We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful central hotel”
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a lovely nights stay in this hotel. It is superbly located right on the main street overlooking the beach and on the corner of the main pedestrian street with the duomo on it. No problem with noise in spite of this central location - the hotel has adequate air conditioning and with the balcony windows closed you hear practically nothing. Beautiful old building with very modern rooms. Had to leave before breakfast the next morning so can not comment but otherwise would definitely be staying here again if we were ever back in Amalfi (will not be driving along the road however!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 442 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

I stayed here for several days as part of a hiking trip in the area. My room was very comfortable, overlooking the water. The room appeared to have airconditioning, heated towel rail and a full spa bath (which It was welcome after a day of hiking), but I couldn't get any of them to work - but that could just be me being technologically challenged. I'm sure if I'd bothered to ask, all would have been revealled. It was very noisy outside, but as soon as you closed the balcony doors you couldn't hear a thing. The staff were very friendly. Also had very nice breakfast on a lovely terrace overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I wrote to the hotel and negotiated a lower rate as a single traveler, and had a wonderful room for a week with all that I wanted, including a refrigerator and a balcony looking out at the ocean. The room was wonderfully quiet with the doors and shutters closed, despite tons of noise outside. There is some room-to-room noise, though.

The location cannot be beat, right around the corner from the main piazzo and the simplicity of the breakfast is immeasurably enhanced by the lovely terrace with the stunning view of the street and the beach.

The room was immaculate, the staff helpful, and the atmosphere charming. The balconies are small, but large enough for the little table and chair I pulled from the room. The AC is terrific, and I loved the motion-activated lights throughout the hotel.

A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltimoreGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Great location, right across from the beach. Also close to buses and boats for day trips. Despite facing a busy street, the French doors and shutters block out 95% of the noise so no problem sleeping. Breakfast was good, even included cappuccino.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

In our month in France and Italy, we stayed in nine hotels, all two- and three-star. Despite its marvelous public rooms and great central, seaside location, this place was the worst, because of the noise. Most of the couples in our group had noteworthy problems with noise coming from the street scene below, from road traffic both early and late, and from the daily garbage collection at 4:00 am. The windows and shutters are ineffective in keeping the racket out. This problem might be avoidable if you can arrange a room on an upper floor and facing the back (toward the church). Other issues were the mediocre and unvarying breakfast, and the unsmiling, albeit professional, staff. Avoid room #8, which has a further problem - a very distinct odour of mildew or mould which no amount of airing could ease. If you can overlook or overcome these points, the hotel's location and pleasant public spaces will help you enjoy Amalfi.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank VictoriaHikerbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We came upon this hotel by accident- we were supposed to stay in in an apartment elsewhere but ourselves and the apartment owner got our wires crossed, so we happened upon the residence hotel seeking help and directions. The hotel was absolutely beautiful- an old, winding staircase, real antiques, a lovely room, a rooftop breakfast room, a romantic view from the room of the patios nearby. We had just had a series of mishaps, and I was pretty upset (a car accident, a sick child, and then no place to stay) and the staff were extremely kind to me- they sat me down with a glass of water, and tried several times to contact the apartment owner, and when thay were unable to contact him for me (they did try very hard!), gave us a room at a good price. I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel- the only drawback is the church bell that rang through the night- invest in some earplugs! But all in all a truly beautiful place with lovely staff who came through in a pinch for me and made our stay extremely memorable during peak holiday season- a time when many hotel staff would not have taken the time to help out a family in distress!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giamarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We have just spent two weeks in Amalfi at this hotel. it is charming; a small family hotel sitting in the centre of the towm overlooking the Mediterranean. Most rooms have a balcony and air-conditioning at an extra cost (this appears to be normal practice). All the staff are friendly and polite.
The hotel does B&B only and this is perfect if you want to experience the local food. There is no shortage of good, reasonably priced restaurants in the town, we particularly liked 'Risto' in the Piazza dei Dogi.
The town itself is ideal as a centre for travelling, all the Sita buses and all the boats go from there.
Perhaps not to be recomended if you are looking for excitment, but ideal for a quiet break away from it all.

1  Thank rjcStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $123 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing