We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a week in Amalfi and I can assure you, you cannot find a hotel that is situated in a better place. Right in the centre of Amalfi, you are a mere staircase to the bustling street, filled with beautiful restaurants, shops and cafes. Furthermore, the stunning cathedral over looking the piazza is a one minute walk away, not to mention the bus and ferry 'stop' that is just beyond the piazza which enables you to visit up and down the coast (positano, ravello, salerno, sorrento, maiori and menori). And last but by no means not least, Amalfi's own beach is only a two minute walk from the hotel! The hotel is perfectly clean, the staff very friendly and I would recommend it to anyone. Overall, it was the best holiday we have ever been on, and we plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshtaylor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    176
    75
    37
    14
See reviews for
87
216
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Amalfi for 6 nights. The hotel room was nice and very clean. The shower was large and had great pressure. Best of all was the staff. They were some of the nicest people I met on my trip to Italy. They were all so friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Amalfi. :))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Amalfi! The location was ideally located just steps from the main piazza, and the room we had was spacious and the shower was huge compared to the others we had in Italy. The beds were comfortable and the surrounding area was quiet and peaceful at night. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bairesgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midgård
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the most wonderful seven nights at this hotel, which has the perfect location if you, like us, like to walk in your travels. Whether we we're trying out a new beach a bit from the centre or exploring the outskirts of the village, the hotel never seemed to be far away.

The biggest thing about this hotel is how clean it was! You could literally eat of the floors, really! We've never been in such a clean hotel (and we've been in both 4 and 5-stars hotels).
The staff were really friendly and spoke english very good so it was always easy to ask for whatever we needed.

Breakfast was good as well, always fresh fruit and pastries. The only improvement would be if they had more home-made pastries, as the store bought ones aren't that great.

For us the view wasn't that important as we usually only spent an hour or two in our rooms ( besides sleeping) but the up-side of not having a sea view or a view of the square is that we could sleep with the balcony doors open without being disturbed by the sound of nightlife.

If you're looking for a comfy, romantic, no fancy-pansy stuff hotel to have a great time, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenManXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just got back from a weeks holiday staying at the Hotel Amalfi. A really lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, rooms kept clean with clean sheets and towels every day. Shower nice and hot, air conditioning nice and cold. Breakfasts on the roof terrace a joy. Peaceful garden on the third floor terrace. Its in an ideal location just off the main street a very short walk to the town square. Didn't want to leave. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Ring the Hotel for advice onrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss_holibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A really good family run hotel located right in the centre of Amalfi town.
Was allocated room 316 which is located right at the back of the third floor and is a small annex
with it's own little balcony set among lemon and apricot trees.

Breakfast on the terrace was typically continental with plenty of fresh coffee, juices, cheese and ham as well as lemon cakes of various descriptions.

A great central location with plenty of superb restaurants and attractions within a short walking distance.

Only negative point is I would not recommend this hotel if you have any mobility issues as there are a lot of stairs to negotiate.

Room Tip: Request one of the two rooms at the back of level 3 where it is much quieter and also has their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billstrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Overall I think this hotel is good for the value and I would agree its a 3 star rating, so I have to keep that in mind when I give my opinion. It is conveniently located, but tucked into the main street in Amalfi so I don't think any room would have a view. Also be aware if you are driving in, don't even bother to try to find it from the car, we called and they had someone meet us. The rooms are a decent size but the decor is a bit to be desired. However they are well kept and clean. My favourite part of the room was the bathroom, it was a decent size and was bright with colourful tiles. The air conditioner is a must, but noisy. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food was fine for a continental breakfast with freshly made coffee. My husband and I decided if we ever came back we would pay extra and book a hotel with a view and a pool. It was the most picturesque area of our trip to Italy. I would also recommend the small boat tours for a day trip, it was well worth the money and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Property: Hotel Amalfi
Address: Vico Dei Pastai 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing