We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
1 review
“beautiful central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a lovely nights stay in this hotel. It is superbly located right on the main street overlooking the beach and on the corner of the main pedestrian street with the duomo on it. No problem with noise in spite of this central location - the hotel has adequate air conditioning and with the balcony windows closed you hear practically nothing. Beautiful old building with very modern rooms. Had to leave before breakfast the next morning so can not comment but otherwise would definitely be staying here again if we were ever back in Amalfi (will not be driving along the road however!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    117
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
57
214
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I stayed here for several days as part of a hiking trip in the area. My room was very comfortable, overlooking the water. The room appeared to have airconditioning, heated towel rail and a full spa bath (which It was welcome after a day of hiking), but I couldn't get any of them to work - but that could just be me being technologically challenged. I'm sure if I'd bothered to ask, all would have been revealled. It was very noisy outside, but as soon as you closed the balcony doors you couldn't hear a thing. The staff were very friendly. Also had very nice breakfast on a lovely terrace overlooking the water.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I wrote to the hotel and negotiated a lower rate as a single traveler, and had a wonderful room for a week with all that I wanted, including a refrigerator and a balcony looking out at the ocean. The room was wonderfully quiet with the doors and shutters closed, despite tons of noise outside. There is some room-to-room noise, though.

The location cannot be beat, right around the corner from the main piazzo and the simplicity of the breakfast is immeasurably enhanced by the lovely terrace with the stunning view of the street and the beach.

The room was immaculate, the staff helpful, and the atmosphere charming. The balconies are small, but large enough for the little table and chair I pulled from the room. The AC is terrific, and I loved the motion-activated lights throughout the hotel.

A great place to stay!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from other rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Great location, right across from the beach. Also close to buses and boats for day trips. Despite facing a busy street, the French doors and shutters block out 95% of the noise so no problem sleeping. Breakfast was good, even included cappuccino.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

In our month in France and Italy, we stayed in nine hotels, all two- and three-star. Despite its marvelous public rooms and great central, seaside location, this place was the worst, because of the noise. Most of the couples in our group had noteworthy problems with noise coming from the street scene below, from road traffic both early and late, and from the daily garbage collection at 4:00 am. The windows and shutters are ineffective in keeping the racket out. This problem might be avoidable if you can arrange a room on an upper floor and facing the back (toward the church). Other issues were the mediocre and unvarying breakfast, and the unsmiling, albeit professional, staff. Avoid room #8, which has a further problem - a very distinct odour of mildew or mould which no amount of airing could ease. If you can overlook or overcome these points, the hotel's location and pleasant public spaces will help you enjoy Amalfi.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the noise, smell (particular room), mediocre breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaHikerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We came upon this hotel by accident- we were supposed to stay in in an apartment elsewhere but ourselves and the apartment owner got our wires crossed, so we happened upon the residence hotel seeking help and directions. The hotel was absolutely beautiful- an old, winding staircase, real antiques, a lovely room, a rooftop breakfast room, a romantic view from the room of the patios nearby. We had just had a series of mishaps, and I was pretty upset (a car accident, a sick child, and then no place to stay) and the staff were extremely kind to me- they sat me down with a glass of water, and tried several times to contact the apartment owner, and when thay were unable to contact him for me (they did try very hard!), gave us a room at a good price. I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel- the only drawback is the church bell that rang through the night- invest in some earplugs! But all in all a truly beautiful place with lovely staff who came through in a pinch for me and made our stay extremely memorable during peak holiday season- a time when many hotel staff would not have taken the time to help out a family in distress!

  • Liked — beauty of hotel, kindness of staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giamarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We have just spent two weeks in Amalfi at this hotel. it is charming; a small family hotel sitting in the centre of the towm overlooking the Mediterranean. Most rooms have a balcony and air-conditioning at an extra cost (this appears to be normal practice). All the staff are friendly and polite.
The hotel does B&B only and this is perfect if you want to experience the local food. There is no shortage of good, reasonably priced restaurants in the town, we particularly liked 'Risto' in the Piazza dei Dogi.
The town itself is ideal as a centre for travelling, all the Sita buses and all the boats go from there.
Perhaps not to be recomended if you are looking for excitment, but ideal for a quiet break away from it all.

Helpful?
1 Thank rjcStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Property: Residence Hotel
Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing