We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the highlights of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valle delle Ferriere

Valle delle Ferriere
Valle delle Ferriere, Amalfi, Italy
393384197625
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$227*
and up
Private Tour: Amalfi 'Valle delle Ferriere...
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“one of the highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We knew nothing about this hike. It was not mentioned in our guidebook. We had been staying in Amalfi for 4 days and had run out of things to do so decided to walk towards the hills to see what we could see. We very luckily came upon this trail (I guess you could call it that although it's really nothing like a hiking trail back home) and we were thrilled with our discovery! The only drawback is it was raining that day, we had started in mid-afternoon and it was our last day in Amalfi so we could not go the entire distance. If we had known about it earlier, we would have hiked all the way to Ravello.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SlippyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Normandie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were proposed by our hotel to join a free guide to discover this treck. She took us to gorgious places we would never have visited by ourselves. We had a 3 hour walk, climbing a lot of steps, but it was worth it !!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Misscoquelicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Cool escape from Amalfi heat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did the valle at the end of a long hike from Amalfi to Atrani, to Ravello. The trail from above (Pontone) leads down into the deep ravine with a small but swift stream that powered centuries of now derelict paper mills. The ruins reminded us of Cair Paravel in the second Narnia book by CS Lewis. A lovely walk back to the outskirts and through Amalfi ended the hike

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hike is well worth the trip. Beautiful waterfall at the end. You pass lemon tree and fig trees. We picked a fig and ate it along the way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike in the mountains over Amalfi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great scenic hike up the mountain valley behind the town of Amalfi! We walked up the main street of town until we got to the paper museum, then turned right and there were marked stairs that began the trail. Well marked along the way, the trail passes by ruins of old paper mills and iron foundries which both seemed to have harnessed the gushing water as a power source in days gone by. It was a hot day in the town, but the mountain valley had cool breezes and cold streams and waterfalls along the way. A lot of stairs but not terribly difficult, the hike took us a little over 3 hours. The only disappointment was the gate to the nature preserve area was locked (not sure who is allowed in and when). No matter, we headed toward Pantone which offered amazing views of the town below and the sea beyond. Bring water and snacks/lunch as there is nothing at all on the trail.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valle delle Ferriere also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Valle delle Ferriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#