We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful building in a great location”
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The rooms are beautiful and still hold some of the original style from when this was an old palace. The views from the balconies are great and shutters are provided to soundproof the rooms which is much needed at weekends. The breakfast is great and you can sit on the terrace watching the world go by with a drink at any time. The staff were friendly and helpful especially when it came to sorting out the parking with directions and instructions. We would certainly visit again.

Tips: Ravello is a must to go see especially the Villa Rufulo and once you've experienced the driving conditions don't hesitate to take the bus!

Room Tip: we stayed in a Superior as we wanted a balcony with sea view which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 452 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Top location. Easy access from everything. Very nice atmosphere and public areas.
We had a quite small room, no. 4. Nice room, but a bit outdated bath. Nice shower. Great view from the balcony. Breakfast was good. Wonderful balcony with great view at the bar/breakfast. Nice drinks with a nice price level for Amalfi. Service was good and attentive.
We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel does not tell you where to park for check in. Then provides voucher but does not clearly explain it must be paid before you leave the garage.

If you go make sure you understand that. Rec you park across fm hotel and have someone wait in car then get instruction

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wtunick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here in late March, just as the weather was turning for the better and the tourists beginning to show up for the Easter holidays and the start of the season. This is a beautiful, smart, elegant four-star hotel in a prime location in one of the most exquisite parts of the Med coast. Renovated with love in 2010 this is a 17th century grand 'house' that used to serve as a home before being converted to a hotel in the 1950s (I believe).

Booked last-minute and got a super rate for two nights. The reception team that welcomed us are polished, professional and very helpful and the bedrooms are certainly large for this part of the world, with beautiful tiled bathrooms and a high standard of finish with the decor. The public breakfast area & balcony is absolutely wonderful with views over the bay of Amalfi town. Complimentary coffee was served to us there as we waited for our room to be cleaned - we'd arrived rather early so this was very kind of them - and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who are all incredibly polite and smartly dressed.

Pick either a room overlooking the bay or one overlooking the public square with confidence, as the superb soundproofing they've installed so utterly thorough you won't hear a peep from anyone once your balcony doors are closed!

Really impressive, beautiful hotel and a thoroughly positive experience. Amalfi town is also a delight and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone seeking something a little special from which to base their Amalfi / Nastro Azzuro holiday. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinSutcliffe1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I were travelling through Italy and decided to go to the Amalfi coast. We didn't have a hotel booked and I just walked into the lobby and asked if there were any rooms available, to our luck, there was. This hotel, by far, was probably the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in. It was off season and we got a really great price. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room was beautiful, with an amazing terrace. The bedroom was also beautiful, with a great little terrace and a great view of the beach. Also, steps from the Sita bus. If you have an opportunity to go to the Amalfi coast you must stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLU77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is smack in front of the beach, bus stops, and the main city square. Small hotel but in good condition with lots of charm. No pool but the beach is steps away. We cut our trip from 3 days to 2. We didn't realize how small the main town was and you can go through it in about an hour. Definitely take a boat ride to Capri (very picturesqe) and a bus ride to other surrounding cities to keep yourself busy. You can't deny how beautiful Amalfi is and every town in between, very romantic.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaDolceVita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We happily spent four nights here as part of a Peregrine Adventures group of walkers and travellers. The whole experience was quite delightful, from the proud owner [whose Father established the hotel] who keeps a sharp but friendly eye on comings and goings, to the happy, cheerful and motivated staff who service the front desk and restaurant-lounge on the 1st floor. Requests were dealt with promptly and appropriately and service was of high quality. The hotel is located on Amalfi’s waterfront with access for guests to the beach immediately across the road.
This is a beautiful hotel which has benefited from a recent extensive upgrade. Our room was of very good quality, with high ceilings, tastefully decorated and well maintained, with a balcony overlooking the [relatively quiet] road and pedestrian access to the central square and with a limited view to the Bay. Once the double-glazed [?] doors were shut noise was not a problem. The modern and very well equipped bathroom was appreciated. We also had a room safe, a feature missing from most of the hotels we stayed at in Italy and Croatia. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Corso delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $99 - $1,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Blastness , Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing