica museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sdmxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Astounding Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I thought I was museumed out after touring Italy for more than 30 days...but this quiet little museum charges a meagre fee, unpretentious guards and they don't mind cameras! YEAH. The marble work, the notes in English, the wonderful collection is a must.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CTorpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our hotel advised that there was a walking tour available, this tour took us to the museum. We were so happy we did we learned so much about the history and saw the Amalfi table, a very important document of navigation law dating back in the 11th century. We enjoyed it very much. Don't miss it, it's worth it. There is an entry charge, i can't recall how much.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank cat64_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico) also viewed

 

Been to Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing