We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, location and new clean modern rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, location and new clean modern rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed for 2 night intially and then 2 more since it was such a good hotel. Newly renovated rooms, modern, big clean bathrooms, terrace attached to the room with seaview. And a perfect breakfast terrace as well looking out over the ocean!
Location is perfect, in the heart of Amalfi, near the beach (20 m), Duomo (30 m) and all restaurants & bars! Helpfull staff, specially Claudio who works the night shift.
We highly recommend Residence Hotel in Amalfi! You won´t be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonSamuele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    115
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
55
208
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed over in Hotel Residence on our way to two wonderful weeks in our beloved Atrani. This is our second stay and like the last visit we found the staff friendly and helpful, the room spotless and breakfast delicious (especially the pasteries). We will be back I'm sure.
ciao

Una & Maria
Ireland

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank una09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I, along with another couple, booked this hotel online after a strong recommendation, and we were not disappointed. We travelled by Sita bus from Salero train station on what was an exhilarating and exciting trip to rival any fun park thrill ride. The hotel is in a prominent location on the main drag at Amalfi. Its opposite the wharves and bus terminus, as well as being 200 metres from the main piazza. Contry to other reviews, we found no problem with street noise with the windows closed. Elevators provide easy access between floors, and a special highlight is the quality breakfast with ever helpful staff on the large balcony overlooking the bustling roadway and shoreline. The reception staff are super helpful and friendly, and assisted us with sightseeing and restaurant tips, as well as language translation at the nearby Post Office. The rooms are large in size, the bed very comfortable, with a very high quality bathroom, and excellent ocean views from the balcony. Easy access to the local Sita buses as well as the hop-on hop-off buses which run to 2 locations through the spectacular coastal and mountain road. We wished for more time in Amalfi and the hotel, and we are sure you won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a lovely nights stay in this hotel. It is superbly located right on the main street overlooking the beach and on the corner of the main pedestrian street with the duomo on it. No problem with noise in spite of this central location - the hotel has adequate air conditioning and with the balcony windows closed you hear practically nothing. Beautiful old building with very modern rooms. Had to leave before breakfast the next morning so can not comment but otherwise would definitely be staying here again if we were ever back in Amalfi (will not be driving along the road however!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I stayed here for several days as part of a hiking trip in the area. My room was very comfortable, overlooking the water. The room appeared to have airconditioning, heated towel rail and a full spa bath (which It was welcome after a day of hiking), but I couldn't get any of them to work - but that could just be me being technologically challenged. I'm sure if I'd bothered to ask, all would have been revealled. It was very noisy outside, but as soon as you closed the balcony doors you couldn't hear a thing. The staff were very friendly. Also had very nice breakfast on a lovely terrace overlooking the water.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I wrote to the hotel and negotiated a lower rate as a single traveler, and had a wonderful room for a week with all that I wanted, including a refrigerator and a balcony looking out at the ocean. The room was wonderfully quiet with the doors and shutters closed, despite tons of noise outside. There is some room-to-room noise, though.

The location cannot be beat, right around the corner from the main piazzo and the simplicity of the breakfast is immeasurably enhanced by the lovely terrace with the stunning view of the street and the beach.

The room was immaculate, the staff helpful, and the atmosphere charming. The balconies are small, but large enough for the little table and chair I pulled from the room. The AC is terrific, and I loved the motion-activated lights throughout the hotel.

A great place to stay!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from other rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Great location, right across from the beach. Also close to buses and boats for day trips. Despite facing a busy street, the French doors and shutters block out 95% of the noise so no problem sleeping. Breakfast was good, even included cappuccino.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing