We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly staff, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Located opposite the beach, both free and private beaches. Large, comfortable room overlooking the ocean. Breakfast was decent, free wifi (although there was a 10 minute timeout on each session). I really nice place to stay, and Amalfi, the town, was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    116
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
57
213
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our choice for this hotel in Amalfi proved to be the best thing we could have done...the location is flawless, you step out side you are across from the beach, steps from the very user freindly transporttion of SITA buses that take you all over the Amalfi coast very inexpensively, steps from cafes and shops and right next door to the famous and beautful San Andrea cathedral. The rooms are immaculate and the front desk staff was very accomodating and helpful in all areas of info and service.
The two minor negatives are the small shower stall and the limited breakfast. But the benefits of everything else outweighed those two issues.
It may at first appear that it would be a noisy location being right in the middle of all the action, but our room had an airtight window with a shudder that literally cut out the noise the second it was closed. We slept like babies.
If you are going to Amalfi, ths is the hotel to stay in...avoid the stairs and the long walks to the other hotels. This is a winner!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I recently visited Hotel Residence with a friend and thought it was a great find. It is right in the front of the town, across from the beaches, the bus stop and the ferry pier, and around the corner from the main street with all the shopping and the Duomo. The hotel is lovely inside - the main foyer on the first floor is full of art & antiques and just feels romantical and european. The rooms aren't all that big, but they are comfortable and very clean, with a balcony view of the beach area & the sea... so nice. Great vantage point to watch all the goings on in town.
Also, the service at the hotel is tops. The people are super friendly. One example is that we ended up going to the terrace of the dining room in the afternoon to sit outside and eat a panini - long after the breakfast stopped being served - and someone came out and asked if they could make us a coffee. So nice!
One tip - breakfast stops being served early... maybe 10am? We only caught it twice, because we slept too late, so beware.
Great hotel - highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memphisthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed for 2 night intially and then 2 more since it was such a good hotel. Newly renovated rooms, modern, big clean bathrooms, terrace attached to the room with seaview. And a perfect breakfast terrace as well looking out over the ocean!
Location is perfect, in the heart of Amalfi, near the beach (20 m), Duomo (30 m) and all restaurants & bars! Helpfull staff, specially Claudio who works the night shift.
We highly recommend Residence Hotel in Amalfi! You won´t be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonSamuele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed over in Hotel Residence on our way to two wonderful weeks in our beloved Atrani. This is our second stay and like the last visit we found the staff friendly and helpful, the room spotless and breakfast delicious (especially the pasteries). We will be back I'm sure.
ciao

Una & Maria
Ireland

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank una09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
244 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I, along with another couple, booked this hotel online after a strong recommendation, and we were not disappointed. We travelled by Sita bus from Salero train station on what was an exhilarating and exciting trip to rival any fun park thrill ride. The hotel is in a prominent location on the main drag at Amalfi. Its opposite the wharves and bus terminus, as well as being 200 metres from the main piazza. Contry to other reviews, we found no problem with street noise with the windows closed. Elevators provide easy access between floors, and a special highlight is the quality breakfast with ever helpful staff on the large balcony overlooking the bustling roadway and shoreline. The reception staff are super helpful and friendly, and assisted us with sightseeing and restaurant tips, as well as language translation at the nearby Post Office. The rooms are large in size, the bed very comfortable, with a very high quality bathroom, and excellent ocean views from the balcony. Easy access to the local Sita buses as well as the hop-on hop-off buses which run to 2 locations through the spectacular coastal and mountain road. We wished for more time in Amalfi and the hotel, and we are sure you won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a lovely nights stay in this hotel. It is superbly located right on the main street overlooking the beach and on the corner of the main pedestrian street with the duomo on it. No problem with noise in spite of this central location - the hotel has adequate air conditioning and with the balcony windows closed you hear practically nothing. Beautiful old building with very modern rooms. Had to leave before breakfast the next morning so can not comment but otherwise would definitely be staying here again if we were ever back in Amalfi (will not be driving along the road however!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing